We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unsatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Rock Hill
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Rock Hill
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Unsatisfied”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked our reservation on the phone 3 weeks in advance to our arrival. Arrived 3 hours before check in and was told they accidently over book and gave our reservation away to a family that wanted to stay an extra night. We book a 2 bed room suite and were asked to be placed in two rooms with kings size bed. They also exspected us to pay for each room. We did not have a table to eat on. When pulling out the sorry sofa bed that they quoted was so wonderful you could not walk anywhere in the room. The staff member working during the morning breakfast continued to say rude comments to guests. Was not satisified at all and will not go back ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingforsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Rock Hill, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to log into TripAdvisor to share your unfortunate experience at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the discomfort you experienced as a result of our overbooked status. Regretably, we had a long-term stay guest who was supposed to be departing and did not check out. These situations do not occur very often, and it is most unfortunate.

With regard to your accommodations in the Studio King and pricing, please know that we offered everything possible. Although a little inconvenient in drive time, we offered to pay for your stay at our sister TownePlace Suites in Charlotte, NC, just 15 minutes away from us. We also offered to give you two of the King Studios for the price of one, and in the end did not charge you for any portion of your stay, as we knew this was our responsibility to you.

Please understand that although we regret the situation we feel we did everything possible to accommodate you and your family during your stay short of evicting the original guest.

Sincerely,

Ryan Tilden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    38
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
65
29
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for my brothers wedding. The suite was awesome! I traveled with my 80 year old mother in law and 2 year old daughter. Breakfast is available each morning in the lobby from 7-10 am. If you have a large group be sure to go owner than later. Many restaurants are nearby as well as a mall and super Walmart. It took me approximately 25 minutes to get there from the Charlotte-Douglas airport. FYI if you are renting a car you will have to take a shuttle from airport to terminal. Be sure to indicate if you want/need a car seat for infant or toddler and know that you will have to secure the seat due to liability.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Rock Hill, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to log into TripAdvisor and review our TownePlace Suites in Rock Hill!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our Hot Breakfast. This is something new we've been doing this year and we've had great response from our guests!

Thank you also for mentioning our proximity to Charlotte Douglas Int'l Airport. Many people don't realize we're only 25 minutes away because of the crossing of state lines!

Thank you again for your great feedback, and we surely look forward to seeing you and your family again on your next trip to Rock Hill, SC!

Sincerely,
Ryan Tilden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here because of their pet friendly ads, only to find a $100 charge for our dog for one night! While the suite was roomy, the furniture is beginning to look shabby and in need of refurbishing. That would not be a problem, however, if they had not really taken advantage of us on the pet charge. So, if you have a pet, DON'T stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Rock Hill, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay.
The $100 pet fee (which covers thorough cleaning) is a Marriott standard, and while we must honor the Marriott standard, we can also create a package for short-term travelers with pets in order to better accommodate their needs. Our pet package allows us to waive the $100 fee, and we even provide the pet with a toy and dog bones or cat treats upon arrival. This is for $30 per night, so for those staying with us more than three nights, the one-time $100 fee is more cost efficient; however, if you're just passing through Rock Hill, the pet package will allow you to save a little money when traveling with your beloved pet.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you and your pet with us during future travels that may bring you to Rock Hill.
Happy Travels!
Allison Cleveland - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you are playing in Rock Hill or Fort Mill this is the place to stay. Rooms are large, convertible and clean. Hotel has laundry if you need to clean uniforms, and the breakfast was one of the best I have had for free in any hotel chain. Super price great location in a good safe area. Spent 3 days and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 412raymondd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Rock Hill, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor! I truly appreciate that you were able to take time out of your busy day to share your recent experience at our TownePlace Suites by Marriott.

Our entire team works hard to ensure that every guest stay is a positive one, and I'm glad to read your experience was just that. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip to Rock Hill.

Very Sincerely,

Ryan Tilden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington n.c.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were in Rock Hill yesterday to find a room for August 3rd and 4th..TownePlace was the second one we checked out...Could not believe how friendy the staff was in showing us a room..It was like we have known each other for years......Very clean too..We can't wait to get there on the 3rd..Wish we could stay longer than 2 days though..Didn't even have to ask to see a room, the girl just offered..
Just loved the staff...I know I will be making another review after we get home on the 5th and I know it will be a good one!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Rock Hill, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Kitty S.

Thank you so much for coming to TripAdvisor to post a review on your tour of our hotel! Your comments, along with your observations about the cleanliness are much appreciated. I certainly look forward to meeting you personally to thank you upon your return next week!

If I can be of any service before, during or after your stay please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Ryan Tilden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have to start my review with a couple of comments about the closet --- it's accessible from both the room entry area like most hotels AND from the bathroom. (We were in a Studio Suite, so I'm not sure how the 1-bedroom and 2-bedrooms are set up.) This means that you can take a shower, and then when you are dressing you don't have to parade back and forth through the living/sleeping area of the room to retrieve items from your luggage. The iron and ironing board are also accessible from the bathroom and the closet is actually spacious enough to set up the board. I hate stepping into a room full of people (even family) to get dressed; the privacy afforded by the closet set-up was a great convenience for me. That said, everything else about this hotel was 100% satisfactory for my family. Comfortable. Clean and bright, very stylish. The staff (wow!) made us feel like treasured longtime patrons when we walked through the front door, even though we had randomly chosen TP Suites from others in the area (had never heard of it before) and literally just drove up to check for an available room. Another reviewer stated that the staff seemed to enjoy working here and I got that feeling, too. I hope Marriott pays them well to keep them around --- their attitudes and attentiveness made a nice hotel feel like home. Our stay here was truly an "affordable luxury!" Our only regret is that we were only here for one night; now we are looking for excuses to go back to the Rock Hill area just to come here for a longer stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation.

Room Tip: Studio suite was plenty spacious for two adults and one child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Rock Hill, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Susan G,

First, thank you very much for taking a chance on a hotel you weren't familiar with, and choosing to stay at our TownePlace Suites.

Thank you also for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! It really makes my day to read a review like yours, where someone has commented on how great the staff is. I may be a little biased, but I think we have the best team, and hotel, here in Rock Hill!

There are so many fun things to do and see here in Rock Hill, and I hope that when you make it back to the area you will allow us to accommodate you and your family again.

Thanks again for the great review and we'll see you soon!

Ryan Tilden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, fl
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel was very clean. It’s great for a quick stay over. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Rock Hill, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you were comfortable during your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rock Hill, SC.

Sincerely,
Ryan Tilden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Hill hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#2 of 22 in Rock Hill
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rock Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#5 of 22 in Rock Hill
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Rock Hill
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rock Hill
Holiday Inn Rock Hill
#7 of 22 in Rock Hill
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Rock Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Rock Hill

Property: TownePlace Suites Rock Hill
Address: 2135 Tabor Pl, Rock Hill, SC 29730-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rock Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Rock Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Rock Hill is the areas newest and first extended stay all suite hotel. Offering you all the creature comforts of home, from full kitchens, to complementary internet access, and High Definition Television. Located just minutes South of Charlotte, NC, TownePlace Suites offers you the opportunity to enjoy the big city living while enjoying the small community feel of Rock Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Rock Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott - Rock Hill Hotel Rock Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing