We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Rock Hill
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here to visit some friends in the area who are doing some renovations and don't have space for an overnight guest at the moment. I arrived close to 10pm on March 1 and the desk clerk, Heather, had everything ready to go. It took less than 5 minutes to check in; then it was around the building to my room.

I had a second floor room that was quiet, clean, and well-kept. The room and bathroom were large enough for a couple night's stay. The water was always hot and the towels were clean, although VERY well used. The heat/air unit was also well used and the dial was almost impossible to read, but it heated up the room quickly and maintained the temperature.

I, unfortunately, was not pleased with the comfort of the bed/pillows. I woke up multiple times during the night because I couldn't get comfortable. I was disappointed in this VERY important aspect since I only got the room to sleep.

Breakfast the next morning consisted of make your own waffles, bagels, some pastries, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice, and coffee.

The front desk staff, John, was extremely friendly and checkout on Sunday was a breeze. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for its value, especially since it was clean, quiet, and well-maintained.If the bed had been a lot more comfortable, I would certainly be staying here again. However, that will not be the case since I wasn't able to sleep well on the bed provided. Of course, that could be an isolated instance as everyone's bed preferences are different!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W-S_Consumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacob1974, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear W-S_ consumer,
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us.Our highly trained staff works very hard to make guests receive prompt and courteous service, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the service received from our front desk staff.However, It was unfortunate that you did not have a comfortable sleeping experience. In the near future, we plan to update out linens and improve the comfort of our mattressed. Hopefully, you will be more comfortable the next time you stay with us! Thank you for the kind words, and the feedback regarding ares on which we may improve! we hope to see you very soon.
Thank you
Umesh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    215
    122
    36
    40
See reviews for
259
156
63
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring Church
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to and from Florida. The price was reasonable, and our room was clean. Our first stay we had a problem with the refrigerator in our room. Someone had unplugged it, and closed the door. When we went to use it, it smelled terrible as a result of being turned off and the door closed.. We could not use it because we were fearful our food would pick up the odor.

On our return trip, our room was again clean but a little higher in price than our previous stay for the same room. We found the towels to be quite rough, and they smelled like bleach.

We would stay at this hotel again if the need arose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacob1974, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Linda C,
We are very happy for your repeat business and very much appreciate the feedback posted on Tripadvisor.The issues you experienced regarding the refrigerator and the towels are not typical complaints and our staff will work hard to make certain these mishaps are completely avoided in the future.We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit!

Umesh Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for here, no frills but clean and friendly staff. Good value, close to 77 so if you just need a cheap place to sleep and shower you've found it! Free breakfast was good and close to lots of dining options.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacob1974, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sarah S,
Thank you for the feedback regarding the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our breakfast. We strive to make sure all of our guests receive prompt and courteous service, and instill in our employees the importance of exceptional customer service. Please visit us again when traveling through or visiting the many attractions in the Rock Hill, SC area.
Umesh Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Hill hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Hill
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#1 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rock Hill / Charlotte / Metro Area
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rock Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill
Address: 911 Riverview Road, I-77 Exit 82B, Rock Hill, SC 29730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rock Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill Hotel Rock Hill
Howard Johnson Rock Hill
Rock Hill Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing