We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit worse for wear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Rock Hill
Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit worse for wear”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our party of 4 adults arrived after hours, and although the after-hours staff member was very polite, he was unable to provide us with extra pillows because he could not leave the office and there was no other staff member on duty.

The room was clean but a bit run down... The toilet bowl was cracked and sloppily glued back together, there were smears of glue on the tub, and the towel rack was partially torn from the wall. The tub drain assembly had been ripped out and left lying on the bottom of the tub. The beds were very clean and the mattreses were comfortable, but the unfitted sheets on the bottom bunched up.

AC worked well.

The breakfast had reasonable variety for a continental spread, but the room was far too small the day we were there... there was a long wait for waffles and not enough tables for everyone. There were little things that showed that the breakfast needed a little more care: Not all fountains worked on the drink machine, there was no decaffinated coffee available, and the entire time we were there for breakfast (a while, as we had to wait for others to leave) no one came in to restock supplies or wipe tables or the counter. They are obviously understaffed at this time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30yoldcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    227
    127
    39
    43
See reviews for
276
167
65
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I had not stayed at a HoJo's in years. The rooms was a little cramped, but very comfortable. The shower had nice hot water. The staff from the night clerk to the morning staff were very helpful. The Free breakfast was very nice. Not just cereal and muffins. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Sanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
thank you so much for your business and we glad you enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you soon. God Bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Really nice staff and nice place for short stay. Good prices too.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hint63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here......from check in to check out. The staff was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The rooms were very cozy and smelled fresh and clean. The hotel was very busy that weekend but stayed very quiet. Management was very helpful. Housekeeping did a wonderful job cleaning our room in a timely manner. Great area for eating and entertainment. I will be back I travel through this area twice a year so this will be my stop...........I recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassAbre101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The front desk staff was wonderful. Gave us a great rate on the jacuzzi suit which was perfect after the long drive. Probably the best room Ive stayed in recently.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1andonlytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umeshhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you so very much for your reviews, and we glad that your accomodations with us was wonderful, looking forward to see you soon.God Bless us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2011

only stay here if you want to get bit by bed bugs...the hotel was ok but the sanitation was not good at all and i was not happy that customer servise did nothing to refund me ........please do not stay here unless u want to get bit

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank chidifufu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

we checked I'm here with no reservation. it was a little after 11pm so we checked in through the window which was understandble but it took awhile for him to
enter my information. before even getting into our room we ran into a parking issue. every space on our side of the motel was taken. we had to unload and then park to the rear or the building. there was also
an incident involving the cops and an intoxicated person on the other side of the lot.

once in the room, I didn't notice too many things besides the furniture being a bit dinged up and some spots on the sheets. also a dead grasshopper in the corner. but whatever, it was cheap.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dluxdisneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Hill hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#1 of 22 in Rock Hill
622 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rock Hill
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Hill
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rock Hill / Charlotte / Metro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill
Address: 911 Riverview Rd, I-77 Exit 82B, Rock Hill, SC 29730-2729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rock Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill Hotel Rock Hill
Howard Johnson Rock Hill
Rock Hill Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing