We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish, fries and a water view”
Review of Jasper's Porch - CLOSED

Jasper's Porch
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lakefront Dining on I-95 Exit 21 in South Carolina featuring Low Country Cuisine - local fresh fish and shrimp - family oriented with fish feeding porch for the children. Dine on screen porch overlooking the lake with giant grass carp, turtles and alligators! Great menu selections at reasonable prices. Pet Friendly! Sandwiches, soups, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Full bar and private room for special gatherings. Southern Hospitality and friendly service. EZ On & Off I-95.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fish, fries and a water view”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very good fish and fries. Excellent coleslaw. Very relaxing sitting on the porch over looking the water. Great service. Would definitely go again when passing through Ridgeland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    97
    54
    35
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
291 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Simple southern ”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Family spot. Food and service is good. Not gourmet, but good. By a small lake. Decor OK but not special. We'd go back. Worth a stop if you like simple southern food.

Helpful?
Thank Dukeatbrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One time stop, not for local residents”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Dined out with our family on a friday night. Lets see where to start. No Air, no hostess, long wait time before we were greeted, only had 3 types of beer that night. The food is NEVER consistent. Asked what the veggie medley was and was told broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, wrong. It was soggy squash. Fried green tomatoes, which are my favorite were soggy and burned. Not to mention with a 12% tip the bill was 75 bucks. Prices are too high and food does not warrant the prices. This restaurant is dysfunctional and it is NEVER consistent. That will be the last time we ever go back to Jaspers. Very DISAPPOINTED in them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the view of the pond, but......”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My partner and I recently visited your restaurant on our way home from Florida, hungry and tired and just wanting a cold beer and a great meal. Greeted by a young man who was friendly and wearing an apron, we were quickly seated on the patio. There was a table of four sitting beside us and clearly they were not happy, and soon we would discover why. We sat for at least ten minutes before being approached with menus and being asked if we would like a drink, and were assured our server would return to take our drink order. Ten minutes passed and we finally flagged her down and ordered a beer and a glass of wine, fifteen minutes later it finally arrived????? Let me assure you the restaurant was less than half filled and servers were milling around but the service was terrible. When after finally being served our drinks, we ordered, fried chicken and fried pickles, which we were told were excellent. Twenty minutes past before we received our pickles and another twenty before our meal came. The pickles were good, but not worth the wait and the portion was not reflected by the price. The fried chicken was ok, certainly not the best I've tasted, coleslaw average, and a few frozen french fries adorned the plate.

There were specials offered that evening and one of them was surf and turf, how can a restaurant that offers surf and turf on the menu, serve frozen french fries, have plastic salt and pepper shakers on the table and dirty checkered table clothes. The ledges on the screened in porch were covered in dirt and were adorned with dead bugs, it is unbelievable to me how this restaurant is in business.

A few inexpensive suggestions, go to the local dollar store and pick up some glass salt and pepper shakers, change your table clothes regularily, clean up the premises, because one would wonder if the kitchen is as filthy as the surroundings???? Why does it take twenty minutes to get served a beverage, and those pickles even prepared to order, should not take that long to reach the table!!!!!! Also, putting a dirty ketchup bottle on the table doesn't even cut it at McDonalds, and have something wonderful to serve with that fried chicken, maybe some warm honey would be good. The chicken dinner should be served with homemade fries, and as fries are a cheap filler to the plate, put more than fifteen fries on, it gives the impression of a full plate. A basket of rolls or homemade bread would have gone along way to comfort clients while waiting an insurmountable time for their meals.

I ran a very small catering business for years, and I can tell you, I wouldn't have survived ten minutes if any of my clients observed what I did at your establishment. You and your staff are in desperate need of training, I would have given anything to observe the kitchen staff, and although the servers were friendly, clearly they did not know the fine art of serving in a prompt manner. However, if the kitchen staff were efficient, so would be the servers.

Best of Luck!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow cookin”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

There were 6 in our party, 5 of us ordered the buffet, one off the menu. Although the buffet was good, a long wait to refill, very reasonable price. Unfortunately for the one person who ordered off the menu, everyone else was finished and waiting for the meal to be delivered.
Beautiful setting on a lake, screened porch so neat to eat outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scscotties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing