We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite stop along Route I-95”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ridgeland
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a clean, friendly, well-run motel with wi-fi and a decent breakfast buffet (hot and cold cereals, bagels and pastries, fruit juice, coffee both decaf and regular, milk, eggs, etc.), close to the Interstate. Pet friendly, so we get to bring our dog. Best of all, there's a lovely restaurant behind the motel, Jasper's Porch, where we receive a 10% discount if we tell them we're staying at the motel. Jasper's Porch has a real porch, right beside the river, where we enjoy our fine Southern meal served by a very nice wait staff. It's a high spot on the long drive between New England and Florida. We plan the trip to arrive there before 5 so there's time to freshen up and enjoy a relaxed dinner before turning in. Rooms are comfortable and getting off to an early start the next day is easy. I understand there are attractions in the area that people traveling more leisurely would enjoy, but we haven't taken the time to check them out.

Room Tip: All rooms equally acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 146 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Not the quality usually associated with comfort inn. Beds uncomfortable. Staff very nice and helpful. Restaurant behind hotel was terrible. Service very slow and only informed us of two items we could get off the menu. Another waitress told customer next to us about same two plus four others items. Buffett was terrible. Food terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

When we first got off I 95 it was ver easy to find. However after we got the room keys we could not find the stairs. Apparently they have to sets of stairs but you can't see where the stairs are until you already walked all over and are already upstairs. They really need to be labeled- stairs here. Then the room had a funky smell but it was the last room so we had to deal with it. Beds are not comfy at all. And lastly and most importantly the coffee is horrible absolutely disgusting. Don't stay here. We definitely will not be coming back to any quality inn ever.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This was perfect for our trip back home from Florida. the room also had a split freezer refrigerator so we can freeze up our cold packs for the cooler and the breakfast was hot! Also, it's right next to I-95 but still pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHfromR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were on our way to Florida for the winter and stopped here. There was some confusion as the hotel has been renamed Quality Inn, as we were informed that Comfort Inns may no longer be called Comfort Inns, unless the access to rooms is indoors. Because of the confusion that i didn't know about the name change and thought we were lost, we were given a free room upgrade.

Our room was a large king bed room with a microwave, sink and fridge, and also a whirl pool bath in the bathroom. It was located off the indoor pool, and we did not experience any noise, although this might be an issue. Another small issue is that the plug for our laptop was located behind the dresser which we had to move. Apparently most guests use the wifi without wires, but we like a fast and long connection.

The room was clean, but the bath tub had a slight ring around the bath mat, as if it hadn't been used for a while, so I took a shower, which I usually do anyway.. it was clean...just looked like it needed a little attention there. We slept well and the breakfast was fabulous with hot scrambled eggs and bacon, along with the other usual fare.

Jasper's Porch next door is a fun place for dinner. In summary, this is an adequate stopover off the expressway. They also honor the welcome center coupons, so you can get a good rate.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are off the indoor pool, so there could be noise but the rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are searching for an affordable, yet clean and friendly hotel while traveling south in S.C., you need look no further. Recently, while my husband and I were traveling to and from Florida, we stayed going and coming at the inn. We were extremely pleased with the accommodations and the friendly staff. And, the cost was very affordable.
But, wait, you haven't heard the best yet. . . Both times we were there we woke up to a Southern home-style breakfast that makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Being from Tennessee, we like our Scrambled Eggs and Bacon and Biscuits with Gravy for breakfast and that is exactly what was offered. . . all steaming hot!
However, if your choice is a lite and healthy breakfast of boiled eggs and toast or cereal and fruit, you won't be disappointed. They had it all! Add to this, bagels, muffins, Danish and several kinds of juices. . . this is what you can look forward to at this inn.
When you call for reservations, please ask for Bonnie (She's the owner) and tell her you read this review. And, when you get there, do tell Varnell that those folks from Gatlinburg wish they had her breakfast every morning.(Varnell is the lady who fixes the breakfast and who looks after it all morning to make sure everything is plentiful and hot for you to enjoy.)
Oh, I almost forgot to mention that there is also a waffle maker and fixings there for you, if this is what you have a hankering for.
Having once owned and operated a B & B, we know what reviews mean to a business and I write this review in all honesty and sincerity. Granted this is not a new hotel but Bonnie has obviously been doing a lot of renovating and refurbishing lately and most of all The Place is Clean! Enjoy your stay at the Inn in Ridgeland, S. C.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank floyd605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room had about 6 inches around the edges of all the walls that were white with dust. The rug
was dark so it showed alot. The carpet at the bathroom door was in strings and pulled away from
the tack strip. There was hair in the tub which was not very clean to begin with. The bed was not bad though not great but not to bad.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dink11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgeland
11.9 mi away
Best Western Point South
Best Western Point South
#1 of 6 in Ridgeland
622 reviews
15.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hardeeville
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hardeeville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Yemassee / Point South
15.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hardeeville
Red Roof Inn Hardeeville
#4 of 12 in Hardeeville
374 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 221 James L Taylor Rd, Ridgeland, SC 29936-8543 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ridgeland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ridgeland
Price Range: $80 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ridgeland Hotel Ridgeland
Ridgeland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing