We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, expensive food”

Mill Pond Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Mill Pond Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Rembert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $55
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Mill Pond Steak House is the only up-scaled steakhouse in the midlands. We offer the best Certified Angus Beef that is aged for 40 plus days before it is served to the guest. We have a well developed and seasoned staff that is committed to your dining needs. It starts from the time you pick up the phone to make a reservation to the time you are welcomed at the front door and lasts forever. When you arrive to the Mill Pond Steakhouse in Boykin, SC you take a step back in time. The restaurant is composed of three historic buildings established in the early 19th century. The kitchen was the old Post office, the bar was the old General Store and the main dining room was another General Store relocated to its present location. From the heart pine floors to the reclaimed lumber that was once walls of several cabins in Boykin, you realize that you are surrounded by history. Mill Pond Steak House offers rustic elegance with southern hospitality and a one of a kind dining experience.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, expensive food”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family is accustomed to high-end food and we were excited to try the Mill Pond Steakhouse. The atmosphere and decor are elegant and beautiful. The tables are nicely spread out and face a lovely view. But the service was frustrating, the portions were off-putting, and the price very steep. We waited 35 minutes before getting our order for wine in. Dinner lasted almost 3 hours (too long). The food was very good; the steak cooked perfectly; the dessert delicious. But why bring literal boats of food to the table?? I felt sick just looking at it. It would be a better idea to charge less and offer a more reasonable portion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EWW06840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    10
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mill Pond at Boykin is the name of the Mill Pond Steakhouse!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Two reviews, one place. Excellent nouveau cuisine, wonderful rural setting overlooking an old mill pond. Service is an 11 (based on a 1-10 scale) and the food should be a Michelin 5 star. The greenfried tomato appitizer is to die for.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank edwardsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Could go either way”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had a great time, and a great experience. The food was amazing, the view and atmosphere was, too and the service was very, very good. That being said, the place is incredibly expensive and this is a place where knowing people goes a long way. I thought it was a bit boring and stuffy and the food was not really that interesting (for South Carolina it is certainly cutting edge, but for cities, its pretty vanilla) but I did have a fantastic time. Then again, I came with people who knew people. This is a place that requires you to spend upwards of $125 a person, FYI. Make a night of it and order the quail and grits.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in South Carolina”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

In the middle of nowhere, or almost nowhere. On an active mill pond complete with every bird in SC and gators too. A bit "off-putting" from the outside, but wait till you go in. Great view (if your seated near the floor to ceiling windows) the best teamwork staff I've ever had the privilege to be served by, and Chef Jamie Hecker has created a to die for menu. I dare you to get through the seafood pot appetizer, enough for 4. But don't forget the fried green tomatoes, or Bokin Cornmeal Encrusted Oysters. Entries range from Angus Prime Fillet Mignon and Bone in 24oz thick cut Rib-eye to Rack of Lamb, Cedar Plank Salmon and my favorite, the Mill Pond Shrimp and Grits. If you have room, plan ahead and order the cobbler before you start.
The wine list is one of the best I've seen and the staff's presentation is top notch. And above all else, if the long drive bothers you (it's about 10 minutes from exit 98 on I 20), call ahead and ask about their limo.
If you live anywhere near there (give or take 40 miles), they also cater at your home. We had the privilege of their services for our 50th wedding anniversary, including both Mark Price the owner and chef Jeff Hecker, What a night!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mill Pond at Boykin Restaurant, Rembert (near Camden), SC”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It's out of the way, takes some effort to find, and doesn't look like much from out front - but it's worth the search, the drive, and the effort to get there. Beautiful view - ask for one of the tables next to the floor to ceiling windows and watch the 'gators glide by on the pond while you eat. A rustic but lovely dining room fashioned form an old store / warehouse complex. Friendly and attentive staff. Great food. Don't pass up the fruit cobbler for dessert. You order it at the beginning of your meal and it is individually prepared in a skillet and served at the conclusion of your meal. Wow, was it good! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Pond Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mill Pond Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing