We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet walk in nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cypress Wetlands

Cypress Wetlands
Arnoldsville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great quiet walk in nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well set up walk through the cypress wetlands. all kinds of animals including gators and all kinds of birds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
477 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this lovely spot. We walked the trail and spotted many species of birds and an alligator. This was a great surprise since we were just passing by and happened to stop and discovered this great little area!

Helpful?
Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware Shoals, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So many White Ibis in one nightly resting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The birds just kept coming and jockeying for a position in the trees to spend the night. Had not been for mosquitoes we would have stayed longer...a must see when you come to town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was able to see birds,baby alligator and turtles if all sizes. Lots of lizards as well. Nice walk around the ponds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaMaGiRl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Royal, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A jewel in downtown Port Royal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The cypress wetland is a string of 5 ponds between Paris and Richmond Avenues. They naturally filter storm water and slowly release it to the Beaufort river. The first, largest, pond is a rookery for lots of wading birds - several species of heron and egret, wood storks, white ibis, bittern, anhinga, and ducks. Hundreds of birds will be seen in a typical visit, some as close as 20ft away. Because the 0.6 mile trail around the pond is next to the YMCA, I often add the loop walk/run to my exercise routine. Other wildlife include turtles and alligators. Best time to visit is mornings and evenings in spring and early summer, when young birds are in the nests.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Wetlands also viewed

Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
 
Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cypress Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing