We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant atmosphere, but boring food”
Review of 1826 On the Green

1826 On the Green
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Pendleton
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, but boring food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My friend and I lunched there yesterday. The restaurant is comfortable, plain-looking, with outdoor seating as well as very limited indoor seating. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant. But the food was boring; nothing to "write home to Mom" about. My friend had the strawberry salad and found the equivalent of one strawberry cut up and spread over the salad. Otherwise, it was a fairly boring greens salad with some walnuts. I tried the chicken breast; it came on a pretzel roll, but that was too much food for me, so I didn't try the roll. The chicken couldn't have been less tasty; absolutely nothing to recommend it. The sweet potato fries were the highlight of the meal. They were actually quite tasty, and we shared and enjoyed those. I realize Pendleton offers few restaurant choices, and I think this could become a destination restaurant if they hired a chef who put some pizazz into the food. The list of desserts sounded interesting, so maybe the chef is more of a baker than a cook. But we won't be bringing our friends or spouses here to give it another try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Family and I ate there the day of the Kentucky Derby. The setting is quaint in an old house in the center of the town. The house looks large on the outside, but had a small dining area inside, complementing a large outdoor seating area. Obviously a popular spot and I would advise to get a reservation. Food was delectable and as you would expect, Southern. I have no problem recommending this restaurant and will hurry back if I'm in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceofTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quaint charm in the heart of Square”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had business lunch there and it was quite delightful. It is small and intimate and would be great for romantic dinner. Also offers outdoor seating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eligadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“2 stars for poor service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place might have ok food but they get 2 stars for poor, inattentive service. Unfortunately, food allergies are taken too lightly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining Delight”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We have been very pleased with every dining experience we have had here over the past several months. The food is fresh, prepared well and a good value. The specials including the drink special are always creative and delicious. The wait staff aim to please. All of this in a quaint surrounding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hope279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1826 On the Green also viewed

 

Been to 1826 On the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing