We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grilled, simple seafood the way it's supposed to be”

Litchfield Beach Fish House
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Grilled, simple seafood the way it's supposed to be”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

An unassuming little fish house. Not much on atmosphere, but who cares? Good she crab soup. Great grilled shrimp, grouper, and scallops. Nothing fancy, but good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    74
    45
    15
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Family favorite”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Every year the entire family gathers at the beach house on litchfield and all 18 of us converge on the "fish house" .... It is a rite of passage in our family, part of summer. In the last 13 years we have seen the restaraunt grow and, admitadly, suffer through some growing pains. Our most recent trip was great. Good food, and a family friendly atmosphere - my only criticism is that our family may have outgrown the staff's capabilities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Worst ever She Crab Soup excepting the one I scorched 20 years ago as a novice cook. Tasted like cream of celery soup was the base and crab and cream added. No sherry flavor which is key. The Cajun creek shrimp were OK but the crab cake was not lump and full of filler. Decor is tacky and outdated. . The place could use a Restaurant Impossible intervention. Highlight was the hush puppies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoHoos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graniteville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best kept secret on the Strand”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Got seated within minutes of arrival, and placed our order. Food arrived very quickly. The seafood platter was wonderful.....best oysters ever! We visit the Strand frequently, and are very happy we found Litchfield Beach Fish House! Can't wait to eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pretty good seafood”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've been going to Fish House for probably 10-15 years, but haven't been there in four. My review is mixed because this visit didn't measure up to memories. Portion size was reduced. I was a little disappointed in my fried shrimp and scallop plate. However the fried flounder on the big seafood platter was really outstanding. The grilled flounder and scallops was good as well. Steamed veggies were really good. So what is my complaint? The whole family agreed that it just wasn't all that great - not really a "wow, that was really good." So I guess that means it was average - something we could get just as we'll at home.
Btw definitely both kid friendly and a nice bar area. The play area outside is a great place for kid photos and family memories!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Litchfield Beach Fish House also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Litchfield Beach Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing