We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roz's closed on February 15, 2013”
Review of Roz's Rice Mill Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roz's Rice Mill Cafe
Price range: $8 - $12
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Roz's closed on February 15, 2013”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This wonderful cafe closed its doors on Feb. 15, 2013 after many years of serving wonderful food. Those of us who have patronized it for many years will really miss it. Best wishes to Roz and all of her employees.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diamondrockfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Sorry to hear this restaurant is closing on Feb 16. Food was very good, generous portion size and excellent service. My wife had the crab cakes and I had the breaded flounder. Owner has sold the restaurant so get there this week

Helpful?
1 Thank bob32a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun Find”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Took our family to Roz's when traveling from Charleston to Myrtle Beach, and loved the atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MountainMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Roz's Rice Mill Cafe is a good local resturant”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We use to go often to Roz's but noticed the place was always over crowded for lunch and the service was very slow. The food was good, especially the soup, but started to go down some when they opened up for dinners. We try it every so often, but have been still a little disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Southern cooking may be an acquired taste”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Not sure if we didn't care for flavors that are unique to South Carolina or if it is just this restaurant's cooking. The staff are pleasant and seem to care about what they do, even giving us a sample of the grits that are so much a part of the menu. Neither of us cared for them, although they are much better tasting than the "grit glue" that is served on most breakfast plates in Myrtle Beach.
The crab cakes had too much seasoning to allow us to appreciate the delicate flavors of the crab. The daily vegetable was okra, black eyed peas and tomatoes and it was quite good. The scallops wrapped in bacon were not something that we would order again.
Again, it may be just the difference in cooking flavors and styles that we are not used to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroleerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roz's Rice Mill Cafe also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing