We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one!”

Captain John's Seafood Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We specialize in New England style seafood, from creamy clam chowder to haddock and scallops. Our menu offers Daily Specials such as Homemade Lump Crab Cakes, Salmon Croquettes, and 1/2 off bottles of wine on Thursday. We have the freshest seafood on the Grand Strand. That's right we said fresh. Our seafood is so fresh we don't own a freezer. In addition, we offer Ipswich whole belly clams, poultry, and center cut steaks entrees. Save room for our decadent desserts!
New Castle, PA USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We've driven past Captain John's many times and finally noticed it. Every item we chose--Captain John's grilled haddock (signature dish), lemon butter haddock, crab cake, cole slaw, fries, seasoned rice, and potato salad--were excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dotable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    70
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, nc
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our house is around the corner...who knew?!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved this place on a Friday night. Warm and cozy full of locals. The food was very good and delivered by friendly wait staff. Loved the bartender and the cool retro stainless steel bar. We wilol be back with the whole family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goaway09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went to this restaurant by mistake- and so glad we did! A very friendly place with delicious food, great service and a really comfortable atmosphere. We dined on the later side on a Friday, and it was so pleasant to not get "the bum's rush" when we were seated so close to closing time.
Would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived late to Pawleys Island and was hungry, but I didn't want fast food. I found Captain Johns ticked in among a few other store, so I decided to give it a try. I ordered the grilled fisher mans platter. I got large succulent scallops, large fresh shrimp and a fresh, tasty piece of haddock. The accompanying cole slaw was fresh and delicious, even for being so late in the evening. I would go back there on my way home just to have it again. Truly worth the stop!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingal702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food For A Travelling Family”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We needed a family friendly (travelling with a 2, 11 and 13 year old) but also a good restaurant. We were impressed by the fast friendly service and excellent food...even better than we had expected. Even the children's fish meal was made with delicious fresh fish. The clam chowder was a treat and the scallops were cooked to perfection. We also loved how close this was to where we were staying in Pawley's Island. If we are ever in this area again we will definitely return to Captain Johns Seafood Grille.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain John's Seafood Grille also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain John's Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing