We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Golf trip

Allway my favorite the reason we come to Myrtle Beach the course is always in great shape and the... read more

Reviewed July 2, 2019
jjdonworth
,
White Plains, New York
via mobile
Great place to sit on the porch and watch golfer on the 18th hole.

The clubhouse is the old original plantation house that has been renovated. It is situated on the... read more

Reviewed April 30, 2019
JARCharlotte
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
Read all 232 reviews
  
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
167
43
8
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
167
43
8
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews myrtle beach chowder mb area live oaks true blue bag drop pro shop food service in perfect condition tee boxes great courses cart path south carolina in excellent shape practice area rice short game
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 232 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2017

Best condition of any course I've played in a while in Myrtle area. Too bad it rained so much from the recent hurricane passing to the north. We only got in 15 holes, but they were all fun and rewarding. Pace of play was good considering cart paths only. Greens putted true, and weren't pockmarked from too much play without repair. Would return.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank trhlgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

The nicest course I have ever played in myrtle beach. Starter and the people in the pro shop were so friendly. It's pricey but worth the money. The course is immaculate, each hole is like a signature hole. Plus the fairways are wider than they look on the website. Bunkers are huge and some are pretty deep. Worth every penny. ⛳

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

I had the great fortune of having an aunt and uncle who lived around the corner from Caledonia. Their residency in the neighborhood provided their kids--my cousins--with "residence" rates. Lucky for me and my brother, and my cousins: we are all avid golfers, and so Caledonia became the "go to" course whenever we'd gather for family reunions and such.

How much do we love this place? Well, every time one of us (usually me) would suggest playing at some other course in the neighborhood (and there are many, and some are beautiful), once the vote was put to the group: "'Donia!" would always come out on top.

Why?

It starts with the drive up their driveway. I watch golf on TV and there's (seemingly) nothing like driving into Augusta National where they play The Masters. And yet, I can't imagine anything similar to driving into Caledonia for the first time (and EVERY time thereafter) because it's so picaresque and stunning and beautiful that you are going to stop, take out that cell phone, and get the video going. It's THAT kind of beautiful. Trees line the half-mile drive off the main road, almost forming an archway. And then you make the right hand turn toward the homey club house and it's like you're royalty.

Believe it, there's not a non-picaresque picture you can take on Caledonia's grounds.

The staff has always been pleasant and helpful and attentive.

The course? Immaculate.

I'm not going too far out on a limb when I describe it to others as "the other Augusta."

Here's their descriptions:

"At only a little over 6,500 yards from the back Pintail tees, Caledonia serves up a stout challenge. At a par of 70, with only three par fives, Caledonia tends to play 200-300 yards longer than the scorecard indicates. Part of the joy of playing Caledonia is the fact that housing does not disturb the golf course whatsoever—the only residences visible from the property sit well back of play, off the first and fifth holes. The course’s 18 holes are excellent, too, with two particular standouts in the middle of the round and one at the end. The 9th is one of the shortest holes in Myrtle Beach at less than 120 yards from the tips. Many golfers take the hole for granted but a shallow, wide green protected by bunkers makes birdie anything but a guarantee. The following hole is a drivable par five that features the potential for a thrilling second shot that carries a large waste area, hits a downslope short of the green and trundles onto the putting surface to set up an eagle putt. The course closes with a bang as well: a 383 yard par four demanding an approach shot over water to a large sloping green set at the foot of Caledonia’s majestic clubhouse. Onlookers from rocking chairs on the porch will often place bets on whether players in the fairway will hit the green in regulation."

There are multiple practice putting and chipping areas with bunkers are available on-site at Caledonia.

Players who wish to hit range balls before their rounds may do so at Caledonia’s nearby sister course, True Blue Plantation.

And, lastly, but of note: when you hit the turn you'll get a complimentary serving of fish chowder that is...delicious (as are the sandwiches that you can purchase from the snack bar nearby).

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank SaintChristopherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Had occasion to play this beautiful course last week. Nicest golf course I ever played. Had a great lunch on the porch overlooking the 18th green. All good. A nice 18 holes on a well manicured course. Would do it again. Not cheap but worth the splurge.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank rwjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Caledonia Golf & Fish Club in Pawleys Island SC is absolutely the most beautifully stunning, meticulously cared for, and stratospherically wonderful golf track on the East Coast. I cannot say enough about the track itself, the professional staff, and the entire experience we had. I would HIGHLY recommend this for anyone who loves golf. The cost is WELL WORTH THE EXPERIENCE!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank LancDynamicDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews