We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed on revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed on revisit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here a year ago over a weekend and would have given a 3 to 4 rating. Though it was not terribly well taken care of, the room was very pleasant, clean, and the entire complex was nice. It is on a fairly quiet stretch of nice beach and the views and sound of the surf rated a 5.
We spent one night here this past weekend and things have gone downhill. Our room (two floors below last year) was old, dingy and just not pleasant. There was rust on hinges and the sliding door, dings and scrapes on the walls, the bathroom cabinets were ancient and looked it. We felt as though we had stepped back into the 70's but with considerable age. No effort seemed to have been made to make the room attractive.
As with last year, the single elevator is dingy and the hall ways are kind of creepy. The rest of the facility just feels rundown.
Given the location, it's still a good choice, but go there expecting a 2, not a 4 or 5.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room a year ago was much nicer than our 2nd floor room, so ask for ones that have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicat067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we strive each day to make sure that everyone at the Litchfield Inn has an enjoyable experience. We are very sorry about the condition not being up to your standards. We make it a point every year to make improvements to the Inn and this year is no exception including the rooms and common areas such as the elevator. We hope that you will give us a chance to prove to you that we can provide and excellent vacation experience. Please contact me so we can discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    508
    187
    82
    79
See reviews for
523
731
68
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Shocked by how great this place was. Stayed in early October in a two bedroom suite. The room was a great price (just over $100) and had granite counter tops, crown molding, new paint, new tiled floors, great decorating, a sink and full size fridge. Room had a balcony and was one of the cleanest rooms I have been in, especially when compared to other beach hotels in that area.

The cafe had great food and a decent selection of drinks (could use a few more beer options). Prices were higher than expected ($14 for a wrap?), but everything else made up for it. Beach area was open and uncrowded. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would likely not recommend this location if I had little kids, just because the pools are smaller and there are no special features like you see at other locations closer to Myrtle. It is, however, the PERFECT couples destination... especially on a budget.

Like the title says, I will not being staying anywhere else on future beach trips.

Room Tip: Rooms ~ 200 through ~207 have great views and are very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INARUSH_CHAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comment on your recent stay with us and we are very happy that you have chosen us to be you vacation destination. Our main goal from all of the staff here is to provide a wonderful vacation experience for all of our guest, and we are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Again thank you for staying with us and hope to see you come back soon.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

this is an older hotel with each unit being privately owned. the unit that we stayed in room 204 was comfortable with a great ocean front view. the furniture seemed to be fairly new and from Ikea. the beds were super comfortable and the linens were new and clean. the bathroom and kitchenette areas were a little dated and the bath room really needed an exhaust fan but other than that it was a great place for a quite weekend getaway and we would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytraveler0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback! We take all comments both positive and negative very serious so we may grow as a property, and you have provided great feedback. Our main goal from all of the staff here is to provide a wonderful vacation experience for all of our guest, and we are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Again thank you for staying with us and hope to see you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Awesome ocean view from room; great chef on site - beachside cafe for casual dining, more formal dining upstairs for evening; staff so nice. Different pool areas were nice, some targeted for families with children others for couples , adults. Hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwa006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback! Our main goal from all of the staff here is to provide a wonderful vacation experience for all of our guest, and we are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Again thank you for staying with us and also hope to see you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamar, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room we stayed in was privately owned, but booked through the inn. We were kinda sad because we only stayed three nights, we would have loved to have stayed a week. Room 728 is very clean and like being at home. There is a small fridge, a sink, a microwave, dishes and silverware. No stove or oven, but who wants to cook on vacation? The view was amazing. Hope to go again, but next time for a longer duration.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WingerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback! Our main goal from all of the staff here is to provide a wonderful vacation experience for all of our guest, and we are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Again thank you for staying with us and YES, we all agree that next time you should stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The room had and kitchenette, was very clean, and oceanfront. We went the end of September (off season rates) and booked 30 days in advance (20% savings) so got it for about $110 a night. Close to Brookgreen Gardens, quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Book early and get a 2nd story room- screen porch and you can see the ocean over the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinysideup2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and giving Litchfield Inn the opportunity to provide you and your family a great vacation experience. We take all comments, both good and bad in high regards so that we may get better as a property.
Again thank you for choosing Litchfield in and we hope to see you and your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have been coming to Litchfield Inn for over 10 years. It has always been our favorite place to visit. This trip, we had personally requested a villa suitable for a handicapped person, ground floor. Instead, we are on the 2nd floor, half way down from the elevator. The shower in my room has nasty looking grout, the tub will not drain when the water is on. Plus they have mentioned that we will possibly need to change rooms on our last night. Really? I think we will just leave when that happens. They did offer to move us after we had already moved in, however my sister in law felt it would be too difficult for her to move rooms again. Sadly, this will probably be our last trip here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. At Litchfield Inn we strive for excellent customer service and I sincerely apologize for any convenience you experienced with you stay with us. i would love the opportunity to try and correct this for you.
Please contact me directly so that we may discuss this further.
Jeff Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pawleys Island
BEST WESTERN Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Property: Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Address: 1 Norris Dr, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-5582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing