We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceanfront Litchfield Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oceanfront Litchfield Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived on Monday, April 1 to find the restdisaaurant is closed on Mondays. Wanted to go to the beach but no chairs were available to rent at this time...Does the Inn think we can carry those on a plane? The bathroom was filthy!! The floor was coated with hair. Something has been spilled on the bar and ran down the wall and never cleaned up. The carpet looks dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are very sorry that we did not put our best foot forward. We should have done a much better job understanding your needs and trying to meet those. Because of comments like these it will allow us the opportunity to retrain and work more diligently with our staff to assure that this does not happen to other guests staying at our resort. We strive daily to make sure that items like this do not happen but occasionally they do and once again we apologize. We do hope that when you are in the area again you will allow us to prove to you that our service is and can be Superior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    492
    182
    80
    79
See reviews for
501
705
64
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the bed was a little lumpy! Otherwise, was great overnight stay. Loved the Cabana Cafe and would like to go back in the summer when the windows are all opened up. Had a very nice dinner at Ocean One. Fun place and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Tower room was spacious and had great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beacher56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
The management and staff at the Inn are so proud that we could be part of your recent getaway. It is also rewarding to see that our customer service and the quality of the product met your expectations. Your positive comments will serve as a guideline for training programs thru out the property. The beach in Pawley’s/ Litchfield area is one of the most beautiful and also allows families to enjoy some of the items we take for granted. We do hope that you will return to the Litchfield Inn on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at this inn. The inn is very unique, accommodating and clean. This inn has the best thing going for it on Pawleys. Looking forward to returning on our next trip that way. The entire staff was great and very helpful.

Room Tip: When we return we must have an oceanfront room. However the poolside room worked very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
The management and staff would like to thank you for the positive comments you expressed concerning our beautiful Inn. Because of positive comments like yours it creates excitement within our Team that all the hard work does not go unnoticed. Every day we strive to meet all the expectations of the traveling public. As you may have noticed our property is clean, with great customer service and one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We feel that the Pawley’s Island/ Litchfield area has a more laid back atmosphere that allows you to not be part of the hustle and bustle of most Resorts. I do hope that you will allow us to serve you again when in the Pawley’s/Litchfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property for a long weekend. We stayed in a 3rd floor oceanfront tower room. Although the room / bathroom was a bit dated, the room was clean and very comfortable. The amenities at this property were great, the location was great, and you get a good clean and comfortable room for a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamHibirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It is with great pleasure and excitement that I read your positive comments concerning our Inn. I can see that our management and staff did put our best foot forward and you received superior service. Most of our units are ocean front and the views are exceptional. I do hope that you will allow us to become your Home a-way from home when making reservations in the Future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our accommodations were perfect. Oceanfront, clean, comfortable and the best value we found in town. The staff helped us with smiles and courtesy. We loved it and will definitely be back.
The 2 bedroom, 2 bath with kitchen and living room and porch was perfect for the 4 of us. And you have to rent a bike to ride on the beach. We got ours next to the Piggly Wiggly. So much fun!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBNTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive comments concerning our staff and property. We work very hard each day to make sure that each guest stay is met with a clean, organized property and top notch customer service. Your comments will be used as a motivational tool with our staff to make sure that we supply this kind of product to each person utilizing the Inn as a get-a-way or vacation. Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on the next visit to our beautiful and relaxing property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went to this property on a business trip. The staff was awesome and the hotel is amazing. I cannot say enough great things about this property. The view was breathtaking. The room had up to date decor, and was clean!! I look forward to heading back and taking my son on a little mini trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH101968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for the positive comments concerning our property. We strive very hard to make your visit to our Inn a positive and memorable one. The staff that you encountered continues to work very hard on all the different aspects of our customer service. I know each of them will be delighted to know that they have made a difference while you were a guest at our Inn. When you are making your reservations for next year please remember the Litchfield Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for a 4 nights in an oceanfront tower room using a groupon. The staff at check in was welcoming and helpful. The general appearance seemed run down with some improvements that had not been done well. The overall cleanliness was not as good as we would like a hotel to be. The door to our room was so rusted that it actually cut my husbands hand when he opened it. The room was disappointing. It had unlevel floors and ceilings, missing trim, the tiolet seat was worn and scratched, and it smelled so strong of spray deodorizer that it raised some flags for us as to what were they trying to hide. I had to open the patio door to let the smell out. Upon staying at any hotel we always do our bed check for unwanted things. The blanket under the comforter was visibly soiled and had 3 different areas of yellow, crusty spots. There was also a spot of a red blob that looked like someone popped a pimple on it. We called for new blankets and the dirty blanket was replaced with another. This blanket was not visibly soiled but smelled dirty. The mattress was old, stained and extremely uncomfortable. When housecleaning came during the day they did not replace the coffee, cups, shampoo or ice bucket liner. One day they didn't even replace our towels.
Breakfast was average for being continental. Seating for breakfast was in the Cabana cafe which was dirty. The ceilings and duct work had layers of spider webs and dust. The quaint, colorful picture that this hotel portrays in its ads was nowhere to be found. I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halfdozenmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are very sorry that we did not put our best foot forward. We should have done a much better job understanding your needs and trying to meet those. Because of comments like these it will allow us the opportunity to retrain and work more diligently with our staff to assure that this does not happen to other guests staying at our resort. We strive daily to make sure that items like this do not happen but occasionally they do and once again we apologize. We do hope that when you are in the area again you will allow us to prove to you that our service is and can be Superior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pawleys Island
BEST WESTERN Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Property: Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Address: 1 Norris Dr, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-5582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing