We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite on the Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
State Road, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Favorite on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

When our family needs a beach break, this is our very favorite place to come. My first visit was in the 1960's when I was 8 years old - I loved it then, and still do. You cannot beat it for a beachfront location. We always stay in one of the second-floor 2-bedroom units in the main building - room numbers 200 and 227. Of these two, room 227 seems to have been renovated more recently. Both have two bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen, living room. And the best part - a huge screened-in porch right smack on the ocean - not fifty yards from the sand. You can "sit on the beach" without having to leave the room. Our rooms are always clean, the staff is very friendly. We have never eaten at the hotel, as we love the local restaurants close by. We love the hotel for its proximity to Huntington Beach State Park, which is wonderful for birdwatching and alligator viewing, Pawley's Island for the Hammock Shops, and Murrell's Inlet for the local seafood. Try it out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMotsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review of the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn! It certainly sounds like you had an enjoyable both here at the Inn and with everything our surrounding areas have to offer. There is so much to do in the Pawleys/Litchfield area, and with Myrtle Beach just minutes away, you really can't go wrong. We hope to see you down here again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    492
    182
    80
    79
See reviews for
501
705
64
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Litchfield Inn for two nights. The location of the hotel is great; other good things: access to the beach, pool area, cabana bar and restaurant, free breakfast, front desk respone.

Bad: the room. It was dated, carpet was dirty and the bathroom needed updating. Luckily, we had a room with a two sided view, but I would prefer better accommodations.

Unless I know I will get a renovated room, I will not stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebug1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We will use your comments for training of the staff and this will also give us an opportunity to work more closely with the homeowners to get all of these issues resolved. I do apologize that your stay was not exceptional. We do hope that when you return to the area you will allow us the opportunity to prove that what you experienced is not typical of our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you want a nice, quiet place to relax this is the place. It is not the Ritz but has a great staff with comfortable rooms with a partial kitchen. the restaurants are great with friendly staff and good food. We have stayed here several times and never had a bad room. You can't beat the ocean and pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 280rayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for being such a loyal guest to the Litchfield Inn! We love to hear comments from our repeat guests. Even with the Inn constant changing, upgrading, and evolving, its great to know that we are consistently pleasing our guests, especially our loyal guest such as yourself. We can't wait for your next trip and look forward to making your stay enjoyable as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in the tower and had a wonderful ocean view. It was nice sleeping with the patio doors open all night (we were not on the first floor). There was easy access to the beach. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was okay but I'm a low-carber so all I could eat were eggs, but my husband enjoyed the waffles. We ate at the Cabana Cafe for lunch and the food was great with excellent service provided.

If I had a complaint, it would be that it would have been nice to know that making reservations at the Ocean One restaurant is recommended. We tried to eat there but they were booked. On the plus side, we had dinner at a nearby steakhouse that had live jazz, so maybe we got a better deal.

We're also curious about why there is no way to hose off sand from the beach. Unfortunately we tracked a lot into the room, which probably makes housekeeping harder than it could be.

Overall this was a nice place, and we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpacePastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for such a great post about our Inn! It means a lot to both our staff and our management to know that our guests enjoy themselves while staying with us. We always strive to make sure everyone has a great and memorable stay, and it looks like we definitely succeeded with you. Since you're curious, we do provide two showers to wash off sand and other debris off at both of our beach access boardwalks, located at the pools. The beach access on the south side of the tower is actually a public beach access, and the city does not provide those services. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The lobby and hotel staff was great. However, the room was really terrible. It smelled, everything was old, musty, the carpet was gross, and the comforter was cheap. We don't consider ourselves overly picky people and still would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I would have rather gone to a better hotel off island and drive to the beach than stay here at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
The management and staff would like to apologize for the unfortunate experiences during your recent stay at our property. After reading your comments I can see that we did not put our best foot forward. Most of our units have been renovated, but we still a few that have not. We strive each day to make sure that we meet the expectations of our guests. I apologize and I can assure you that your comments will be used to not make the same mistakes twice. I do hope that when in the area again you will allow us the opportunity to show you that this is not a how we conduct our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here only 1 night. The resort is very old. Although they have made some renovations there is still alot to be done. I stayed in room 110. It was just ok. This is only a 3 star hotel. The front desk was very accomodating and kind. They were excited to hear what I thought of the newly renovated room 110. Well here goes. It had a very hard king size bed, the floors were dirty, sandy, there was no sheer curtain to pull over the patio door only a very heavy dark burgandy curtain. This room is pool side and a privacy sheer was needed to let light in and not have pool patrons staring into your room. I am 5'10 the bathroom mirror has a light bar across it right at my eye level so I couldn't see my head in the mirror. I did not use the pool or the restaurants. I have heard very good thing about the restaurant Ocean One that located on the property. I would not stay at this hotel again only because I prefer the comfort of a 4 or 5 star hotel. This hotel is located on the ocean and has a large lovely beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MdBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for the recent comments concerning our Litchfield Inn Oceanfront property. We continue to work with our homeowners to improve their units. We had the opportunity to recondition several units this past fall, and it is our intention to complete additional units this upcoming fall and spring. The management and staff would like to invite you back to our property to show you that our property with the great customer service can become your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon to Pawley's Island. The hotel is not a brand new state of the art facility but its a comfortable hotel that caters to the needs of all guests. If you stay here and eat at either of the restaurants which are both excellent, the crab cakes or the american psycho burger were two of our favorites. Being right by the beach had its perks also and had a few fireworks show put off by nearby resisents. A fun place!

Room Tip: Ask to see all rooms available. Not for any bad reason but since each room is owned and decorated di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Assistant General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are so happy that we could be part of your Honeymoon. It is also rewarding to see that our customer service and the quality of the product met your expectations. The beaches here in the Pawleys Island & Litchfield area are some of the most beautiful around and also allow families to enjoy some of the items we take for granted. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pawleys Island
BEST WESTERN Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Property: Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Address: 1 Norris Dr, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-5582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing