We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmetto bugs are cockroaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palmetto bugs are cockroaches”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for one week at the Avian Forest 4 bedroom rentals. The property is overrun with palmetto bugs. Hotel management sprayed twice while we were there but admitted there is little they can do to prevent the giant sized cockroaches from getting into the unit. The carpet was beyond disgusting it was so dirty and held in place with copious amounts of duck tape. Hotel management cleaned the carpet for us but told us the units are individually owned and they have little control over the condition of the property. I don't recommend a stay at this property. The upside is the golf courses nearby are spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S_K_Ontario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBGRGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and I would like to apologize that we didn´t fulfill all your expectations. It is our goal to make our guest feel at home while staying in all of our condos and its disappointing when we fall short of that goal. My hope is that you will give us a second opportunity to show you what your stay should have been like the first time. Please contact me directly so I can see to it that we make it up to you. Do not hesitate to contact me directly. I look forward to hearing from you.
Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    525
    175
    102
    94
See reviews for
825
455
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked here for a wedding we were attending. The room was really cheap ($85) but I understand it's the off season. Our room had a kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom, bath. It was clean, spacious. We rented some bikes and cycled around the property for 3 hours and couldn't believe how big it was! They had so many different options in terms of places you could rent/stay in. The landscaping was immaculate, so many pools its insane (one for every single living area), tennis courts, indoor pool, beach access galore. It was a great place for couples, singles, families alike. Not many restaurant choices, but I think so many of the rooms have kitchens that most people cook their own food. The rooms were nothing stand out, but I could see staying here with a large group for a while and it would be comfortable. The pillows were awful - that would be my only true complaint. Incredibly thin and flat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meebjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Off season, but very nice. The staff was polite and friendly. Access to the resort including the beach. Nice place to walk on the beach and enjoy the area. We saw Dolphins and Pelicans feeding on the local fish! Internet connectivity was

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

You will never stay in a hotel room again. You are basically renting someone's condo. All the rooms are comfortable with the owners personal touch. We stayed at the summerhouse. It is right next to the restaurant and one of the pool areas. Not on the beach just a 5 minute bike ride away. We drove to the beach club and parked as we could not bring our chairs and umbrella by bike. The beach club is ver nice with many different sitting areas to hang out, and watch the sunset. Great beach access, not crowded this time of year, yet the weather was perfect. Oct. is one of the best months to travel to the beach. Websters restsurant is reasonably priced and our breakfast buffet was included in the price. 3 days was not enough time. We will definitely be back. If you are staying at the summerhouse, request room 319.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltyairsandytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge,va
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We traveled to Litchfield Beach and Golf from Sept. 23-28 after staying 3 nights in Myrtle beach. We knew we'd want something a little more laid back and in a natural setting. We arrived early for check in (being so close) and the room in Bridgewater wasn't ready but I put a request in to see if maids could go ahead and clean soon as we had a toddler who'd need a nap soon. I had to call back and we still only could check in at 3:30, then on 2 other days our room wasn't even cleaned by that time so we skipped it(for his nap) and had to call the next days to request earlier cleaning(we were at the end of the hall so I don't know if this made a difference but everday we'd be out for at least 4 hrs leaving them sufficient time to clean. Also,they were upgrading the internet so they would come early and then leave wires still exposed in room but were unable to finish job til next day as we would need to get back in room by late afternoon. None of this was a deal breaker,just an annoyance. The elevators were quite slow too . Now for the positives - the resort is beautiful-gated, felt very safe , grounds were gorgeous and pools were wonderful(loved being able to enjoy them at night too , til 10pm). We rented bikes and explore the property and beyond and it was very relaxing. We loved the area and would drive the quick 10 min into Murrells inlet for dinners(great seafood). Breakfast was on patio overlooking ocean(wish there was nicer furniture there and not just plastic ) and lunch daily by pool, loved that convenience. The unit was well equipped and enough space for us . We also enjoyed breakfast at Websters one morning which was good. We went over to the main pool complex with kiddie pools but being the time of year there were really no kids at resort, mostly older couples and lots of golfers so it was very quiet. We would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBGRGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your time to write a review of our resort, honest feedback from our customers is what we need and by your comments I see we need to communicate a little better on a few levels. If housekeeping does know ahead of time special requests they do try to honor them. As for the internet issues we have since worked with the company we contracted with, our property manager worked with them to get a little better organized in the overall approach getting one unit done at a time. We are sorry we let you down but were happy that you were still able to see good in so many of our other areas. This time of year is a wonderful time to come to our resort as you said, and we hope to be able to put a smile on your face from beginning to end of your next visit. Please call and ask for me for any future needs you may have.
Sincerely, Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been here at least a dozen times, staying in Summerhouse or Seaside, depending of what's available. Both are great values for the money and we have never had any problems. We wish they had pay-per-view movies, but since these are individually owned condos, we understand why they don't. We plan at least one trip to Myrtle Beach a year and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Webster's restaurant has a great breakfast.

Room Tip: The suites at Seaside are new and huge. The view is only of the woods, but we like that. In Summerh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisinCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

checkin was great very friendly. got to the room (lodge room) #157 first thing I see is dark brown from filth carpets. nasty nasty looking. everything else in the room was spotless but the carpets ugh. we wore shoes all the time. we tried to walk without shoes but the bottoms of our feet instantly turned brown. rooms are paper paper thin. every noise seems amplafied. beach was gorgeous. sept is the time to go as it wasnt too crowed but you are really the only resort to use that beach area. we usually stay central myrtle beach so we are used to crowds. this was great. they have breakfast everyday which was tasty and well mantained with food and drinks. waffles, hard boiled eggs, 3 cereals but hot cereal etc. bagels toast, danishes etc
over all the area is pretty but we ended up having to drive up towards myrtle to have any dinner or anything to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brnsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBGRGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I Believe I am correct in saying that you did not stay at our resort but one just south of ours, we appreciate all comments, and would invite you to give LBGR a chance- as we have the same un-crowded pristine beaches, many quality accommodations and serve a full breakfast at our restaurant Webster’s If I can be of service to help you make a future reservation with us please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sherri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.0 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.0 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
192 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Address: 14276 Ocean Hwy, 2 mi north of Pawleys Island (Drawer 320, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-4829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 951
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litchfield Beach & Golf Hotel Pawleys Island
Litchfield Beach Hotel
Litchfield Beach Pawleys Island
Litchfield Beach Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing