We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Highlands, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Bridgewater - The thing to remember about these units is that they are individually owned. Therefore individually decorated and outfitted.
We have stayed in Bridgewater before and loved it, but this time not so much.
I wont mention the unit number so as to not offend the owners, but it was on the 4th floor and was a 1 bedroom.
The place was small and unbelievably over-furnished for it's size. Yes, it could have slept 8 with a sleeper and Murphy in the living room, but the four of us were going thru the pass-thru bath to avoid the galley kitchen. So much furniture the dining table could only seat two - could, not would!!

Ask for interior pictures of the unit you are booking. We wont make that mistake again!

Gorgeous ocean and pool views from all Bridgewater units!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BuzDots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    525
    175
    102
    94
See reviews for
825
455
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The rental we had was right on the beach and it was everything we needed - 2 bedrooms full kitchen living room - Indoor and outdoor pool and 2 baths.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveOldiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great location much less traffic than myrtle beach. Close to murrells inlet (seafood capital) brookgreen gardens and not too far for mega shopping. Love the security of gated resort. Our daughter who is 11 loves the lazy river at bridgewater and our balcony overlooks beach. Bath and half worth extra $ so hubby can have one sink/toilet area and me the other. Great discount for 7 night stays. Kitchen is galley style but adequate and murphy bed great for kids. Bridgewater is only one of several options so ask before you choose. Grounds are superb and well maintained. Websters restaurant on premises is nice if you don't feel like going out

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprildh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

When checking various golf packages, be sure to contact the golf director at the Litchfield Beach and Golf Resort. Ask the director about renting the golf cottages located at Litchfield Country Club. These cottages provide four bedrooms (one in each corner of the house) with its own private bathroom and sleeps two persons. Perfect acccomodations for a group of 8 golfers. More cottages can be rented to accomodate larger groups. Include the buffet breakfast at Litchfield's Hotel restaurant. Best breakfast buffet south of M.B. There are 6-8 really good golf courses within 5 miles of your cottages with a couple within 2-3 miles including Caldonia, True Blue, Pawley's Plantation, Founder's Club, and the Heritage. All these are 4 or 5 star courses with Caldonia being the best of the group. The Sole-Ritson golf school located at Pawley's Plantation is nationally recognized and ranked in the top five best deals in the U.S. The best time of the year to visit is the fall season with a large price drop in early Dec. My group has stayed here on 6 different trips to the area. Convenience to good food, good courses, good instruction, great accomodations is at a premium. Visit Litchfield Beach and Golf Resort and you will not be dissatisfied. Guaranteed.

Room Tip: These golf cottages are conveniently located, provide separation for your group, are inexpensively p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Always love going to the Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort. The staff is so friendly, especially Ryan at the front desk & Heather in the bar. Rand is helpful and friendly in driving us around to other destinations at the Resort. Our room was great and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittrip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Last year we unknowingly rented a dump of a place. I went out on a limb and spent another $400 hoping to insure a clean, well kept place where the desk people and all working staff were friendly and treated you with respect. It was worth it. Had a great time. We arrived early, they said they woud call when it was, and they did. Great Experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frank2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is my third visit to Litchfield. It's a perfect family vacation for a number of reasons:
-- it's a lovely quiet area, but a hop, skip and jump to the craziness of Myrtle Beach
-- Units are relatively inexpensive. You can get two bedrooms, two baths with a kitchen and living room for not much more than a regular hotel room. (Be sure to use the AAA or military discount, if you're eligible.) We paid less than $200/night in August.
-- The beach is clean and beautiful. There are plenty of swimming pools. Our villa was by a large pool that had a little water park and lazy river.
-- There are other things to do on the property: rent bikes, work out, take a water aerobics class, play ping pong.

I do have to say that of the three times I've been to Litchfield, this was the first time I was disappointed in our quarters. (73A Lakeside) The furniture was shabby, the walls and carpets stained ... but the beds were comfortable and the water pressure in the bathroom was really good.

When you book accommodations ask the rep if the unit has been refreshed recently. (Ours apparently wasn't.) If the bed size is important to you -- I like king -- ask about that, too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meredith5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.0 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.0 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
192 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Address: 14276 Ocean Hwy, 2 mi north of Pawleys Island (Drawer 320, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-4829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 951
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litchfield Beach & Golf Hotel Pawleys Island
Litchfield Beach Hotel
Litchfield Beach Pawleys Island
Litchfield Beach Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing