We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - But in Dire Need of Updating!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We set out on a little discovery road trip up the coast of South Carolina with no particular destination in mind, but once we happened upon Pawley's Island, knew this would be a good area to spend the night. Because it was a very busy weekend we felt fortunate to get their last room.

We stay in allot of Hampton Inns and while the front desk staff here was very nice, the place in general is in need of an overhaul. Our room was dingy and very depressing. Forest green carpet and drab draperies can do that! We were forewarned by the front desk agent that it was their one room without a view and she was right! When we opened the drapes we looked at the exterior wall of part of the hotel! Art work was missing from the wall, air conditioning unit was rusted and grose, grouting in the bathroom was too dirty to even clean anymore. Bed was lumpy and not that comfortable.

Breakfast was a disappointment as well. Generally Hampton does a good job in this arena, but both the scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy were awful! My husband choked some of his down, but I opted for the oatmeal and some fruit. He mentioned the muffin he had was rock hard.

We understand the Hampton up the road in Murrell's Inlet has been rated the #1 hotel in their chain for the past two years. We will opt to stay there next time.

This one in Pawley's is in a beautiful setting - so we're hopeful they are slated for a remodel in the near future. It's in dire need of one!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2Dine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor. First, I want to Thank You so much for your kind words regarding our Front Desk staff and the beautiful setting of our Hampton Inn Pawleys Island. Although, I am sorry you feel the way you do regarding the decor of our hotel. Everyone has a different taste when it comes to decor and I am sorry you didn't like our choice.

The breakfast we serve is the Hampton Inn approved "On the House" Hot complimentary breakfast as all other Hamptons serve, so I would like to personally discuss your dislikes with our food choices so we can make any improvements you feel would make it better, this way, I can pass it along to the brand to discuss.

We do strive to make every guest satisfied during their stay, but I am sorry this was not the case during your stay. I will make sure to follow up on your concerns and I appreciate your feedback

Thank you,
Teri Holland, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 497 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had at a Hampton.

There is a large pond in the front of the hotel with an alligator (only saw one) and many turtles. This was nice.

There is a grocery store, several restaurants and an ABC store in the shopping store across the street.

One small thing to consider. We only stayed here because the room we needed at the Hampton in Murrell’s Inlet was not available. The prices are higher at this inn than the one in Murrell’s Inlet, of which I had stayed at before. But this one is in a nicer location with the pond and shopping center being so nearby. The two inns are only about five miles apart. Just do a price comparison between the two before deciding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPC_LJC_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel! We stayed in a king suite for one night, while waiting for our beach condo the next day. I was impressed as soon as we drove up. From check-in to check-out, the staff was friendly. The room was clean, spacious and well-stocked. A huge bonus is the location. We were exhausted from a 12 hour drive and were thrilled to learn that there were several casual/family-friendly restaurants within walking distance. There is also a grocery store within walking distance. It seemed to be a quiet and safe neighborhood. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast and free wifi. It was so nice to have everything included for a reasonable room rate.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CWHS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband has frequented Pawley's since childhood. Every summer his family packed up the family truckster and headed south. They would rent a beach house for a week, sometimes longer.
Two summers ago we decided at the last minute to visit Pawley's forgoing our usual beach house rental. We booked two plane flights and 45 minutes later, we were there.
The Hampton Inn in Pawley's is no beach house, but a good second. We were happy with our room, only if we decide to stay there again we'll get a suite with a kitchette. The breakfast is great and really saves money, and calories. I am a cold cereal person so I was thrilled that I had a variety of cereals to choose from. But there's plenty of other fattening choices, if that's what your into. Our bed was comfy and clean as well as the room overall. I love that the Piggly Wiggly is just a few steps away. There's a bike rental shop there too, however S.C. hasn't caught on to the idea of long meandering bike paths and the one near the hotel is too short for what it costs to rent a bike. That said, you could wonder into the state beach, but I think it cost something, even on bikes.
There's lot's to do in Pawleys. Don't miss All Saints Chruch. I've attached a photo from our visit the year we stayed at the Hampton. All Saints is full of lore about Alice, a broken hearted girl who haunts the grave yard. The grave yard is awesome. One grave's epitaph read, "She Made Good Gravy", I swear! Only in the south. Our first visit to the church on this trip we had company. Just as we were creeping around at dusk, a giant owl swooped in and landed on a tomb stone. Very cool and very eery. We thought for sure it was Alice.
Then of course there's Brookgreen Gardens. A huge park dedicated to art and mostly sculpture. Lot's of giant live oak trees, beautiful fountains and a great gift shop and cafe.
If you crave funnel cakes and putt putt, Myrtle Beach is just 30 mins away. There's so much to do there, or nothing if you just enjoy a peaceful stay on the beach. The beach is spectacular. Never too crowed or noisy. Families and couples love it.
No matter where you stay, Pawleys is a unique place still quite and clean and different from most other east coast beaches. I would highly recommend going. Check out my blog about our trip to All Saints Church. http://risdonphoto.blog.com/page/2/

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank free120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here while looking at real estate in Litchfield beach. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and general condition of facility was good. Staff was very friendly. Location was ideal for us as Litchfield is just across US17. I would have rated it 4 stars except breakfast was below par compared to other Hampton inns in have stayed at. Shower head was broken and faucet in the tub leaked.

Room Tip: Check out activites going on in the area. It was bike week and roads, restaurants and hotels were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonpawleys, General Manager at Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Hello Mr. Waselus,

I am the General Manager at the Hampton Inn Pawleys Island and wanted to Thank You for posting a review on our tripadvisor profile. I hope you had success while looking for real estate in our area. It is so beautiful and one of the best areas to live in. I wanted to apologize or the broken item in your room. We will get that addressed as soon as possible. Thank you again for the nice comments regarding our staff and facility. I hope to see you again soon.

Teri Holland, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very clean, nice bed, nice property, good location for short trips to Myrtle Beach or around Pawley's Island. Stayed here as part of a Steve Dresser Golf Academy package. Only drawback was no washer/dryer at the hotel, and had to travel 4 miles down the road to find the closest laundromat. Otherwise, no complaints at all. Very good breakfast bar

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

En route to Charleston, we stayed in Pawleys one night. Lovely location and could have stayed longer exploring the area. Very friendly staff at the hotel. Great location with closeby dining, beaches, grocery, Brookgreen Gardens and many other areas to explore. Rooms were clean, but a bit older furnishings than some of the other HI's we have stayed in recently. Great walking trails through the residential area behind the hotel. Very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimshe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.1 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,899 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
205 reviews
11.0 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
5.1 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield

Address: 150 Willbrook Blvd, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-7694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range: $110 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
Pawleys Island Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing