We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was very dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pawleys Island
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room was very dirty”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

As soon as I got to the hotel there was no one upfront it took 5min before the women saw me. When I checked in she looked at my ID and said his don't even look like you. On the way in there was a really big water bug which looks like a roach. Then room I got was a king bed no smoking room. It smelled really bad in the room and the carpet was really dirty. The shower was so bad I kept my shoes on. I hope the bed was clean but if not I turned the air on high and put on long clothes and kept on socks in the middle of the summer. If I had to do my vacation over again I would stay in charleston and drive to the beach every morning because hotels there are so nice and about the same price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hopeandfaithPluslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    72
    17
    14
    11
See reviews for
76
66
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Found this as part of Wyndam's Group and it was great we stayed last time in November 2011. Looking on Google I think it used to be a Holiday Inn Express ,Loved the place for us close to Brookgreen Gardens lovely quite hotel ,super breakfast nice large room great bed too we had room 103, best you can say is we are back in a couple of weeks . We live in Columbia SC so we pick each month between the mountains in NC and the SC Coast ,nice to be able to choose about equal distance , and a break from " Famously Hot Columbia".

Room Tip: Try for ground floor no elevator..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed there this past memorial day weekend. We normally stay at the Marriott but evrything was booked due to bike week in myrtle beach. We ended up staying at this hotel. Honestly I was skeptical at first staying at this hotel. But, I was pretty satisfied with this hotel. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, and we only had to drive about 30 mins to the oceanfront. good hotel :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalredrose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Several of us traveled to the area for Myrtle Beach bikeweek and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We stayed two nights and slept great. They were very motorccycle friendly: allowing us to park under the awning in front. The front desk was very helpful and always polite. I will say this though, they do not have an elevator. That didn't bother us at all because it's only two floors, but if you are a handicapped traveler make sure you tell them at booking that you need a lower floor room. The hotel is right next to a fresh foods supermarket which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston,sc
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Big clean rooms,Ice Cold AC, lovely outdoor gazebo covered in honeysuckle,A very refreshing stay!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor,very easy to unload and load car
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthaloveslorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Staying in Pawleys Island for a birthday party for my nephew and decided to give this one a try. Arrived late and the hotel looked to be full. Entered and had no problems, night clerk was super friendly and seemed to be very efficient which is not something to take lightly any more with budget hotels. For the price I really enjoyed the stay. The room was extremely clean and no funky odors in the halls or in the room itself. The refridgerator and the microwave were nice to have and clean. Overall the room and the lobby area were very clean and the staff all seemed super friendly. The room was a non smoking and actually didnt smell like smoke. Hallways are very well lit and the breakfast the next morning was nice. Hot gravy and biscuits, waffles and the other amenities one would expect.
All said it wasn't all rainbows and gumdrops. The walls to the exterior hall and the doors to the room appear to be poorly insulated. As a direct result you hear all the noises going on in the hall. The only other issue I have with the hotel is its lack of security in the parking lot. We had to park the first night at the rear of the hotel and the car was broken into. Oddly enough the only thing that was stolen were the birthday gifts for the nephew. Hope the thieves like three year olds toys. HAHA!! Its not the holels fault I understand but it would be a great touch if like at other places the clerk walked the perimeter from time to time or if at least they would install security cameras. Never would have believed a break in in Pawleys Island but what are ya gonna do. Not very smart criminals anyway after all they took the toys and left the diamond pendent hanging on the rearview, the garmin on the window and the pistol in the glove box. Just goes to show you, never safety anywhere. I would overall recommend this hotel and if you stay there is The Fresh Mkt next door. You MUST forgoe the hotel breakfast one morning and pay their bakery a visit first thing and of course the coffee bar. MMMMMMM

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjournigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were in the area for a funeral and I booked this hotel over the phone.
The rate was excellent, the front desk staff very nice then even let us check in early.
Close to the beach in a nice area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.8 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,840 reviews
2.7 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,870 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
13.6 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pawleys Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pawleys Island

Property: Best Western Pawleys Island
Address: 11445 Ocean Highway, US Highway 17, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-7093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pawleys Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN! Our newly renovated 63 room hotel comes complete with clean, high-quality rooms, excellent customer service, and a competitive price. We are located in a quiet part of Georgetown County, 20 miles from Myrtle Beach. We will quickly become your home away from home. Conviently located across the street from the famous The Fresh Market. We are minutes away from the famous Pawleys Island Hammock shop and other unique little shops, as well as several golf courses. The BEST WESTERN features top-notch amenities for the convenience of guests. Our hotel is also located just 30 miles from Myrtle Beach International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pawleys Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Pawleys Island Hotel Pawleys Island
Holiday Inn Pawleys Island
Pawleys Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing