We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmetto Cheese!!”

Get Carried Away Southern Takeout
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Palmetto Cheese!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Get your favorite crackers or flat pretzels and some of their "Palmetto" pimiento cheese to take to the beach or kayaking. Nothing should be that delicious and addicting. If you are not from the South and think you do not like pimiento cheese spread, do yourself a favor and try again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatureLove35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    9
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM, YUM, YUM”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

EVERYTHING here is good. We are in Pawley's Island about 4 times a year and we always get at least 2 or 3 dinners from Get Carried Away. The value is excellent, the quality of food is excellent, the service is excellent. This is not diet food, y'all - this is delicious, home cooked, southern deliciousness. My favorites are the tomato pie and the caramel frosted pound cake, and of course, the Palmetto Cheese! We also love the jambalaya, chicken perlo, and just about everything else!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank idratherbeonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Is it Perlo, or Pilau?”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

However you spell it, it's to die for. Got some yesterday to take out on the boat. Delish!! but then, everything I get from this place is good. My favorites include the Tomoato Pie, Seafood Pie, .... heck,... ALL the pies. But i also love the collard greens and butter beans. The desserts are fabulous too! Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TroiKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great takeout!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

For those days when you just don't feel like cooking or if you have a large group to feed Get Carried Away is the place to go. Lots of different options for lunch, dinner or with advanced notice food for large crowds. Everything is really good!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PILocalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Friday night dinner!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have had a few dinner dishes, breakfast, & dips that were AMAZING! I think we have found our Friday night dinners. Yummy food and great prices!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Get Carried Away Southern Takeout also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Get Carried Away Southern Takeout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing