We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Italian in Pawley's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Piccolo

Caffe Piccolo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
365 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian in Pawley's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

At the time Caffe Piccolo had 121 of 127 reviews rated as "Excellent"; those stats do not lie - food is excellent here. If it's a fair night - dining outside is wonderful. They created quite the nice patio with good ambiance. Inside is nice as well if you just need to have the A/C. The food is prepared wonderfully. First night I had the Veal Marsala (veal sauteed with shiitake mushrooms, served with marsala wine sauce)....on my second visit (yes! already went back to take more family here) I went with the Mussels & Linguine in a fra diavolo sauce - also outstanding. Good wines and great service. Caffe Piccolo made the favorites list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OSProfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    33
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Love this place and can't believe we just found it, since they've been open four years. Very cozy, friendly staff, and efficient service even with only two servers (one of whom is the chef's wife). We walked in without a res around 6:30 on a Tuesday and they seated us promptly. Fresh homemade bread, great, lemony and light Caesar salad. Nice wine list, too. I had the penne alla vodka, which has a great spice to it and a very fresh, tomatoey sauce. My husband had linguine with white clam sauce and loved it. We took home the profiteroles for dessert. They were served in/under/over a chocolate mousse. Thank God we walk 6 miles a day at the beach! Met the chef/owner and he is a super nice guy. Give it a try!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Berickson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Saw this place on trip advisor and decided to go. Was an excellent choice - food and wine were excellent! Would've loved to sit on the beautiful patio if it hadn't been in the mid-90s!

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Thankfully we check trip advisor and we took the recommendation for Caffe Piiccolo. Amazing and authentic Italian cuisine. Great service and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bdye2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem and a must-go if you are in the mood for authentic Italian and excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Moving to Pawleys from a huge city caused a bit of shell shock on the food department, but Cafe Picollo is of the quality found in NYC, DC, etc if not better. My husband and I frequent as often as we can and it never disappoints. They recently catered a party for us and all the guests raved about the food and asked our secret ;)
Do yourself a favor and go - it's a quaint spot for a perfect date night and both the food and service are excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kkhesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Piccolo also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Caffe Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing