We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Gios Italian Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gio's Italian Kitchen is family-owned and operated. We offer traditional Italian cuisine and pasta, New York-style pizza, calzone, and stromboli, and refreshing salads. Have a seat in the beautiful dining room or join other patrons at the bar for our Happy Hour specials Monday thru Friday 4:30-6:30pm. We aim to please each and every guest, and will make sure you leave happy.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved the food at the old location. Tonight, my husband ordered the appetizer eggplant as his entree as he has often done in the past. It was terrible. Overly breaded and cut so thin, all you could see was breading. Plus it was overlooked. My entree was OK but poorly seasoned. We asked if Sal, the former chef, was still there and were told he was not there tonight and he was moving back to New York. That is a shame. Service was good but they were very busy so it was a long wait for our food. Hopefully, they will get the kinks worked out and both the food and service will improve.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 62MaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    51
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great dinner at Gio's”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I just had our first meal at Gio's ... but it won't be our last! This restaurant just re-opened in an expanded location, and business is really booming! My husband had one of the evening's specials, (a large pork chop served with mashed potatoes and green beans), and I had the eggplant parmesan. Both entrees were served with garden salads and fresh bread ... and both were delicious! The portions were HUGE and the service was friendly. Other enticing menu selections included chicken, shrimp, beef, lasagna, and spaghetti, as well as an entire page of innovative pizzas with creative topping combinations. The prices are very reasonable, and the atmosphere is very relaxed. We would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Have been watching this place being built.What a surprise to find such good food only to find out they have been here a long time. Will go back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBazemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The ambiance of a NY trattoria only better!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Delicious and authentic Italian food in the heart of Low Country.
The calamari was done to perfection and served with a delicious sauce.
All in our party of four ordered different entrees and one was better than the next.
Personally, I would have expected to find a restaurant of this caliber in a large city with a strong Italian influence, but I am delighted to find this gem. Run, don't walk for some of the best food to be found on Pawleys Island, SC

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSW625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester Ohio Union Centre
2 reviews
“Excellent Cuisine”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very polite service. Children friendly. Excellent service. We loved it, we will go back!! I think cloth table cloths and linen would be a nice touch. But that is the ONLY suggestion I have, Great food great service. Wow
We had wine, we had eggplant. We had a seafood plate. All fresh made.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gios Italian Kitchen also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gios Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing