We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST IN TOWN”

Habaneros Mexican Sports Bar
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST IN TOWN”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

LOVE this place. The margaritas are just a thing to be reckoned with, the chicken soft tacos are dreamy and dripping with just the right amount of chicken and cheese and veggies, the chicken nachos are just - let me think - you will not want to share them. Foods just plain good and the prices are awesome - all the locals go here for Mexican. Get in my belly!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XVCline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    53
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very plain for Mexican”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The beauty and I went There for dinner on Labor Day. We sat outside as the night was nice. I got a cold Dos Equi Amber and the beauty got a margaretta which came in a cheap plastic cup. I ordered two cheese enchiladas with rice and beans. They were flavorless and lacked any punch. The brown gravy was bland. The beauty got an appetizer quesadilla. One small tortilla folded over. No sauces, no sour cream no anything. The free chips were good but again a flavorless salsa. There was nothing on the table I.e. no salt no pepper no hot sauces and none were offered. We have had no luck with Mexican restaurants on the South Strand. We love Abuellos at the Coastal Grand Mall but that is a 20 mile drive. Banditos oceanfront in Myrle was good. Habaneros is cheap and with the deck gets a good summer crowd that likes sitting outside. The beauty and I will search elsewhere for our Mexican food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeastlyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Average Food and Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

There are few Mexican restaurants in the Pawleys Island Area and Habaneros has served the area for many years. Last night four friends visited for a late evening dinner. The deck and outside bar were quite busy with many noisy out of control children. We dined inside where there were less than 15 other patrons. It took more than 10 minutes for a waiter to approach. The chips were tasty, fresh and the sausa was tangy. The food was average (nothing special). We had to ask twice for our check. We do not highly recommend Habaneros, however, it is the best Mexican in the Pawleys Island area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food! Fun Place! Excellent Service!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Habeneros and won't be our last. We had dinner on Tue 8/6th out on the covered deck.The margaritas were very good and potent. The food was hot fresh and delicious! The portions were large, we all had left overs for lunch the next day. The atmosphere was relaxed casual and included a musician playing acoustic guitar. All of the staff was friendly and seemed to work well together. Our server Travis was super sweet, very attentive and fun. We enjoyed talking with him and wish him well. He is a new employee and Habeneros is lucky to have him!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Food is delicious and served quickly and efficiently. Drinks are delish. You can choose to eat outside on the deck almost all year around. The homey feel works for me. Some peeling paint on the outside but they continue to refab things all the time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbstollenmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habaneros Mexican Sports Bar also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Habaneros Mexican Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing