We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mary Lee By The Sea is the place to be!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pawleys Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan C
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Mary Lee By The Sea is the place to be!”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We just returned from a family vacation! We were so pleased with our stay and loved the location. The house has the perfect setup with the 4 bedrooms and bathrooms. All of the bedrooms had good mattresses which you don’t always find in beach houses. The beach itself is wonderful and not crowded while we were there. We really enjoyed the large family room, screened in porch and great deck space! Litchfield has a lot of great restaurants, grocery stores and shopping.
One change would be nice would be organizing the kitchen and paring it a bit down so that renters have a place for items you bring. The owners leave a pound of local coffee which was very thoughtful and tasty,
Litchfield Realtywas very nice to work with!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
We look forward to your return! Thank you for sharing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judy D
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Mary Lee by the Sea was Good to Me”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful floor plan featuring 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on either side of the greatroom...great for privacy. Lovely screened-in porch with lots of deck chairs...great beach access. Furnishings were in good shape and comfortable. The galley style kitchen was a bit challenging for having several cooks working together and although it was adequately equipped, it was disorganized. Would have preferred to have full size beds in the room with twin beds. The deck was sheltered from wind and set back to allow privacy from neighboring homes. Management responded promptly when an issue arose...in the evening befor Thanksgiving! The best house we have stayed in over the last 20 years...and allowed a small dog!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great
Liked least: kitchen disorganized
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2015
We are glad we could help you the night before Thanksgiving! Wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing. We look forward to having you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth D
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
“A fabulous beachfront vacation home!”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Mary Lee by the Sea is by far the best vacation rental I have ever experienced- just steps away from the beach. All rooms on one floor was wonderful for us elder visitors. The whole family enjoyed the screened in porch and ample deck space. The décor was lovely.. I loved the pine paneling and wood floors. The house was well maintained. A repair to one step on the walkway to the beach was made shortly after a call to the real estate office. We could not have been happier with this home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All rooms on one floor.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Mary Lee by the Sea can certainly turn on the Lowcountry coastal charm! Thank you for sharing. We look forward to having you back at the beach soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tighegsd
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location but house had problems”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

While the location was excellent, the house showed lack of proper maintenance! Door locks were hard to operate, filters in A/C were dirty and vents filthy, screen doors were broken, and a ceiling fan was installed without power. Agent addressed these and a couple of other issues promptly, however two maintenance calls in a week are unacceptable. The house has a wonderful floor plan but the owner needs to take better care of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and access to the beach
Liked least: To many maintenance problems
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2014
We welcome constructive criticism but politely disagree that this home lacks proper maintenance. Yours is the first negative review on this home. This homeowner schedules a professional contractor to inspect and make upgrades regularly. Oceanfront homes are exposed to corrosive elements making them even more susceptible to wear and tear. The way to handle such issues is to send maintenance, which as you say, we did. We look forward to seeing you back on our beautiful beach soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
4 out of 5 stars and a 2015 re-booking at Mary Lee by the Sea must mean you did have, as you say, a great week despite the less than stellar start to your stay. Fortunately, the A/C was quickly revived on the "hot" side of the house once it was reported. Look forward to having you back next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SC
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing