We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alway wonderful combinations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro 217

Bistro 217
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indian Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Alway wonderful combinations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Unique and interesting combinations combined with great ingredients = best food in Pawleys. They have some of the best fries and the sea food special was great. Second visit for Lunch was less wonderful as they were packed (rain so no beach= busy restaurant) but still good

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    121
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here many times but was highly disappointed this time. We had the fish tacos and the special of the day, flounder salad. The flounder was tasteless and the tilapia was overcooked in the fish tacos. We spoke to the mgt about possibly a change in ownership but nothing had changed. On the positive side the tacos were stuffed with tomatoes & lettuce but lacked cilantro and flavor. Will try one more time as the cook may have had a bad day.

Helpful?
Thank DaddyOBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
394 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“This visit was a letdown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have eaten at Bistro 217 on many occasions and always had great meals. This time, I ordered the seared scallop salad. Big mistake.The greens were not swimming in dressing; they had long ago drowned in a sea of dressing. The scallop was sliced horizontally so that I would think there were four on the salad, but I am not quite that dumb. I figured it out rather quickly! Other reviewers raved about the bread basket. We would not know anything about it since we weren't served any. Since, with wine and dessert, our lunch was well over $100, seems to me that serving a little bread would not have been so detrimental to the restaurant's bottom line.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best Food on Pawley's Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I'm from Atlanta..and we have been to Pawley's Island 2ce with children and grandkids..The food here is outstanding..we were on Pawleys Island in June,and ate at Bistro 217..5 out of the 7 nights,we were there..even got take outs for dinner one night!..Highly RX the steak and the salmon..both were excellent!..Awesome breads and cheese spread before dinner arrives..even with a few celery and carrot slices for folks trying to eat healthy..Salads are wonderful,also!..Only thing I didn't care for was the fried fish appetizer..several of our fellow diners did enjoy it..If they have the tuna appetizer..GET IT!!..I EVEN ORDERED TWO OF THEM FOR AN ENTREE ONE EVENING....ALSO THE BROWNIE AND BANNANA ice-cream was great...we needed reservations...but they were pretty easy to obtain!!..don't miss this place!
Bistro isn't for little toddlers..however if you have a child ~5 yrs..who can behave themselves..that could work..saw crayons at the hostess station!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drg113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Has both indoor and outdoor seating, comfortable. Nice service. Good appetizers. Excellent food preparation and presentation. Make reservations. We have been more than once and will go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 217 also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bistro 217? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing