We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was shocked at the 25% rate they got on here”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stay here often and love the staff and owner. I never have an issue with the rooms and they are pet friendly. The beach is minutes away and island is awesome. To me, it's worth the money and the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sednique26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

7903 Ocean Hwy
Pawleys Island, SC 29585 ‎ is where I stayed last nite. It is a dirty motel, run down that need more than a face-lift. Site pictures of this motel on line does not reflect the current condition. I have photos of the mold found in the room with leaky ceilings, rusty refrigerator. you need to go and check this out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Howie203 - We apologize for the room conditions, cleanliness and maintenance issues you encountered during your recent stay. These issues are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we stayed here 7/19-7/21 and it was exactly what i expected. it's an older hotel, and for $60 a night i wasn't expecting trump towers. the front desk lady was very nice and let us check in around 12 b/c we got there early. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the sheets and comforter were clean and i didn't see any bugs and that's all i really cared about. just having somewhere to sleep when we weren't at the beach which was only about 4 miles away which was awesome. we hung out at the pool, and while it wasn't in perfect condition it did the job. the only thing i really didn't enjoy was the bed, it was really hard and flat but otherwise i was VERY satisfied with our stay. and we will probably be back next time we travel to myrtle beach.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 148 on the back side and i was glad b/c the hotel has a hall that they rent out fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KR8985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here 07/05 overnight and must say this was the WORST motel we have ever stayed in. Room was given away due to "how busy they were" even though we guaranteed it with credit card well in advance and called while driving to let front desk know, told we received an "upgrade", the room was filthy, rugs stained all over, toilet filthy as well as tub. Beds were stained on both sheets and bedspreads. The remote control for the TV was taped together. Door to room was broken. Horrible, horrible, horrible, stay some place else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 264don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear 264don - We sincerely apologize for the maintenance, service and cleanliness issues you exoerienced during your recent stay; thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us. Please consider contacting our guest relations department to report your experience with us: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Motel 6's aren't known for their luxury accommodations but normally offer cheap, clean and efficient service. We have stayed in many and that has been the case. Not at Pawleys Island- the room smelled, the carpet was dirty and the walls etc in poor shape. This after experiencing a check in where we experienced all sorts of problems despite having a confirmed reservation. In factor, the check in manager was downright cheeky about it all.
My advice, save your money and sleep in your car or realistically stay some where else.
201 Carlaw
Toronto Canada

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlaw104201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear carlaw104201 - Thank you for your feedback; we sincerely apologize for the cleanliness, service and odor issues you encountered during your recent stay. As you noted, these conditions are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Let me start by saying that I was not expecting a 5 star place... or even a 2 star place... but I want to feel safe and clean when entering a room. My boyfriend and I booked this room because it was cheap and pet friendly. That was about all it had going for it. It took us nearly 30 minutes to check in (there was one person ahead of us) and while checking in, the police showed up and walked into the office. We also saw several people yelling and running back and forth across the hallways and other shady looking activities. The room? Gross. The bathroom light turned on after nearly an hour of waiting, the light in the shower area was exposed, the knobs to the shower came off in our hand, and the room smelled musty and old. The beds were (thankfully) clean and I did not see any bugs, which is why we actually stayed the night. Our key cards quit working and we had to get them replaced the following morning as well. The place is surrounded by golf courses, but you would never have guessed that we were anywhere nice! I will not be back. And I do not want people to make the same mistake that we did. Pay the extra few bucks and stay somewhere nicer. I know that we will!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Jennifer J – Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the slow service you received and for the maintenance issues you encountered. These issues are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6; please kindly contact our guest relations department to report your experience so we can better serve you in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My brother had made a reservation there for us. When we got there to check in they tell us that it was not paid for and we needed to pay for it. We were thinking, "I thought my brother paid for this room." Come to find out the night before we left, he did pay for the room for us, about $200 some. We went to the managers office to get our money back and they told us they couldn't do anything about it. So they lied to us and told us the room was not paid for and when we found out it was they would not give us our money back. We were extremely pissed by this point. The room that we were in stunk really bad and our bathroom was very dirty. The motel is owned by a Pakistani guy. When our room was cleaned while we were gone, all that was done was the beds were made, nothing else was cleaned. So we stayed at a bad motel and got screwed!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pawleys Island hotels
6 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,910 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,915 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
1.6 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
1.6 mi away
True Blue Golf Resort
True Blue Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Pawleys Island
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 7903 Ocean Hwy, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-8261 (Formerly Motel 6 Pawleys Island)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - Pawleys Island Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing