We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay!”
Review of Southern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We always stay here, as it is the best place to stay, when visiting the area. Sam will see to it that all your needs are taken care of, if at all possible. A great place to relax, after a long day of driving. The breakfast is included. There are many things, including hot food, for breakfast. The staff is very friendly, as if they've known you all your life! A rare happening, in this day and age. You will enjoy your stay. We've stayed in many places, but always stop here, no matter if we have to drive several hours more. It's worth it! Zh.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 297 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We picked the place on Trip advisor going to Orangeburg instead of Columbia. It was a good idea. This motel did not disappoint. It is a good value, the staff is great, the rooms clean and in pristine condition. The Waffle House is close by too. Forget Columbia and go to Orangeburg instead! Will definitely go back there on the next trip to Florida. The room we had was set up for the handicapped and had many features that most rooms do not have. If one is handicapped this place would be really a godsend. We did not use the pool and did not ask about a fitness center.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped this is the place for you. Truly excellent and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We looked for a place to stay overnight in Orangeburg SC on our way to Florida on March 28, 2013. The Southern Lodge rated #1 but I was a little skeptical. My wife and I were traveling with our Grandchildren and wanted something clean and comfortable. Being a HHonors member I tend to lean towards Hampton Inns when traveling but the appeal of a throwback motel was too much to resist. My wife called the Southern Lodge a few days prior to our departure to secure a reservation. The owner Sam Patel answered the phone and held a room for us after a few questions from my wife. We explained that we'd be coming in sometime around 9:30 pm and Sam was kind enough to hold a room without a deposit and only requested that we keep in touch with the front desk if we experienced any delays. After a lengthy delay north of Charlotte my wife called and gave the front desk clerk an update of our expected arrival. She duly noted our reservation. We arrived a little after 10:00 pm to a smiling clerk who promptly open the front door to greet and welcome us. We found our room clean and neat and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep. We really liked the "throwback" motel with parking right outside our door. The area appeared safe and noise was not a factor for us. The grandkids enjoyed breakfast the next morning and were happy to receive a coloring book and crayons from Sam himself, who was there making sure his customers were completely satisfied. The free breakfast was not the best we've ever had but it had variety and was adequate.
Now, this is not the Ritz-Carlton but, if you want a clean, comfortable overnight stay while traveling along I-26 in South Carolina you absolutely cannot beat the Southern Lodge and you'll save some money at the same time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subrate601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

After a long day on the road, we discovered this wonderful hotel. The staff is friendly, the area is quiet, and there are restaurants nearby. A breakfast is included too. We even got a coupon for $5.00 toward our next stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked this motel on the Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We were offered cookies and fruit on our arrival. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. We met the owner Sam Patel in the morning he was very friendly and outgoing. Breakfast was better than most hotels we have stayed in. A variety of items,fruit,sausage on biscuits,yogurt,eggs,bacon cereal etc. Before we left Mr. Patel offered us fruit and cookies to go as well as a cup with a pen, several candies and a small box of raisins. Definitely Southern hospitality at its best. We will make a point of staying at this motel any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

When we drive to Florida we don't get reservations we stop at an exit and talk to each desk manager of the 3-4 motels located there. We get rates and look for friendliness. The Southern Inn won out, the desk manager was great. The room was very nice, clean and they had a basket of "needs" including: soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, shaving cream and lotion. This in an age where most of these little motels are only leaving folks with soap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A breath of fresh air in an independent motel. The staff was wonderful. Breakfast was good with lots of fruit as well as a variety of other viands. The facilities were well maintained and spotless. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and generous with advice. Rates were reasonable as well. A welcome change from the the newer plastic franchises surrounding the lodge. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orangeburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 19 in Orangeburg
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Orangeburg North
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orangeburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 19 in Orangeburg
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Orangeburg
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orangeburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lodge

Address: 3616 Saint Matthews Rd, Highway 601, Orangeburg, SC 29118-8214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range: $51 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate Small Town America with a pause for the quiet life at an affordable Orangeburg SC hotel near a great restaurant. Savor the simple life, plus ground level rooms, at Southern Lodge amid country air, fertile soil, abundant wildlife & the world famous Edisto Gardens' 165-acre rose park. Leisure at the Orangeburg hotel-motel is as it should be: clean, simple, worry free... easily-a-bargain-packed-value, plus friendly service at the family-friendly Southern Lodge, a mellow, easy in/out I-26 hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Hotel Orangeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing