We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop not far off of I26”

Edisto Memorial Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These gardens commemorate the site of where 600 Confederate soldiers temporarily held off the Union Army in 1865.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stop not far off of I26”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have been thru Orangeburg on I 26 several times and finally took the time to go find the garden. The signs getting you through Orangeburg could have been a little better.
An abundance of roses and walkways along the river. Hopefully the next time we are on I26 the azaleas will be blooming, and we will go visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, OH
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice stop near I-95, for a walk”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Pleasant gardens and woods with the Edisto River running through the park. We were there when azaleas, dogwoods and other flowering shrubs and trees were blooming. Extensive boardwalk along river, with one end still needing repair after winter storm damage. Quiet, peaceful place to stretch our legs while travelling I-95. Clean restrooms. I believe another section had picnic tables.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful and a must see.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Definitely worth a stop. Beautiful spot! Wonderful pond & lovely roses. Great place for a picnic or leisurely stroll.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Stop”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Gardens are truly the high light of the town! No matter what the season, they are always kept up and beautiful. Admission is free. The rose gardens are well worth the stop when in bloom. The Christmas Lights are an annual tradition for our family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabgamecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Christmas light display with no admission fee”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Edisto Gardens Christmas lights display is by far one of the best around. It is hard to believe there is no admission fee to enjoy the beautiful lights.

Edisto Gardens is also a great place to visit when the roses are in bloom. You can stroll through the gardens and then take a walk along the river on the boardwalk. Great place to visit especially for those on a tight budget.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edisto Memorial Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Edisto Memorial Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing