We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Internet Rate”
Review of Super 8 Orangeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Orangeburg
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Internet Rate”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked this room the day before our stay on the internet - great rate. We turned off Route 77 and drove past many motels - continued for about 3 miles to this Super 8. It is next to a college. It is an older motel, but the room looked and smelled clean. Anyone requiring QUIET - be aware that there is some traffic noise and we heard a train. These did not bother us.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room - pulled right up to the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    48
    32
    30
See reviews for
62
52
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The lady at the front desk was pleasant. We were able to check-in ahead of time. The room was clean and comfortable for what we were there for. The Tv could have shown better considering we stayed in the room while it rained. Location is great. Son was there for school and it was right around the corner. Also, so many places to shop and eat.

Room Tip: Not sure. But we stayed on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackbeauty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

First of all let me say the rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. The front desk staff was super nice. The breakfast was great, consisted of waffels, Very satisfied with our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This place was awful. Beds were small and uncomfortable. Had to flush toilet 2 or 3 times to get waste to go down. Room did not smell fresh and air conditioner did not work well. But the real kicker was when my wife and granddaughters went and jumped in the pool and came up next to a terd in the water. Thats right, Some one had used the bathroom in the pool. When they reported it to management they were blamed for doing it. We left as soon as possible but could nt get a refund for the last night of our reservation. Stay at this motel at your own risk!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edhydrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We left right away, because we could not breath there.
The lobby and room smelled foul.
There was sigaret trash all over the room, even on the bed!
We do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWIEBERTJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta ga
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

I have noticed that the reviews of motels in Orangeburg seem to be nothing less than scathing. From reading what folks write, the folks who stay in motels there are generally crazed crack dealers who have a tolerance of filth, noise and bedbugs.

I did not find this at this budget motel. Instead, in the language of the old Motel 6 commercials, I found a clean comfortable room with a good firm mattress, a locaton that suited me well, and a price just shy of $60.00. The location is not convenient to the interstate, but it is good if you need to be close to the college in Orangeburg, or in downtown.

There were downsides. One is that the bathroom is a cave, and folks with clausterphobia will have a definite problem in there. (It, was, however, perfectly clean. No mold, no nast toilet.) The other is that the walls are quite thin -- and you will hear trains, folks opening their car doors, and any loud tv sets of chatter.

There is breakfast in the lobby. But you will have to content yourself with a donut or a bowl of fruit loops and a glass of orange juice. There isn't much variety. But again, this is a chain budget motel. You should not expect more.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alonzoiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Noisy, A lot of construction workers stay here. Diesel trucks loud. No Cont Breakfast as advertised. Clerk was not friendly. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Disliked — loud, noisy not friendly
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orangeburg hotels
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Orangeburg South
Days Inn Orangeburg South
#10 of 19 in Orangeburg
135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Orangeburg North
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 19 in Orangeburg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orangeburg
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orangeburg
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Orangeburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Orangeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Orangeburg

Property: Super 8 Orangeburg
Address: 610 John C Calhoun Dr, Junction Hwy 601/301, Orangeburg, SC 29115-6169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Orangeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Orangeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Orangeburg
Orangeburg Super 8
Orangeburg Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing