We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ordinary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed here on a trip between Florida and North Carolina, based on the reviews. It was clean and appeared new - but the rest - just ordinary. I actually felt let down that there were other hotels very close that might have been better for less or the same price. Better in the sense that the breakfast next morning was minimal - really minimal. And hey, I could have ate cereal somewhere else. We won't stay here again for what we paid. We did not experience bed bugs. I was grossed out by the other reviewer and that sealed the fact we will not stay there again. The road noise was horrible, including nearby train tracks and train whistles.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyandDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    56
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
40
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

This was our second stay here. The first one was wonderful, clean, and friendly. We were going to drop off our son at college and needed a place to stay for the orientation the next day. We checked in and went to the mall and dinner. We returned to the hotel about midnight and went to bed. I am a very light sleeper and woke up with bugs on my face. I killed that one and we called the front desk to inform them. When we moved the pillows around we found a dead one under the pillow that looked as if he had been there a while. I could not sleep there and decided to leave and drive home with 3 hrs of sleep.We were given only $10.00 discount on the room because we checked in early. The manager Mr.Jerry Lawrence called me by the time i got home to apologize and said i could stay there again.... When i asked would he stay somewhere that had bugs, he said YES and laughed at me when i explained how the bug was on my FACE.When i got home i realized i was bitted all on my left side! I am done with hotels!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grossedout62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We had stayed at the Sleep Inn and the Howard Johnson's on prior visits. Finally followed local recommendation and stayed at the Best Western. With the AARP rate this was the best value. The room with King bed was SPACIOUS & clean. The handicap access bathroom with shower was enormous. The pool looked spacious enough ( we didn't use it ) but the gym is very tiny & equipment needs to be updated . My husband also found the bed to be a little too soft. It was fine for me. However, the sound insulation is poor so if you are adult travelers, do yourself a favor and ask NOT to be in a room that adjoins another on the lobby floor or you may find that there is a family with NOISY children either next door or above.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Beautiful new hotel. Stopped overnight on a long drive to Florida. Many restaurants and facilites around hotel. Check in was a little slow but they were busy. Will definatley stay here again on our way back to Florida.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claptonmapleleaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

This review is late in posting but I felt I needed to give it a thumbs up ..had resently opened when we stayed everything was very nice.Will stay again if happen to be close seem everytime we leave Ont for Florida it a different time so we stop different place after driving.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this Best Western! The rooms were large, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable (except for the pillows....bring your own!) Even though the motel was full, it was quiet. Good breakfast in a nice area of the lobby, though not enough tables and chairs for the number of people there. Breakfast is served from 6A-10A which was great with 2 small kids. Front desk staff were exceptionally nice, especially Shameka, who checked us in after a very long drive (11 hours) in bumper to bumper traffic from Florida! We definitely will stay there again, though the next time we travel with little ones, we would like to be on the ground floor and not the third floor!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfinggrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

Could teach some things to a few of the "larger" chains. I was quite impressed, and that says a lot since I'm very picky. My only negative was the firm beds, but I know bed comfort varies from person to person.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiteTravelSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orangeburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Orangeburg North
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orangeburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Orangeburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orangeburg
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Orangeburg
Fairfield Inn Orangeburg
#6 of 19 in Orangeburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 19 in Orangeburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 746 Citadel Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118-9704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Orangeburg Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Orangeburg Hotel Orangeburg
Orangeburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing