We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay for overnight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice stay for overnight.”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Large lobby with large breakfast room
(breakfast – nice waffle maker that made up to four small waffles, fruit and the regulars. Boring cereal)

The room itself was large, the bed did not have a zippered mattress cover. The fridge was a good size, but did not have a freezer, there was a microwave. Our room did not have any teabags, and we didn't bother to request any, but they should have been there. There was a bench for our suitcases, a small closet for clothes, a computer desk, end tables on both sides of the bed.
Large bathroom with counter inside bathroom with the coffee maker on that counter. Who puts a coffee maker in the washroom ? That just seems unsanitary to me. I bet that the owners own home does not have a coffee maker in the washroom.
The room was clean but not spotless – a lot of dust behind the cabinets and dressers etc. Pull them out once in a while and vacuum.
Smoke detector was missing – just the base of detector and wires hanging out of wall
The room was quiet, there was a guest laundry and the location is close to the interstate.
Nearby restaurants.
I would stay again if in the area, hopefully this place improves rather than deteriorates.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    58
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
59
44
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris - France
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We booked this room during our 3 week trip between NY and Miami in the summer of 2010 . We had booked via internet a standard king. When we arrived at the lobby, a nice clerk told us he was happy to offer us a free upgrade for a King Suite. We were happily surprised. The room in itself was large, and comfortable, clean as well. It looked pretty new. However, during the night, we understood the reason of this so-called upgrade. Our King Suite was located on the ground floor, just by the lobby, in front of the elevator. Doors are not sound proofed, we discovered quickly. From the moment we tried to sleep, till 2 AM, we heard terrible noise, impeding us to fall asleep. Many people checked in late, and those were the noisiest people ever, with kids screaming… Then it stopped, but early birds began waking us up from 5 AM. We did not get to sleep a lot, which is the first thing I want in a hotel.
Then, big surprise for the breakfast ! We tried to have our breakfast at 8AM. There was nothing in the breakfast area, not even juice or coffee. We asked the clerk about this, and she said that the person who had the keys to the pantry did not show up in the morning, and therefore they were not able to prepare breakfast. Amazing, right ? They offered us a 10 % discount for the lack of breakfast. Needless to say, we will not return to this place, because of the lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

On the way home from vacation we decided to stop in Orangeburg SC rather than Columbia. This was one of the best BWs at which we have stayed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel must be new b/c everything looked very fresh. The room was very nicely appointed with LCD TV, fridge, and refrigerator and there was plenty of room for three adults to move around comfortably. The bathroom was nice and big as well. There was a closet with iron and board for hanging clothes, but oddly the hangers bump the door when you shut it.

The continental breakfast is better than minimal. It included the usual type of danishes, etc., fresh fruit and cereal dispensers, boiled eggs, a toaster for white or wheat bread, more than one coffee choice, and likely other items that I missed (since I arrived just at the end of service when they were starting the cleanup).

The location is in a slightly isolated location from I-26 and other businesses, and while there are restaurants not far away, you do need to ask hotel staff how to get to the business area where they are located. The advantage is that there is no road noise from highway travel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This hotel was completed on 2008, so it is fairly young. The grounds are clean. The interior lobby and hallways are clean and well kept(lobby, 1st and 3rd floors). The room was inviting and clean upon arrival. The bed on a scale of comfort(1(worse)-10(best)) would rate a 7. We were able to get a fairly good nights sleep. We have stayed in Best Western hotels over the years. This is one of the better sites. What was outstanding was the customer service and overall hospitality of the front desk staff and the lady overseeing the breakfast area. We felt that at home because of her care and humor. It seems that this staff enjoys working for the owner and/or with each other. I would recommend this facility to others.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want by calling or at front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiccup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Front Desk was friendly and helpful.
Room was clean and well maintain.
Mattress was very comfortable after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john13614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed for a few days visiting with family. The staff were excellent, the property was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good. I would recommend this property to anyone. My wife has serious allergy issues, the staff we VERY accommodating. Top notch and a GREAT value!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finicky_Guest49431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Comfortable night sleep on our way back to Florida. Spacious rooms with fridge & microwave and free wi-fi. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff and simple,nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orangeburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orangeburg
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Orangeburg North
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Orangeburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orangeburg
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Orangeburg
Fairfield Inn Orangeburg
#4 of 19 in Orangeburg
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 19 in Orangeburg
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 746 Citadel Rd, Orangeburg, SC 29118-9704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Orangeburg Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Orangeburg Hotel Orangeburg
Orangeburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing