We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”
Review of Jamaica Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jamaica Motel
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
511 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent one night at the Jamaica Motel recently. The first thing I noticed was that check- in was fast and friendly. The room was older, and no frills as we had expected. Be aware that you need to bring a hairdryer, shampoo etc. They did provide hand soap. The kitchen wasn't too well stocked, a few plates, no wine glasses etc. They also do not provide dish washing soap, so I bought some. But it is still a great bargain. The balcony was a big plus, and easy access to the beach. I didn't use the pool, but noticed in the morning that it was being cleaned by a friendly young man. It is not a place for people that like to go out to eat on foot. There was an Irish Pub that looked fun, and was within walking distance, but due to rain we didn't get to try it. Otherwise not much to get to on foot. It would be a great place for anyone wanting to just hang out on the beach and then cook meals in the room. Check out was also nice and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank norskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Jamaica Motel is one of the last remaining small, family-run motels in North Myrtle Beach. This motel is no-frills and the décor is very dated. But, the rooms are clean and include kitchenettes with a full fridge. Every room is oceanfront with a small balcony which is perfect for that morning coffee or evening of just sitting and watching the moonlight on the beach. The location is hard to beat; being walking distance to the main street in Crescent Beach and only a short drive to Main Street in Ocean Drive. And the rates are extremely reasonable. If you need a modern hotel or nice amenities, this is not the place for you. But, if you are just concerned with finding clean, basic accommodations on the oceanfront that won’t break the bank, this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed here on three different occasions - It is a older motel, but SUPER clean and nice. We were treated very kindly by all the employees and Bobbie, the owner is a wonderful lady. The beds were very comfortable - we have stayed in a room with a full kitchen and also in a regular room with a microwave and refrigerator. Both rooms were clean, comfortable with an oceanfron balcony. The pool was clean and refreshing and the beach area around the motel is quiet and relaxing. I have stayed in several expensive resorts in North Myrtle Beach and the Jamaica Motel was the most reasonable priced accomodation with all the great oceanfront views and features that are found at the expensive resorts. I would recommend this motel to anyone who wants a great and inexpensive place to stay with family, friends, or just a couple on a get-a-way!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2rd and 4th floor have great views of the beach and ocean!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Colman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were 15 people in our family reunion. Very convenient location. Excellent ocean front. Easy excess to beach, Employees were very friendly. Large double queen rooms with kitchen. Free Wifi. Thanks to Bonnie & Bobbie.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came to N. Myrtle Beach for a couple of days after visiting family in the Charlotte area. Last time we were here we stayed at the best wester oceansands and planned on staying there again. When we got there they had just sold out and had to find another place. We looked at a couple of places down the beach and chose the Jamaica Motel. The room was a little out dated but it was clean and had a kitchenette. This hotel has no frills whatsoever and was glad we always bring our own supply of soap, shampoo and conditioner. I would stay here again, but only if I find myself in the same situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We drove down for a concert at House of Blues last minute to see Girl Talk. This was the first vacancy sign we saw and we thought "Jamaica me crazy" it would be fun. We checked in but were dissapointed when we got to the room. It was seriously old like grandma's house with that old smell. But we were late to get to HOB and we just headed out. IT was so late and we just crashed when we got back but it was not the best night. We were a little grossed out by the bathroom - they cleaned it but it was like old and there was a big black bug in the tub! So we dug it out with TP and flushed it.

In the morning we got another room just down the beach at another older place but it was much more habitable. If you only have $60 you can't be picky but for $20 more you could get something nicer.

Room Tip: It was a nice little place but that was a while ago. Just old and musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SpidersRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Jamaica Motel this past weekend and absolutely loved it. We usually wait until after Labor Day to avoid the crowds and the kids and it paid off again, The room was a good size and perfectly clean, the view from the balcony was picture perfect and the staff friendly and attentive. We were close to everything we wanted and the after holiday prices were great. We will stay there again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quietmn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,208 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,246 reviews
2.7 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castaway Beach Inn
Castaway Beach Inn
#15 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamaica Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Motel

Property: Jamaica Motel
Address: 1427 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly Ocean Edge Resort Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jamaica Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing