We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Pretty Good”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avista Resort
Snow Camp NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall Pretty Good”
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Went to Avista a week before the Bike Rally and overall the hotel was very good. The cleaning staff was the only issue we had. We asked them a few times to vacuum our room and they did not so I complained and they finally did it. Also my family had went to the beach and came back to the room to take showers and wash the sand off and our tub was a little messy, so we assumed that the cleaning staff would clean it....NOT. They have us fresh linens and did not clean the bathroom at all!

Overall this hotel is very good for the money but you have to watch the cleaning folks.....

The rates were great because we decided to visit before peak season.

We got a survey from Avista and I was very honest as to what happened and they promised they would speak to their staff about this. I hope one isolated incident doesn't make this nice hotel look bad!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mybabysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    614
    240
    130
    116
See reviews for
1,082
483
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hazleton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

we booked thru condolux which made it about $300 less than booking with Avista itself . we stayed at Avista 414,condolux lists as an oceanview. wish i was told that. i would have gladly paid more for an oceanfront. it was a sideview. but overall it wasnt too bad. the Avista itself was great . staff was wonderful and the resort is beautiful and kept great. the beds were however very very uncomfortable. would stay here again thru condolux or Avista resort itself but would def get an oceanfront next time.

  • Liked — the resort itself was beautiful
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank maggiebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

The avista was fantastic. We arrived on a Saturday evening. Stayed for 6 nights. After a long day of travel we were greeted by the most pleasant people ever! We booked a 3 bedroom, corner, deluxe, condo and to our surprise we were given room 1729, yes on the 17th floor! Lets just say...WOW!! Once we took our elevator ride up to our room, we opened our door and could not believe our eyes! The views were spectacular! Huge glass windows everywhere! I mean floor to ceiling glass windows! After settling in, we noticed the condo was clean and equipted with all the necessities. The balcony has several chairs and a table, again, the view was awesome! Still cant believe how beautiful and I have since returned home! I have travelled to many places and have never stayed in such a beautiful place. The staff and everyone I encountered were more than pleasant! I only wish I didnt have to leave! There were plenty of things to do close by! Also there were an abundance of grocery stores near by, even an Wal-Mart. I would definitely return to the Avista !!! All in all it was probably the best vacation ever! Thanks Avista for making my vacation so pleasurable!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank luvntrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

When we booked our stay at the Avista hotel, we were happy to see that it had a toddler pool for our two year old. It even had pics of the mushroom water fountain. We got there on a Thursday night, and the pools were all open. Our two year old was very excited to see the pools... When we woke on Friday morning (5/11/07), the mushroom top had been taken off. We were confused as we watched men drain the toddler pool and cover with boarding. This process took the man ALL DAY Friday AND Saturday...sawing, hammering, pounding etc, so naturally we figured there was something wrong with the pool. However, Saturday evening, we found that all this had been done to accomodate a small wedding that lasted an hour. They put chairs on top of the boarded over toddler pool so that maybe 15 people could sit and watch the wedding, while the rest of the 30 people ended up standing around anyway. We checked out on Sunday, and by the time we were leaving, the pool was being refilled again.

I'm not sure that closing ammenities promised to guests all for the sake of a small wedding was the best idea. Our satisfaction and convienience was sacrificed the whole weekend for a Saturday night event that lasted an hour.

Other than the pool incident, the Avista amenities were nice. The room was clean and stocked well. The view of the ocean was nice from our room. Parking was really bad as well as the dropoff/registration lot. Once in the little lot, you couldn't get out if it was crowded (nowhere to turn around).

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tysonbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

For spring break I booked a week in a large one bedroom oceanyiew for myself, my father and three daughters ages 11, 17 and 21. It was an excellent experience. I requested the south tower on an upper floor. We arrived about 1:30 in the afternoon and were warmly welcomed and quickly sent on our way to our suite on the 12th floor in the south tower. Calling the unit an oceanview is an injustice. You have a large sweeping view of the ocean out your balcony without even having to turn your head and a beautiful city view especially at night. Yhe suite was very clean, modern and well stocked. All staff from front desk to maintanance to housekeeping were courteous and helpful. The pool areas inside and outside are great and we were always able to find lounge chairs for myself and my daughters to lay out on. Even the parking was no where near as bad as I was envisioning it after reading those reviews and I drove a Mercury Mountaineer! My daughters and father all had a wonderful time. The Avista is definitly the best of the five hotels I have stayed at in The Myrtle Beach area over the past few years.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — washer/dryer
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevstersped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

The Avista Resort was fantastic. It is right on the beach, has indoor and outdoor pools, lazy rivers, and hot tubs. We stayed in a 3-bedroom unit with 10 foot, floor to ceiling glass in the living room, dining room, and all three bedrooms. It was spacious, in excellent condition, and the view was stunning. There was a full kitchen, with full-size stove, dishwasher, refrigerator with icemaker, microwave, etc. The staff was very courteous and professional. We called the front desk about one of the light bulbs being out in the master bedroom bath and someone was in our unit in less than 30 minutes to replace the bulb. The washer/dryer combination in the unit leaves a little to be desired ... it's one of those European all-in-one types. But, there were full sized ones available up on the 4th floor. There is Wi-Fi in the unit and cable TV in the living room and all three bedrooms. The weight room/workout facility is top notch with weight machines, treadmills, stairmasters, cycles, free weights, and TV while you exercise. If you are a golfer, there are more than 100 courses within minutes of North Myrtle Beach. Also, don't miss "Fat Harold's" on Main Street. They have a DJ every night and free dance lessons for anyone who wants to learn the "Carolina Shag". It sort of looks like "Jitterbug" or “Swing”. What a fun place and it is only two blocks from the Avista. The room access is through inside corridors and there are two banks of elevators. Short-term parking is available under the resort and long-term parking is just across the street. There are oceanfront one, two, and three bedroom units, but we really liked our three bedroom "A" unit (phase II). It's on the north side and has the best view. You can see all the way up to the Cherry Point Pier. I checked out their golf package pricing and will definitely get my golf group to come down. There was so much to do in the area, we have to come back and we will definitely be stay at the Avista, again.

  • Liked — The view, the staff, and all there was to do in the surrounding area.
  • Disliked — The washer/dryer combination in the unit.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank R0BBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

Have a friend who owns condo at Avista Resort so we stayed in his 2 bdrm/2 bath on 04/08/07 to 04/14/07. Very nice condo. Because it was Spring/Easter Break, Avista was very busy, but it was a fun busy. Pool are was very nice as was beach. Only 2 problems: washer & dryer in our unit was broken and many of the things we wanted to do were either in Myrtle Beach or further South. Traffic is always a pain and we spent a lot of time on the road; We were on the 10th floor, but waits for elevators were fairly short. Check-out time of 10:00 am is a bit early. Had 2 teenagers with us, but would definitely stay here again if just myself and my husband and weren't running to Myrtle Beach so often for Broadway at the Beach, Medieval Times, etc.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volleyball-Mom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,475 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,687 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Vacatia and Cancelon so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing