We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front property, very clean, reasonable in October.”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avista Resort
Carroll, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beach front property, very clean, reasonable in October.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took an overnight trip to the beach in early October. Sometimes it is difficult to get a place for a single night, but The Avista fit the bill.The Avista was clean, had a great view of the water, and plenty of pools and hot tubs! They have a fitness center and restaurant (a nice addition) The beach area was great. The room wasn't extravagant, but nice. The cost for a one bedroom, kitchenette, large bathroom with small jacuzzi and living area with balcony and pull down additional bed was less than $100 off season. Room 503 was nice, but one of the TVs did not work and the bed was very low to the floor. We only stayed one night, so didn't ask for anything to be fixed. Help was friendly.

Room Tip: I believe there are some rooms that have two sides viewing the water at a corner. There are not ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Brenda M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at the Avista Resort. We are very happy to see that you had a fantastic time and that the Avista was just what you were looking for. In the future when you return please don't hesitate to let us know of any issues so that we can get them corrected immediately. We look forward to hosting you and yours again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    614
    240
    130
    116
See reviews for
1,082
483
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The rooms were clean but in need of upgrading. Close to all the clubs,and outlets. The restaurant was sadly a let down. Waitstaff was great but the kitchen wasn't.The DJ at the poolwas anice addition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555Shermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment about our staff and the property but we do apologize about the kitchen. Can you contact me at info@avistaresort.com and let me know what occurred with your food please. We want every part of your stay with us to be pleasant and would appreciate any critique. Glad you enjoyed the DJ as well, we have been having them more and more on Saturdays in the hopes to start our guests vacation off and let everyone know they are not working but are on “Vacation Time” now, glad you had fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very clean. Its very close to restaurants and shopping outlets. First time to north myrtle beach and this resort makes us want to come back next year. Our room was updated very clean, beds were soft. Thanks for a good time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Avista Resort and North Myrtle Beach. We too hope you will return, as we think this is the best part of the beach to stay, and we hope to become your vacation home for the future. While we appreciate any comments to help us it is especially rewarding to get such a positive review of the property and our wonderful staff, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at Avista Sept. 20-23 for the first time. Great location within walking distance to clubs, etc. Reservation staff was friendly and responsive. All the employees I encountered were courteous and helpful. The restaurant couldn't handle the dinner crowd, so I had to go out for dinner. I had the same problem as many others, towels left on chairs poolside overnight to "save" seats. I simply removed a towel that I noticed had been on the chair for a long time with no one in sight. I paid as the other guests and wanted to spend time by the pool as well. Would love to know the name of the drink made poolside, it was awesome. Overall great time and I will stay again.

Room Tip: I had an 8th floor oceanview room and it was great. The rude guests I referred to in my title were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Welcome! We hope this is the first of many visits with the Avista and our staff. Thank you for your comments and your common sense approach to the towel issue. We can't keep up with all the towels and can only hope our guests will be courteous of others and I am grateful you found a solution to those who are not.

Thank you for your nice comment about our staff and yes the restaurant received much more business than is typical and we had some delays but again I am grateful you took it in stride and had a wonderful stay while visiting North Myrtle Beach.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for six of our ten day vacation to Myrtle Beach for our 25th. anniversary, Surprisingly it was probably one the best Hotel's we have stayed at of all our vacations to the U.S.A. with the only exception being the loud music played outside in the pool area daily, mixed tunes and some I didn't like, and I like most music, but not everyday all day long, once or twice a week would have been enough, otherwise for value and accommodation's it was great, we requested a smokers suite which they only had six of and unfortunately was why we couldn't stay the whole ten days, they were full pre-booked on those last for days which we spent at the Hilton Embassy Suite not far from the Avista, but for all they have in room, full appliances from fridge to stove, full set of dishes and dish washer, microwave, a great twelve cup coffee maker and multiple coffee bags both regular and de-café, a toaster, food mixer, two good sized flat screen TV's with lot's of working stations, except HBO or pay per view, which I surprised us as they usually come standard in all hotels now, otherwise the room was super large with a great double bed queen sized, nice dressers, closet, electronic safe, pull down wall bed in the living room with a nice couch and chair, a full set of table and chairs in the dinette area, and vaulted ceilings with beautiful pictures on all the walls, the bathroom was over sized compared to most normal or smaller rooms found usually, it had a great big bath tub Jacuzzi size, but standard faucets and shower which was just ok, also a retractable clothes hanger string across the tub area for drying and with the washer and dryer stacked in a hall closet it was great, covered parking across the street in a multi-level with elevator and no additional charges including the internet which was wifi with a router in suite and fast connection., they also have a outdoor 24/7 which you can view over the internet from anywhere at their main hotel website link... http://www.avistaresort.com/default-en.html

Room Tip: Book early especially If you want a smokers room., get one facing away from the ocean if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are grateful you made us apart of your vacation plans and for taking the time to give such a great review of the property and what we have to offer. We do not normally have that much music, just Saturday, but with the SOS week we filled it with music and dance that week as so many of our guests do come for that purpose. Hopefully when you choose to visit us again we can help direct you to a little more relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limestone, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I do not know if I will return.

I have stayed here for the past three years; however this past weekend’s visit was horrible.
Upon checking in the receptionist called me to let me know that my room was ready. So I headed to the resort. When I arrived the bell hop would not help me with my luggage or help me get a cart to load my luggage because I did not have my key. When I did bring my key back to the bell hop station was nowhere to be found.

The carpet in the elevator lobby was nasty. It had the most offensive odor. The elevators were hot inside all weekend.

Also, the carpet in the indoor pool area was nasty and smelled.

Upon entering out room I was pleased. It was clean!

The furniture in the bathroom was distraught, needing to be replaced. Too much water damage, and also not put together properly.

Then came the huge problem, the compact washer/dryer kept malfunctioning. Each time that I used the unit it would stay locked, even if direction were followed. I called the front desk for help, it was over 2 hours and still no assistance. I looked up online how to unlock it. It happened a third time, and this time it took forever to get it unlocked. When I called and told the front desk about the problem the said that they hate them and that they cause a lot of problems. These cost at least $1599 each. I know there are cheaper/better options.

We could not use the stove due to the stove eyes being warped/not level.

When we were using the indoor pool area there was not any chairs. If we brought chairs in from outside they were taken out immediately if we got up out of them. So there were not enough chairs for the guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink37681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
First I do want to apologize for the confusion with your checking in as the situation as you described is unacceptable and we will discuss this with our staff. I am not sure what happened with the elevators as the hotel is completely enclosed and the elevator lobbies are all air conditioned. I assume with the number of guests that week they may have been warmer than normal. I am grateful your unit was very clean as we do try very hard to ensure our Condos are the best maintained properties on the beach. Our guest have come to expect this and we have tried hard to make this our "standard'. These combo washer/dryers are required to be vent less systems so our options are limited. The door functions can be complicated so we do try and keep directions with each unit and will ensure they get back into every unit so this process is not as confusing. Again please accept our apologies for the incidents that occurred and know these are not normal nor acceptable to us and we will work on each and every concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights here recently. We enjoyed the hotel. It is beginning to slip a little with age. But, is still a great value. The service is very good and staff is nice. the only thing is that people reserve the seats around the pool by putting towels on them. So, by 9-10 am, there were no seats. But, plenty of them had towels on them but no guests to be found.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patch111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Glad you stayed with us again and appreciated your comments. We are at the end of the prime season so we will be repairing and painting everything to get it as new as possible for next year. We know time marches on so we work very hard to maintain the property in the best condition we can. I also appreciate your noting our wonderful staff as they really do care about the resort and our guests.
With regard to the pool towels we have tried everything but unfortunately came to the conclusion we cannot make guest behave in a proper manner if they are not inclined to so we remind them of our policy but due to the confrontations with a small minority of guests we have to leave the signs and good courteous behavior to them as it is almost impossible to keep up with the towels on all the hundreds of chairs without upsetting someone. We hope you come back now that we have slowed and enjoy the great rates and relaxed feel of the beach and the pool deck in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,475 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,688 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia and Cancelon so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing