We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, especially for the money”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avista Resort
Huntersville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice property, especially for the money”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited here from Sunday-Wed. in early Sept., 2013. We rented a two-bedroom, each of which had two full-sized beds. The room was extremely clean, the carpet seemed relatively new. There were older TV's in the bedrooms, but a flat screen in the main gathering area. The staff was friendly. The pools were a little small, but there were plenty of them (2 hot tubs outside, 1 inside; a lazy river inside and another outside; two small pools outside and one inside and a small round pool with a "mushroom" that water sprayed out of for kids. We didn't eat at the on site restaurant, but the prices we saw on the menu were reasonable. I'd visit here again, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear TripleD07,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your recent stay with us here at the Avista. We are all very happy to see that you had a great time while with us and do plan on returning again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    633
    245
    131
    117
See reviews for
1,118
491
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We checked-in just before dinner and were anxious to get the car unloaded and get some dinner for our 20-month-old. Walked into our 1-bedroom room to find that it reeked of old cigarettes. This is supposed to be a non-smoking resort. Our mistake: we both agreed that we could live with it because we just wanted to get settled and get some food.
After talking with my husband 2 days later, we realized that our room's bathroom had been used and had not been cleaned. (Yuck!) I thought that he had used the bathroom while we were getting everything settled and assumed that the open bar of soap and disrupted towels were from him. Nope!
In addition to the smell, the room just felt gross. The tiled hallway felt slimy when we were walking around. We were really trying to make the best of it, but it was adding up. I was told on the phone that it would have a full kitchen. I brought everything to make breakfast and lunch, but there were hardly any dishes.
The last straw was when we got back to the room after visiting the beach. I needed to give our 20-month-old a bath due to sunscreen and sand. The drain plug wouldn't thread into the drain because of nasty gunk and hair. I had to hold her under the shower while she was wailing. After she was clean and dry, I discovered that she was running a fever (lousy timing). I fed her and got her down for a nap.
My husband went down to ask if we could be moved to another room. The woman said that they would call when the new room was ready. She also admitted that the room that we were in had been a smoking room up until 2 months ago. If Avista intends to convert smoking rooms to non-smoking rooms, they have to rip out the carpet, paint the walls, and replace the beds (the room needs this, anyway). Just waving your hand and changing the name of the room doesn't do it!
We had packed everything and had it ready to move, but were waiting for our fevering daughter to wake up from her nap. They were relentlessly pressuring us that they HAD to have this room empty and cleaned for another guest arriving. We woke her- it wasn't pretty.
The next room was SO much better. Privately owned, fresh smelling, had a variety of dishes, and was decorated. My review would have been much higher if we had this room first. My impression is that they try to fill the rooms which aren't privately owned first. The pools were great, but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Upon check-in, verify that your room is privately owned and that it has never been a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Cindy L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us, We certainly are very disappointed to see that you did not have a great start to your vacation or thoroughly enjoy yourself to the extent that you and we expected. In regards to the first unit you were in I am terribly sorry this was your first impression of the Avista and am very disappointed that there would even be a question of if the unit was fully cleaned before your arrival. I can assure you this experience is not a typical one here at the Avista, but I am very happy that the staff was able to move you into a better upgraded unit that was more to your liking. I do want to inform you and all of our guests that each unit that we have on property is owned by an individual homeowner and that we do not actually own any of the units, we are just the on site management team. I do hope that you would be willing to give us another chance in the future to show you how great a stay with us can be and that this first experience was an anomaly. If you are willing to give us another chance I would welcome you contacting me when making your reservation so that I can ensure you and yours is taken care of. I look forward to speaking with you soon and hope you have a great end to the summer.

Warmest regards,

Zach Frazier
Front Office Manager
843-417-5511
zach.frazier@avistaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Front desk staff has wonderful personalities, and will go the extra mile to accommodate. Workout facility is very efficient, and rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are extremly comfortable, and onsite restaurant is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcclnt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear mcclnt45,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at the Avista Resort. I am thrilled to see that you had a great time with us and that our excellent staff was able to make a great impact on your stay. Thank you again for choosing Avista and we look forward to having the opportunity to host you and yours again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Found clumps of human hair on linens and under blankets in rooms. The double bed in one bedroom had been overlooked after the previous guest had checked out and needed maintenance and was not addressed until we called the front desk. This should have been fixed prior to our arrival. The king bed in the master suite needed attention from the engineering department and was not addressed prior to our arrival. Once we contacted the front desk these issues were corrected, but the inconvenience to our family was not appreciated. The mattress in the middle bedroom (the two double beds) was very uncomfortable for my adult daughter-it had a lump in the middle and this was not corrected during our stay.

Housekeeping needs to alert management when they notice a potential issue - e.g. the bed frame in one of the bedrooms had broken and was never noticed until after my daughter went to sleep the first night of our stay. Although the staff at the front desk seemed concerned, it did take awhile to get this fixed. Even though the staff seemed to attempt to keep the pool area clean, there was a lot of what appeared to be mold or some dark colored material along the edges of the hot tubs and along some edges of the pool. Guests were supposed to wear orange ID bracelets when at the pool. My family noticed many "guests" over the week that we were there without the bracelets and no one seemed to be checking on this. Water hoses were left out during the course of the day to "clean the pool area" and they were being played with by children, etc. and left along the span of the pool walkways which posed a tripping hazard. There did not seem to be any type of control in place to monitor activities around the pool area which led to many observed abuses, e.g. coolers with glass bottles, people reserving chairs for hours without using them, rough play in some of the pools which could have led to injury, babies in the pool without any form of diaper, etc. Maintenance to the showers on the decks coming off of the beach were broken until late in the week and there was a board missing on one of the walkways coming off the beach that should have never been left in that condition until repaired. Someone could have very easily had their foot get caught in the opening between the two adjacent boards.
Although the resort offers a nice location and a fairly good atmosphere at the beach, there are many concerns that should be addressed in order for us to consider this location at the top of our list for next summer.
We paid a lot of money to have had to experience some of the issues being brought up and will most likely need to think this option over very thoroughly before booking our trip next summer.

Room Tip: Corner rooms although more expensive have a clear view of the ocean in form all living areas and bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicMan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear MusicMan42,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent trip with us. While I wish your stay was much better I can assure you that we will be using your comments as training tools and ensuring that we make the changes to improve yours and all of our guest experience as enjoyable as possible.
In regards to the housekeeping issues that you faced, we are very sorry and we can assure you this is most certainly an anomaly and not indicative of the normal level of service that our staff provides. I also want to apologize that our pool attendants did not do a satisfactory job enforcing our pool rules and making sure that the pool area was as safe and clean as can be. This is something that has and will continue to be addressed with all of our departments so that we avoid any type of avoidable accidents. I did want to let you know that we appreciate your comments on the walkway to the beach we will have to pass along your comments to the city of North Myrtle Beach as that is their property and they would be responsible for the upkeep, but I will make sure this is something that if isn't already fixed will be immediately.
While I know you have a bad taste in your mouth, I would love if you gave us another chance to wow you as I am certain we can and would. If you had a moment please feel free to contact me anytime to discuss your previous stay or if yo would like to give us another chance.

Warmest regards,
Zach Frazier
Front Office Manager
843-417-5511
zach.frazier@avistaresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just returned from a 9 day stay at the Avista Resort and it was one of the best Myrtle Beach vacations we’ve ever had! This is our 2nd stay here and we highly recommend it to anyone! From our initial check-in when we arrived things started out great. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful, starting with Tim (yes, we remember his name bacause he really stood out!)that checked us in. His joking attitude was the perfect beginning to our trip! From the person that helped us unload and take the bags to our 2 rooms to the hard working housekeeping staff we constantly met in the hallways, they all made us feel welcome and appreciated.

I’ll admit, the parking in the garage directly across the street is a little tight, especially in a full size vehicle; but for those worried about it they also have a newly paved outdoor overflow parking lot as well next to the garage. They have both indoor and outdoor pools, lazy rivers and hot tubs with a large outdoor area around the pools with a bar. The young bartender working there was amazing to watch, working nonstop and keeping a positive attitude even with some rude guests. The ocean was just a walk across a couple of ramps with showers to clean the sand off when you returned. One day there was a DJ out by the pool to entertain and it was a lot of fun.

The rooms were large and comfortable with a perfect “beach” atmosphere. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the pool and the view of the ocean. Our rooms also had a washer & dryer so we kept up on laundry and didn’t have to pack as much and a dishwasher, which was nice! I saw another review complaining about there not being a restroom by the pool, but that’s not the Avista’s fault – it’s actually a local health department code about no restrooms on ground floors, probably in case of storm flooding (I saw a couple signs explaining this in the pool area).

Overall we HIGHLY recommend the Avista Resort and are looking forward to another visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Joe_Denise,

Thank you so much for the amazing and very detailed review of your recent stay with us here at the Avista Resort as well as your continued support and patronage. I am thrilled reading the many positives you had to say about your stay and I will be sure to make Tim and the rest of the staff aware that they were able to make a great impression on you at check in and throughout your stay as they are all great people and will certainly be happy to hear of their impact. Thank you again for choosing the Avista and we look forward to having the opportunity to host you and yours again as much as you are looking forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at Avista for 3 nights in Aug 2013 Overall experience is good. Some suggestions for a better experience wold be to have a restroom on pool floor..now you have to go to first floor above pool area. Location is great! Can walk to Main St NMB and shop and play.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BA_Rock_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear BA_Rock_Star,

Thank you very much for your review and suggestions as we certainly rely very heavily on guest feedback to make necessary improvements. While we know the restroom being on the first floor can be a bit of an inconvenience, we unfortunately had no choice when the building was made and were not allowed to put a restroom on the ground floor. If there was a better solution that would improve our guest experience we would most certainly make those changes. Thank you again for choosing the Avista and we cant wait to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our only complaint, after 4 days at Avista, was that the pools really are too small for the number of people that the resort can host. Combined with the fact that THREE of the "NINE" pools are simply hot tubs, and the kiddie pool is useless, even for most of the kiddies (there aren't a lot of LITTLE kids at this kind of resort), we were slightly disappointed by that. We would return in a heartbeat, if funds weren't an issue, and we know that the price of a cleaner, more upscale resort is it being a bit less kid friendly and a little more expensive. Surprisingly, the elevators weren't a MAJOR hassle, but we were on the fourth floor and used the stairs a LOT. The room was AWESOME.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Bernard S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to see that you had a fantastic time and that you felt the room was awesome. We do hate to see that you had any complaints after staying with us, but we do understand that the pool and beach areas can certainly get very busy in the heavy summer months. We cant wait for you to come back and join us again in the future and towards the end of September may be a great time for you and yours as the weather is still fantastic but the area and pool thins out slightly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,548 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,731 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,154 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing