We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place...”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avista Resort
Knightdale, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Great place...”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We loved this place form the second we saw it. Parking just across Ocean Blvd from the resort, and just steps from room to the beach. It was raining when we went :( BUT we were SO HAPPY that they had an indoor lazy river - 3 ft. that our younger son could stand up in (which he loved), also had a jacuzzi and 3'-5' smaller pool. We had planned on doing more in the beach, but due to cold, hard rain, we really couldn't and the indoor options (though crowded b/c others were thinking the same as us!) were so nice! This was our first visit to this resort and we loved everything! The rooms were so well kept-newer looking also-not like some others in the area. We've been to MB about every year at least once and stayed at MANY other places. This one we'll definitely be back to on our next visit! :)

Room Tip: a bit farther from Broadway at the Beach than we wanted, but due to it raining the whole time practi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and for choosing the Avista Resort. It sounds like you and your family don’t let a little bad weather bother you and you really enjoyed your time here, good for you, and hopefully next time you will stay with us again so our staff can show you their hospitality and you can make us Your vacation Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    614
    240
    129
    116
See reviews for
1,081
483
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

While in South Carolina to visit family, my wife, daughter and I had an extra day, so we decided to make an impromptu trip to the beach. When you decide on a Wednesday in August that you need a beachfront hotel on Friday, you need a little luck and a place like Avista Resort. With rooms filling up fast, I didn’t have much time to research hotels. I glanced at a few and found oceanfront rooms available at Avista, so I went for it. Even though we were only there for a night, this hotel definitely did the job.

First of all, our check-in was very smooth. We’d booked through AAA and were able to make a request for a crib online, so they had one reserved for us. Within a minute or two, we had our room keys and were ready to go. Upon arrival in the room, we were impressed with the size and layout of our one-bedroom suite. With a full living room and separate bedroom area, there was more than enough space to spread out and relax. The crib hadn’t been delivered yet, but with one call to the front desk, it was brought to the room promptly. We’d stepped out briefly for dinner, but upon return to the room, we found not only the crib, but a message on our room phone from hotel staff confirming that our request was fulfilled. Since we were only there for one night, we really didn’t need the fully stocked kitchen or in-room laundry equipment, it was definitely a convenience we’ll keep in mind for the next time we head to Myrtle Beach.

There is also something to be said about the beautiful views from the balconies of the oceanfront rooms. Since I’d paid more for oceanfront as opposed to “ocean view,” I was a bit skeptical when I found that our room was on the first floor. The good news is, the first floor is not “ground floor.” You’re elevated enough that your view is virtually unimpeded. Moreover, the pool facilities are extensive enough that we were able to keep our daughter entertained (and have a bit of fun ourselves) even with the persistent rain and unseasonably cool temperatures.

There were only two negatives that I found with the Avista. First of all, the parking facilities are not designed as well as I think they could have been. The main garage, as many have pointed out, is across the street. That isn’t a huge problem in and of itself, but in combination with the questionable layout of the “registration parking” area attached to the hotel, it was a bit of an inconvenience, especially given the weather. Also, regarding the pool area, I would suggest that the posted rules be more diligently enforced by hotel staff, if for no other reason than to avoid the inevitable lawsuit resulting from irresponsible parents allowing their 8- to 10-year-old children run full-speed around the facility and jumping into shallow water within a few feet of other guests. Neither of these issues were enough to tarnish our experience in any way, but I think they are worth mentioning.

Overall, I do recommend the Avista Resort. The area is beautiful and less crowded than you’d find in some of the southern areas of Myrtle Beach, but you still get the benefits of being in a full-service resort hotel that is convenient to activities and restaurants. I think that couples and families alike would find the Avista to be a great place to spend a night or a week.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money. Get an oceanfront room if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exterior_corridors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are also grateful you found us, thank you for choosing the Avista resort, and for taking the time to write about your stay. We are especially please de that you noticed our staff’s efforts as they do work hard. We do agree with the registration parking issue but with the required public parking on both sides we are not able to build a drive through. I do hope our bellmen were available to assist you getting out as it is difficult at times.

We do hope you get to come back for a longer stay and talk with our Front Desk staff about the many fun things to do in North Myrtle Beach. Thank you again for all your wonderful insight into your vacation with us.

We hope to see you and your family back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay. This was our first time staying here and I would definitely reccomend a stay. We came for our "baby moon" and was not disappointed. Loved the pool bar and the views were spectacular. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. We will definitely be coming back for a visit. will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Avista Resort for your stay. We are grateful you had a wonderful time and hope this is the first of many visits with us and that you make us your vacation home for the future. Thank you also for noting our staff’s efforts and again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The only thing we found to be unsatisfactory was that one of the showers coming in from the beach didn't work. Otherwise, I only have good things to say.
Check-in was painless and quick. Our room was nice & clean with plenty of room for our party of 5. The beds were quite comfortable. We stayed on the 2nd floor over the pool area but noise was not a problem.
The kids loved the pools and lazy river. The beach was easily accessible. There are places to eat and things to do within walking distance of the hotel.
This may be our go-to place in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famof5mayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us and for the positive comments. The hotel rooms are amazingly quite, thanks for noticing, and we are grateful you and your kids had a wonderful time.

We also appreciated the comments about the beach access. We have since gotten the proper replacements handles and have repaired all the walkovers foot wash and showers.

Please come back again if not because we are one of North Myrtle Beaches best destinations, we think so, then because we have the best foot washes around, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Resort was decent, overall the room was ok. Can tell it is an older place. Not overly impressed with parking situation, the parking deck is across the street which makes it hard to cross back and forth with kids just to get to and from the car/resort. Overall it was an okay stay but I don't think we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbound7702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time to Mrytle Beach and I came across the Avista Resort on the internet. The price was very reasonable for the week. Our room was great and very roomy. We liked having a kitchen, the space and the oceanfront room. Everyone was very nice that we encountered. We even decided to stay an extra night and it was no problem to stay in the room we had been in all week. We liked the location of the resort and not being in the busy area. I think they could use some more elvators for 17 stories, but it wasn't too bad. My main concern was the parking garage, it was hard to have two cars going in opposite directions and parking was limited. Overall we loved it! We plan on coming back again next year and I would reccomend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Great news that you found us and I do trust this won’t be your last visit with us! Since we are a CondoTel versus a regular Hotel you get normally more than twice the square footage with a separate bedroom and living room along with a small kitchen. It is a surprise at first then you wonder why you would go back to a normal hotel room again. Thank you for taking the time to write and letting us know you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was one of the first places to live up to my expectations! Having been in the business for years I am quite picky. Avista was what they advertised. It was clean, the staff was very nice, caring, and helpful. We stayed there a week and will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are very appreciative of your efforts to let us know our staff has done its job well. We do appreciate criticism but it is especially appreciated when someone stops to say we di d our job. Our staff truly appreciates the job we are fortunate to be able to have and the many wonderful guests we meet in our lives.

We look forward to your return and know we will do our best then as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,075 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,474 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,687 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,091 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia and Cancelon so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing