We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in and the kids will enjoy it”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avista Resort
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay in and the kids will enjoy it”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay. This was our first time staying here and I would definitely reccomend a stay. We came for our "baby moon" and was not disappointed. Loved the pool bar and the views were spectacular. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. We will definitely be coming back for a visit. will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Avista Resort for your stay. We are grateful you had a wonderful time and hope this is the first of many visits with us and that you make us your vacation home for the future. Thank you also for noting our staff’s efforts and again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    632
    245
    131
    117
See reviews for
1,118
490
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The only thing we found to be unsatisfactory was that one of the showers coming in from the beach didn't work. Otherwise, I only have good things to say.
Check-in was painless and quick. Our room was nice & clean with plenty of room for our party of 5. The beds were quite comfortable. We stayed on the 2nd floor over the pool area but noise was not a problem.
The kids loved the pools and lazy river. The beach was easily accessible. There are places to eat and things to do within walking distance of the hotel.
This may be our go-to place in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famof5mayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us and for the positive comments. The hotel rooms are amazingly quite, thanks for noticing, and we are grateful you and your kids had a wonderful time.

We also appreciated the comments about the beach access. We have since gotten the proper replacements handles and have repaired all the walkovers foot wash and showers.

Please come back again if not because we are one of North Myrtle Beaches best destinations, we think so, then because we have the best foot washes around, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Resort was decent, overall the room was ok. Can tell it is an older place. Not overly impressed with parking situation, the parking deck is across the street which makes it hard to cross back and forth with kids just to get to and from the car/resort. Overall it was an okay stay but I don't think we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbound7702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time to Mrytle Beach and I came across the Avista Resort on the internet. The price was very reasonable for the week. Our room was great and very roomy. We liked having a kitchen, the space and the oceanfront room. Everyone was very nice that we encountered. We even decided to stay an extra night and it was no problem to stay in the room we had been in all week. We liked the location of the resort and not being in the busy area. I think they could use some more elvators for 17 stories, but it wasn't too bad. My main concern was the parking garage, it was hard to have two cars going in opposite directions and parking was limited. Overall we loved it! We plan on coming back again next year and I would reccomend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Great news that you found us and I do trust this won’t be your last visit with us! Since we are a CondoTel versus a regular Hotel you get normally more than twice the square footage with a separate bedroom and living room along with a small kitchen. It is a surprise at first then you wonder why you would go back to a normal hotel room again. Thank you for taking the time to write and letting us know you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was one of the first places to live up to my expectations! Having been in the business for years I am quite picky. Avista was what they advertised. It was clean, the staff was very nice, caring, and helpful. We stayed there a week and will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are very appreciative of your efforts to let us know our staff has done its job well. We do appreciate criticism but it is especially appreciated when someone stops to say we di d our job. Our staff truly appreciates the job we are fortunate to be able to have and the many wonderful guests we meet in our lives.

We look forward to your return and know we will do our best then as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am a pretty picky person when it comes to hotels...just ask my husband. I read a lot of reviews before making our reservations at Avista. My biggest concerns after reading the reviews were the parking garage, the check in process, and the elevators. First off, check in was a breeze. We arrived a little late, around 8 pm. Maybe if you check in earlier in the day it is a problem, but I was the only one in the lobby and the two clerks were friendly and efficient. Second, the parking garage. Yes, it is poorly designed and some of the mirrors used for blind spots need replaced ASAP. But if you are careful it is no problem. I went up to the 5th floor because I did not want to squeeze into a tiny spot. Plenty of parking spots up on higher floors, and with the elevator it's not an issue. Third, we NEVER had a long wait for the elevators (hotel or garage)... And the hotel was just about fully booked when we were there. Longest wait was maybe 5 minutes.
Our room was on 15th floor and it was spotless. Beds were amazing. It was a little hard to regulate the room temp as the bedroom didn't seem to have its own AC, but it was no biggie. The balcony was huge and the view great. Minimal noise from neighbors.
The pool area was jammed and chaotic during the day, but not bad in the evenings. I ordered food from the pool side cafe and it took forever for part of our order to come out...the bartender gave us our money back without us asking. My husband went to the bar on the 4th floor every night and enjoyed that, he said the bartender was great. The beach was crowded but it is really wide so there was plenty of room.
North Myrtle Beach was great, but the traffic heading south on 17 towards Myrtle Beach and beyond was horrible. We took a trip to Charleston to go to Fort Sumter...it took 3 hours each way. Won't be doing that again!
Suggestions would be to put some lighting in along the walkways to the beach for evening walks.
We loved our stay at Avista!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhlumyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
First let me thank you for taking the time to read up about the Avista and for knowing all the comments do not accurately reflect this property. I do also appreciate the insight and the recommendation, I have never thought about lighting the cross over, they are on City property but it may be an option, thank you. We have also order replacement mirrors and the alignment should already have taken place on the Parking Garage mirrors.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Avista Resort and we do hope you choose to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel was clean and our room was nice and quiet. Pool area gets very crowded. If you don't get out to the pool first thing, you don't get a lounge chair. Room had a washer/dryer combo which was a nice surprise. It was not mentioned in the list of amenities. Staff was professional and I felt welcomed. We had a great stay and will definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive comments on our staff, I love passing thee along, as it does make our staff feel great about what they do. We have a wonderful team and seeing positive comments, when we are so busy is appreciated. Our pools do get crowded and can be tough at certain times of the day and we do appreciate your understanding this. We don’t have any room for more furniture but if you come back next month for some great weather and plenty of pool chairs! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,547 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,730 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,152 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing