We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for big families staying a fweek...”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avista Resort
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We chose North Myrtle Beach because we wanted a little less hectic pace than downtown MB and wanted to be on the beach, but we found the hotel overwhelming, especially for a one-night stay. Check-in was chaotic, you had to pull your car into an underground garage and then take an elevator to the lobby area. The elevators are insufficient to accomodate the high volume of people that are using them to get to the check-in area, beach, pool, rooms, and restaurants. The hotel is threadbare and common areas not clean. Our room was clean when we arrived and would have been good value for a LARGE family as there were pull-out beds and sofas, plus a full kitchen and living room in our "apartment." For two people for one night, the $250 price tag was ridiculous. We had an ocean front room with a big patio; however, the chairs on the patio were cheap plastic and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front room. the view and patio are nice, but bring your own beach chairs for comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giselle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i have stayed here several times, last year was not the best, but we decided to give it another shot.

Checkin time was chaotic, but no biggie. Housekeepin was not good. We stayed s full week and they did a horrible job "cleaning room" . Refrigerator was acting up on arrival, maint. Guy was a jerk...acted as if we were bothering him. Also the hotel had booked a family reunion who's family had horrible manners. Quality of service and guests have gone down hill....maybe its just the economy. The nail in the coffin was we were standing by the checkin when one of the guests dropped off his friends while playin offensive rap music and generaly acting line idiots. If you have a family pay more and stay somewhere else. Its a shame.....used to be a great place

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redjeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Been coming here for the last 5 years, did not come last year. This year looking forward to a nice week vacation. Housekeeping was not good. They would not clean the room until 4 pm and did not vac the room for 3 straight days. Also had to take the trash out ourselves. Also the place has apparently turned ghetto.....felt like we were in the hood. Very rude guests with no respect for family. Never again. This place is headed for the dump....stay elsewhere if you have a family

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank darrell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel was clean and neat, well situated so you did not feel cramped. The Avista offered great services. One issue I had was the bar/restaurant by the pool closed very early, I had to go to the fourth floor if anyone in my party wanted a drink. The restaurants closed at 9. whereas in the baywatch hotel, they had a restaurant open to 11:00pm. The location was within walking distance to town. The way the hotel was built (a semi-U shape) the sound of the people in the pool echoed and could be quite loud, especially if you stayed in the oceanfront rooms.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well this was trip no. 4 for my family to the Avista. (Aug. 22 - Aug. 29 2012).

I can honestly tell you, that it will be the last. We don't complain, who wants to get upset on their vacaton?. As a repeat guest of the Avista, i can honestly tell you that the up keep, and services have been on the decline, over the past 5 years. Rooms not cleaned properly, appliances that act up, door locks that do not work, elevators that do not work for days on end, with a note taped to the elevator doors, but NO apology. Some staff, that act like we are a bother to them. Why is the resort manager so hard to see in person? Come on people, you are in the hospitality business: "the friendly reception and treatment of guests or strangers". Myself Being in the automotive service retail industry, you have to know when, and how to keep your guests happy, and coming back, Avista, you have failed to do this!



















but really, what's going on there? We think they

Room Tip: Make friends fast with the front counter staff, and look behind the couch and beds before you unpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macclan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

First I do want to apologize for the lack of attention and if you can contact me or give me a room number so I can look into these issues. I only know of the Parking Garage elevator being out overnight but I am not aware of other issue nor you attempt to talk with a Manager but I would very much like to respond to your concerns. We have staff 24/7 to handle issue and your having a lock issue concerns me and I would like to look into this so we don't show this lack of response in the future. Again please accept my apologies and thank you for taking the time to comment so we can be aware of where we let one of our guests down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Avista Resort was a last minute decision and turned out great! The rooms were very quiet, clean, and exceeded our expectations. We were greeted at check-in and throughout our stay with exceptional services. The resort was very clean, fun, and relaxing. We were surprised to have a DJ poolside on Saturday, that kept the atmosphere fun and inviting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had an experience I will never forget...Woman with housekeeping cart showed up at door on non-scheduled housekeeping day saying she was only picking up trash that day...(hotel staff will give you dates of maid svc upon ck-in). She hurriedly pushed way into room and proceeded into bedroom and half-way closed dr behind her, in about 30 seconds I thought to myself that she did not have on housekeeping uniform nor name badge as the lady the day before, so I pushed open the door and woman was going thru my pocketbook/billfold that was lying on extra bed...long story short I called front desk and they sent 2 men up immediately and We finally located her. The housekeeping floor supervisor(s) did not know this woman and called police...she was arrested. Not sure how she obtained the housekeeping cart but evidently she had worked in the business before and knew what she was doing. So be careful anywhere you stay! This could happen anywhere!

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor was noisy with water pipes and A/C units all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 594KarenB594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,616 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
154 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $100 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing