We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avista Resort”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avista Resort
Almond, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avista Resort”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family and I rented a 2 bedroom/2 bath ocean front condo recently. It was absolutely fabulous. I feel for the price we got an awesome room. The view was great. The kitchen was stocked with your basic cooking utensils and appliances so you could cook your meals and save a bit of money by not eating out every meal. Our unit also had a washer and dryer which I loved. I hate coming home only to do a weeks worth of laundry, so this was a great bonus. The room was clean comfortable and conveniently located. Many restaurants and attractions were within walking distance. My only "complaint" would be the restaurant and lounge onsite were not the greatest. The lounge smelled TERRIBLE; a stale old cigarette smoke/moldy smell. The restaurant was ok. Food and service were pretty good; although if the resort combined these two facilities and put more effort into making one great lounge/restaurant I think they would do a whole lot better. The pools were good. The pool bar was good; good service. The check in process was slow; they could've use 1-2 more employees to check-in the guests; as it was quite busy at 5pm. Overall our experience at The Avista Resort was great and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vettegirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    631
    244
    131
    117
See reviews for
1,116
490
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If someone told me I could stay here for "free," I wouldn't! To begin, be prepared to pull your own trash, change your own linens, and go to the front desk when you need towels and/or bath tissue, if when you booked you received the "LOS" or "Best available rate." With this rate you do not receive housekeeping services, so you are responsible for the cleaning of your own room. We had to find this out from a manager after being told on four separate occasions by the front desk staff and housekeeping that someone would come by daily to pull the trash and switch out the towels. Even after the manager found out that we were told this by her staff and by housekeeping, she didn't offer alternatives to resolving the issue. We arrived back to our room to find the towels and tissue sitting in the hallway outside our door! Seriously???? For the amount of money you pay to stay here, this is absolutely ridiculous! As for the room, the kitchen sink was missing the stopper, the bulb in the lamp was burned out, the large burner on the oven was broken, there was hair and blood on one of the pillows in the bedroom (I managed to find a housekeeper in the hallway who was nice enough to bring us another pillow). This has been the worse vacation ever! So long Avista...you will never have to worry about seeing us again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Always-on-d-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We do apologize for the confusion and the frustration you felt with your stay. We do offer many different option to serve our guests and one of the rate options is "weekly" this is for guests who do not wish housekeeping and we pass the savings on to them with a lower rate. This is the rate you selected and it did not come with any housekeeping services. We do Offer LOS or Best Available(BAR) and they have different levels of housekeeping and cost, again so our guest can choose the plan that suits them. I know when you are looking for the best deal, and who isn't, we sometimes miss some of the details as we are focused on the rate. We do understand your frustration but you did not get reduced service but you did get the rate plan you agreed to which included no housekeeping service. We certainly should have done a better job of highlighting that for you as I am certain you would have felt better knowing what to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Wow! This was my first time visiting Myrtle Beach. My sister and I searched the internet sites to determine where to stay. After numerous sites and reviews, we decided to go with Avista. We realize that people will have different opinions but from what we could gather, this was the place to be.

Avista was a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean, all the equipment worked properly, the view was breathtaking. Upon arrival and check-out, the staff was very polite and helpful. We loved the location and had considered extending our stay.

Probably the only thing that may have been a little annoying was that the parking garage was a little cramped and was located across the street. But, they allowed you to load and unload on the property (registration parking for 20 minutes). Also, it seemed that the elevators would pass up your floor initially and then return to pick you up. (Didn't quite understand that)

However, neither of those small things ruin our experience. I plan to visit again and will choose this resort hands down!

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunrise, choose the North Tower. If you want to see the sunset, choose the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Clean rooms, with great service, plenty of things to do. Bar at Pool, Music and entertainment the whole time. lazy river, pools, hot tubs, a great place to stay......Had a great time ready 2 go back.I would recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Front desk was helpful in getting our boys a room higher up, which thrilled them to no end. I liked that armbands were given, and these were needed in the pool areas. The workout facility on site was available with the room key, and both a lounge & restaurant (somewhat pricey, but comprable) both located in the building. My son swears those were the BBQ wings he had EVER HAD IN HIS WHOLE LIFE! (he is all of 10,lol). The room was comfortable and we were able to cut down on expenses by eating in room ( fully stocked kitchen, including dishwasher). While this is NOT the Ritz,(look elsewhere if that's what u want), it was a pleasant stay in what felt like a very safe area, and within walking distance to lots of local shops. But you are coming for the beach right? Hop, skip, ( no jump necessary) and u are there. Beach chairs & umbrellas available. We would stay again, without a doubt. A great family getaway.

Room Tip: For just a few dollars more, go oceanview, the sound alone is worth it. But we were able to watch do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Avista is a real resort. I would recommend this resort to friends and family. The oceanfront 1 bedroom condo we rented was very big with plently of space. Very clean, The outdoor pools, hot tubs, and lazy river was a big hit for my son. We were on the 12th floor so when it was time for bed....I was worried about the noise factor.....but there was not a bit of noise. very peaceful. very relaxing vaction. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is just "okay". It has two very small outdoor pools, hot tub, one kiddy pool with mushroom, and an outdoor lazy river. Inside there is a small pool, hot tub, and lazy river. The room we stayed in is very outdated. We experienced a rocking toilet in one bathroom and the towel rack kept falling off the wall. The first coffee cup I pulled out of the cabinet leaked from an invisible crack. The couch was damp -- I guess they shampooed it prior to our arrival? The dryer barely dried your clothes all the way. The outdoor bars were only open from 11-5. And, when you come back from the beach and want to rinse off, there are waterhoses with holes in them -- it didn't work well.

Now, having said that here are the positives: The staff was EXCELLENT! Every staff member we encountered was very polite and ready to accommodate us. When we called about the rocking toilet, they immediately sent someone to repair it and it was fine after that. From check in staff to those we met in the hallways, every single one was very polite and seemed happy to be working there. That was very impressive! It is a safe area. There are some great little eateries within walking distance.

Will I stay here again? Probably not. But, if you are looking for a budget friendly, pretty clean, and safe place then this may be for you. If you want something with more ammenities & a nicer interior, then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank proshopper112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,543 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,728 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing