We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day nightmare”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avista Resort
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Memorial Day nightmare”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Memorial Day weekend 2012 was very uneasy. The motorcycles were everywhere. The motorcycle riders had on vest that made them look like they were in gangs. The Avista let the motorcycles park anywhere they wanted, they let them park in the loading zone over night. The profanity was so bad we were afraid. I know that weekend is bike week for Atlantic Beach but it looked like the Avista Resort were trying to have their own bike weekend. I always thought the Avista was a family resort, but Memorial Day weekend is black biker weekend. We checked in on Thursday and left early Saturday because of the noise and the rude bikers. Advice to the Avista, don't encourage the bikers to stay at your resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    614
    240
    130
    116
See reviews for
1,082
483
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the Avista for my daughter's 4th birthday and the staff did something to make her feel special everyday. Can't beat the weekly condo rates for that level of hotel. Outdoor pools and lazy river and close beach access. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Checked into room 614...immediately smelled the industrial strength cleaner smell which should have been a trigger that they were trying to cover something up. Sure enough, after an hour with the patio doors open to air out the smell the cleaner scent wore off to reveal a horrible urine smell. Had to switch to a new room in a new tower. Room 632. When time came to go to bed unrolled the Murphy Bed and once again...urine smell. One of our family ended up staying on floor two nights. Avista gave us 10% off because they couldn't compensate more because they had to "meet compensation limits for the condo owners." At the end of the day this hotel is cheap, over crowded, outdated, and there are way too many other options in north myrtle beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddubie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are sorry for the negative feelings left by the odor issue. We did go to the unit and though we did not find the cause for any smell we are thinking that our chemicals could have been partially at fault, Can you give us a better location for the odor you found so we can ensure it is not there. I have never heard anyone refer to some limit due to our being a Condo-tel nor does such a thing exist. We moved you as the unit you were in was not up to your standards and gave you a discount for your inconvenience and had thought that you were satisfied with our efforts to resolve your problem. I am truly sorry this did not but we will attempt to resolve the issue you found so no other guest is inconvenienced and do appreciate your letting us know of the issue upon your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The only reason I gave it a 4 is because of the "concierge". We kept receiving notices that we needed to see the "concierge" and that he could arrange special ticket packages with special prices. The only way he could arrange the special prices for shows was if we went on " the tour "which was to view timeshares at their sister hotels and have them show us what options are available. He actually told us a show that we wanted to see was sold out on Tue and Wed nights, but if we went on "the tour" he could get us in. We told him we were not interested in " the tour ". He was not able to arrange for any tickets or shows and told us we needed to see the front desk, they could get us tickets. The front desk was able to get us tickets for Wed night with great seats and at a lower price than the "concierge" told us they would cost. He was not a concierge just some one trying to sell timeshares. Go to the front desk and they will gladly make ticket arrangements or you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlwlawrmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have to say I saw more people working here than any other resort we have stayed in, it was very clean and kept up. The only downside is the pools are on the small side for the amount of rooms they have available. I did have a couple of calls to the front desk that didn't get results, but overall a very nice stay....in room 324

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftigal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I took this trip with some friends of mine, for a quick weekend away. Our room was very comfortable with a cute kitchen. We had come prepared with coffee, but were pleasantly surprised that the hotel supplied us with coffee and filters. (It's the little things.) The beds were comfortable, and we had a nice sitting room. I think the best thing about it is the proximity to the beach. Our trip from the room to having toes-in-sand was only minutes! We were there on a Saturday, and they had a DJ playing party music. It was a little bit loud, to be honest, but otherwise the pool area was nice. (Note to hotel: you have signs saying, Do not reserve chairs by the pool!" but people are doing it anyway...) Overall, it was a great trip. Affordable, close, and comfortable!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1 and 2 (and possibly 3?) have a bridge across, and aren't in the towers. That means ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissadell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowman sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a great place to go for family vacation. There's something for all ages to do. there was a pool size for all my grands, great. the rooms were very clean and smelled good. The staff was so friendly. What ever u needed it was give to u or brought to your room promptly. highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ocean Front 3 bedroom 3 bath on the 17th floor room 1720.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanaboobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,475 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,687 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Vacatia and Cancelon so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing