We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How To Get The Most Out of Avista Resort”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avista Resort
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“How To Get The Most Out of Avista Resort”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Avista Resort saved my vacation! Literally! We had booked what was touted as a fantastic room at another resort in South Myrtle Beach that specialized in family vacations. We showed up and the area was more like Sturgis than Myrtle Beach. The room was a hole and the customer service couldn't have been worse. I quickly got our money back and got the heck out of there. It was suggested to me that we head up to North Myrtle Beach where it wasn't "dumpy". So, we did. North Myrtle Beach was much more calm, had it's own activities and was a very short drive to anything we may have wanted to do in South Myrtle Beach (which was nothing). We drove past Avista and gave them a call. They had a room/condo that was a little more expensive than what we had booked in SMB but the place had the ammenities we wanted so we went for it. Good move on our part!

Tip 1. - The front desk staff was very friendly and very accommodating. We booked over the phone while we were in the parking lot, went in to check in and asked for a higher floor. Other places would act put out but not Avista. Dea (yes, his name is DEA but pronounced Dee short for his real name) immediately looked and found us a room on the 16th floor with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The Avista is right on the ocean so I am pretty sure every room has this but the higher you get, the more breathtaking the view. I watched people coordinate all kinds of special requests at the check-in desk and no one had any attitude or said no. I also saw a couple tell Dea's co-worker they came because she was highly recommended to them by someone in their town. This staff was exceptional.

Tip 2 - The lounge has half price appetizers from 4-6 and they are very good. We fed 3 our kids a ton of food several times for $20. Kids aren't allowed in the lounge so you have to take it back up to your room but that was no problem.

Tip 3 - The rooms sleep MANY! Our room had 2 beds in the bedroom but also had a double murphy bed and a fold out double sofa bed.

Tip 4 - The washer/dryer works well but takes a whole day pretty much so don't expect a "quick" clean.

Tip 5 - The concierge is selling timeshare so use the front desk for questions. They have just as many answers. If you don't reserve but rent a room on the spot you won't get on the concierge call list. That was a good thing. He was nice but got a little snippy.

Tip 6 - If you are a family, stay here. With 2 lazy rivers, pools, 3 jacuzzis, large bathtubs, the ocean on property, the fully equipped kitchenettes, the friendly staff, inexpensive food, etc. Avista is the perfect choice when coming to the South Carolina coast. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. A small room sleeps 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdaptiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    631
    244
    131
    117
See reviews for
1,116
490
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

is a good place for rest, excellent view and a lot fun.
we recommend this hotel

Room Tip: floor 9; front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessy_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at avista, I have stayed here at least 2 to 3 times a year for the paast 5 years and I know what I am getting; Quality and comfort for my money. I would recommend this resort for anyone who likes getting there moneys worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Avista Resort several times and really enjoy it. Our recent stay had us in a one bedroom condo on the top floor. The unit was recently updated with granite counters and a nice flat screen hi-def TV. It was nicely decorated and had a beautiful view of the ocean. At first, I thought it was going to be a pain to get to the beach, the car, etc. due to waiting for elevators to get to/from the 17th floor. That proved not to be a problem at all. My only recommendation would be for some sort of shopping cart like tools to get stuff (such as food and drink) from the car in the parking garage across the street to the room. They have luggage carts, but they are difficult to manuever and really not worth fighting to control in/out of elevators. Maintainance staff can be seen all day long working throughout the property. There is a nice pool side bar, but it's really not open very long (11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.). Would love to see the poolside bar opened into evening hours to enjoy a cocktail poolside after a long day at the beach or on the golf course. All in all, I highly recommend a vist to the Avista.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmersville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We loved everything about this resort. The kids had a blast and so did we!

Room Tip: I called a few days before and they were able to get us a room with a washer and dryer in it. That h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just got back yesterday after spending 7 nights at this resort. We have previously stayed at the sister resort, Seaside that is several miles south of this one. Not sure if all the condos in this building are owned by individuals or some buy the property.

I am not including out first 2 days in this review because it was black biker week(which we were aware of prior to booking) and the resort was extremely loud and streets/parking lot was a mess of people hanging out all over with no control at all (the ground floor of the parking lot was just dangerous, people walking all over, bikes everywhere and I had to use extreme caution not to hit any one). Seems like they all had fun though.

Guest Relations/Employees/Cleaning staff 10/10-Check in was smooth and the employees were fantastic, always said hello, whether it was the cleaning people or bus boys in the ground floor garage. They always helped in opening the doors or elevators when you had luggage or beach stuff etc. Cleaning staff was great, always had extra towels and they always left dishwasher soap for us. Not a speck of sand left on the carpet of floors after our beach trips.

Rooms 4/10- We had a 1 bedroom/1 bath suite with a full kitchen. It was kind of small for the $$ we paid. It could fit 4, but that would be very tight space wise and personally I would not rent that suite with 4 people. The bed was horrible, definitely the worst bed we have ever slept on at a vacation spot. It was soft, uncomfortable and we did not sleep well at all during this trip. Our backs were killing us every morning. The tv's were old, its 2012 resort general manager, not 1992, at least get some low end flat screen tv's in there. Bathrooms were clean and so was the kitchen. The iron was just wrong, it was connected to a wire string and was difficult to use as a result, plus the ironing board was very old and it looked it. The rooms were quiet and we could not here the next room on either side. HVAC was excellent.

Pools 8/10-The pool area was clean, quite large (room wise and chairs), although the 2 pools themselves were small. The lazy river was quite large and used a lot by kids.

Location 10/10- You couldn't ask for a better location right on the beach and close to everything.

Value- 5/10- not a great value for what you get. At $161 with tax per night, the bed should be decent. We didn't complain (and maybe that was our mistake) because I highly doubt we would have gotten another room just based on the amount of people there.

We did not have an opportunity to eat at any of their restaurants.

Overall- This was a good, clean resort, however, just based on our extremely uncomfortable bed issue, I would not go back to this resort ever. I would suggest looking in to the Seaside Resort, one of their sister properties. I gave it an average rating based on the other positive experiences we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankiemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night (it should have been a week). There are not a lot of attractions in the area, but with a fabulous hotel with everything in it you could wish for, why would you want any. Great stay and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 17th floor. The view was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,543 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,728 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing