We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like cockroaches races, this is the place for you”
Review of Castaway Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Beach Inn
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“if you like cockroaches races, this is the place for you”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We rented three rooms for a family reunion. All three had a serious cockroach infestation. One room had a window in a bathroom that would not close. The bathroom became flooded when a summer storm came through. Nasty place. Location was fine, they gave us our money back for 2 of the 3 nights. I think they changed their name because of reviews.

Room Tip: we were on the side. Watch for cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZBracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    21
    15
    43
See reviews for
70
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The management was very helpful while we were dealing with a crisis. Upon arrival, the manager allowed us to check in 4 hours early due to the fact that we had to get our van repaired. They gave us the name of a local mechanic they often used and he came and got the van from the lot. They offered to take us to a car rental place but the repairs were made in 4 hours. The accommodations were nice, the room (with a small kitchen, microwave and refrigerator) served our basic needs, while the hotel was close to restaurants and local pub within walking distance. Pool was very clean and we had easy access to the beach. We will definitely use them again. Located near the center of North Myrtle with great seafood choices and grocery stores near by.

Room Tip: Upper levels have better view of beach rather than lower level side view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

When my husband and I stayed here in late March, we personally enjoyed it and I didn't see why so many people had issues. We had actually reserved a room at another hotel, and arriving there much later than expected, the other hotel refused to keep the room for us, and instead they transferred the reservation to this hotel. We got there at twelve at night, and they actually stuck the key in the mailbox for us, instead of just telling us we were SOL! I was kind of skeptical, not having seen the reviews, and this being a motel, but it really exceeded my expectations. It was clean, comfortable, bug free, all appliances were working, no shady characters. The pool was currently undergoing construction, but I doubt it would've been very fun that time of year anyway. Its away from the crowds and noise of the Grand Strand in Myrtle Beach, the area is less developed, and there are great shells right outside your door. Even better, since this is a smaller motel, every room is oceanfront.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Everything that the agent said when I called to book was true..it was quiet, clean, on the beach..very comfortable. .I would definitely stay there again..it was close to restaurant s and shopping and nice balconies to sit and enjoy. .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank stan6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staff was friendly pool was clean everyone accommodating rooms clean and nice will return again next year beach location great liked new paint and updates on motel can't wait to see swim up bar next year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Allegany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Picture is old. No heated pool. My "efficiency" had no working microwave, no utensils, 1 cup, no mugs, dirty cracked/chipped plates. Noisy air conditioner/heater. Lazy river not clean. Live-ins on premises noisy & ?able. Poorly lit. No breakfast, no coffee maker. Front desk staff incompetent & "not my job" types. Saw 2 vacationers having major issues on check-in...both left for other accommodations. New "swim up" will be for alcoholic beverages. Do they really want a bunch of drunks hanging out at a "family motel"? STAY AWAY! This is not "By The Sea" 2013 visits do not describe "Castaway Beach".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mbchmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beach front location nice. Carpet filty, water running down walls, noisy a/c. The web site is very deceiving. Rooms look nothing like what the web site post. Very noisy, lots of construction. We were not told all the construction was going on when we made the reservations. Pool not open and the lazy river was very dirty. Management not very friendly!!! We had to go round and round with lady on duty about our room. Requested 2nd floor and she wanted to put us on 1st floor. When you looked out sliding glass doors all you saw was broken concrete and pile of dirt. Would not recommend this place to any one!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Dink D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,223 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#20 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Beach Inn

Property: Castaway Beach Inn
Address: 1717 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castaway Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing