We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!!! Do not waste you time or money!!!”
Review of Castaway Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Beach Inn
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful!!!!! Do not waste you time or money!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beach front location nice. Carpet filty, water running down walls, noisy a/c. The web site is very deceiving. Rooms look nothing like what the web site post. Very noisy, lots of construction. We were not told all the construction was going on when we made the reservations. Pool not open and the lazy river was very dirty. Management not very friendly!!! We had to go round and round with lady on duty about our room. Requested 2nd floor and she wanted to put us on 1st floor. When you looked out sliding glass doors all you saw was broken concrete and pile of dirt. Would not recommend this place to any one!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Dink D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    21
    15
    42
See reviews for
70
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Beach front location is nice. However, save your money and DO NOT STAY HERE unless you see it first. Just received a new color brochure advertising Castaway Beach Inn. A new name does not a decent hotel make. New brochure last year lured us in and we spent 3 miserable days there and extra charges on our bill. Unless a new pool was installed, it is NOT A HEATED POOL. Dirty stained carpets. Bed up on phone books. Mold in bathroom. Stove & coffee pot did not work.Very limited utensils and dishes.The only way to improve it is to tear it down to the ground and start over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Not family, friendly!!! Please don't be bring kids!! It is a dump!! People live on site and the pictures online are not how it looks in person!! The rooms are all in one so if you take kids you will need a second room. No bath tub, only stand up showers, unhappy!! I would not recommend to any one!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank unhappyMBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

originally found this place while looking for a place to stay with a small dog. It is not a fancy place, but was clean and the staff friendly. It reminded me of coming to North Myrtle Beach as a kid. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana76713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Yes the price was decent but this place was a dump. Needs to be condemned. Carpet stunk and stained, bed linens were damaged. Terrible odor. One of the maids wanted to fight over a kite that got stuck on our balcony. Said it was hers and she was going to get it. Overall the motel looked like we were in the getto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Rock, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Another hotel sent us here for one night because of confusion with our reservation. Bikers partying all night, BBQing in the parking lot, and letting off fireworks. Could not have slept even if we had been comfortable and felt safe. We had a kitchenette. Sparing amount of dishes and one spoon. Loud window A/C. Fleas in one of the beds. NEVER AGAIN! Please do not stay here especially if you have children!!!! We tried to check out at 7 a.m. but no one was in the office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It isn't the Ritz Carleton but served the purpose.Clean rooms,housekeeping I felt was very good,always got clean towels,nice view with private balcony.Friendly staff.Depends what you're looking for,but I found rates affordable.Had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,222 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,108 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#20 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Beach Inn

Property: Castaway Beach Inn
Address: 1717 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582 (Formerly By the Sea Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaway Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Castaway Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing