We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome dolphin tour!!”

Thomas Outdoors Water Sports - Anchor Marina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thomas Outdoors Watersports is located on the waterway in North Myrtle Beach, nestled in between the small fishing village of Little River and Cherry Grove Beach. With over 25 years in the watersports industry we can confidently say that we offer the Grand Strand's finest in watersports rentals. Our staff will make you feel safe and comfortable. You will take home not only great memories but great friends. Whether you are taking out a pontoon boat to Bird Island for the day or ripping through the water on a jet ski, you will most definitely leave with a smile.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Awesome dolphin tour!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We decided to take the 2 hour dolphin tour. I had never been on a jet ski before, so needless to say, I was extremely nervous. Before we went out on the jet skis, they went over all of the safety measures and the distance to be kept between each jet ski (I was most nervous on being too close to another jet ski). They continued throughout the entire trip to space us out accordingly and never pressured you to go faster than you felt comfortable. Seeing all of the dolphins was a breathtaking experience! I could not believe how many dolphins we were able to see and how close we were able to get. After seeing the dolphins we stopped on an island for a break, this was also beautiful and very enjoyable. We really liked how friendly they were and how they always put safety first! Overall, this was our favorite part of our vacation and will be going back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    7
    1
    3
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Safe, Fun and Worth Every Penny!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

On August 14, 2012, my family and I decided to go on the private dolphin jet ski tour offered by Thomas’s Outdoor Watersports. We had a great time! There were 7 people in our party and the tour guide went through the safety elements of running a jet ski. 5 people in our group had never driven one before. Once we went through safety elements, they took us on the jet ski and carefully led us through the no-wake zone.
We actually encountered a few boats leaving the marina and they made us nervous. 2 people in our party fell behind and decided to go back. We were said they felt to nervous to continue, but the guide led them safely back and we continued on with our other guide.
He brought us to the island and showed us some of the local wildlife! He was very patient with our group since we had been very inexperienced and nervous about driving on the ocean.
I would highly recommend Thomas Outdoor Watersports for their professional caring attitude about safety and having fun!
When we returned from our journey, there policy is once you enter the dock, you are not entitled to a refund, however they did give some money back to the 2 people that dropped out of the tour, even though it wasn’t at all expected, we were very grateful that they cared about our fun and safety so much, we would definitely go back, do not hesitate to hire them for your water adventures.

P.S. We forgot our coupons and they also applied them to our tickets, couldn’t have asked for a better adventure!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BR1teSh1n1ngStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Jet Ski Tour”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Family had a great time using the Jet Skis through Thomas' Water Sports. Took the two hour dolphin tour. Numerous dolphins in the area of the shrimpin boats. Easy check in, safety first attitude, fairly priced. Worth the money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThemeParkKid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 "stars" is not enough.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family had an AMAZING experience this past weekend thanks to Thomas Outdoors Watersports! Our private jet ski dolphin tour with Drew was truly the highlight of our Myrtle Beach experience. Professional service from every staff member we encountered, yet with humor and smiles. Safety was their first concern, as it always should be. But so was ensuring we had a great experience - and they succeeded 110%. We got a great CD of photos they took during our adventure, awesome t-shirts, and memories to last a lifetime. If you are in Myrtle Beach - take a private tour with Thomas Outdoors Watersports - you'll be very, very glad you did.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CindiBisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Friendly, knowledgable guides who value your safety.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Because of choppy waters, we were unable to go into the ocean to see dolphins, but still had a great time. It was my first time on a jet ski, and I felt very safe in the hands of the guides. They made up for the restrictions due to weather by letting us explore the bay on our own and offering the photos from the trip on a disc free of charge. They were also very knowledgable about the history and wildlife of the area, which we enjoyed. Also, if you wanted to speed up, you could, if you wanted to go slower, there was no pressure to go fast. You could choose your own pace, which was nice.

Helpful?
Thank CMC324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Outdoors Water Sports - Anchor Marina also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Thomas Outdoors Water Sports - Anchor Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing