We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Fancy but Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Fancy but Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Ten days here on our way to Florida. This is our second year here and we really like it.
The hotel is older and not fancy but we have a unit with bedroom, living room area and kitchenette with a balcony right on the beach. We spent part of the day watching dolphins play right in front of our hotel.
The room is clean but the bathtub needs a new antislip coating and the kitchenette is limited in its facilities.
The pool area in front of our building is not open off season and has some construction debris. The small indoor pool, hot tub and the outdoor pool and tiny lazy river are available but the outdoor pools are too cold to use right now.
The continental breakfast is great although the eating area can get crowded as it is quite small and at this time of the year, it is too cold to use the outdoor patio.
Two short blocks away is a great Irish pub called Molly Darcy's that has a nice atmosphere and good food.
The staff is very pleasant and more than willing to address any issues that come up (We needed new balcony chairs and got them right away.)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank famintagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    444
    164
    79
    56
See reviews for
515
521
68
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shamtown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We arrived early for our trip, hours before check in time, and were graciously given a room right away. The staff was great, and the rooms were cleaned at all times. Small rooms, but for the cost that's what you get. Amazing view of the ocean from our room, and a 30 second walk to the beach, you nearly step right out onto the sand. No problems, quiet place, great staff, and three pools. Lazy river seems like more of a lazy stream, but overall a great little place, for little money. VALUE!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia,sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were surprise to find a kitchen in our room. King bed and an ocean front. What a great value!! Will definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janefromsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and i stayed at best western on Sept.11th we had a great time: we also stayed last year when Hanna roled in we also had a great stay, my husband went back this past weekend and stayed the FRONT DESK person was so RUDE MY husband ck
out early on Saturday around 3pm and i called the front desk cause my husbands cell was dead this was around 8pm the woman put me thru to his room & there was NO answer the front desk woman told me he must have stepped out of the room the whole time knowing he had ck out she was also very snappy when she told me! ps the HOUSEKEEPING STAFF IS SUPER NICE

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbiaShep44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

If you're an uppity type who likes to nitpick and complain, this is probably not the best hotel for you. If you're headed to Myrtle on a budget but don't want to compromise an ocean view, this hotel is definitely worth checking out. There were a few issues (like the elevator and the towel situation) that my family and I were happy to overlook because the price was right. Our room was clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. The continental breakfast was standard, but always stocked and well-kept. We (there were 4 different rooms in our party) had no major issues the entire weekend. The staff was extremely helpful and patient.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed in this hotel based on Tripadvisor positive comments, I would not stay there again. Yes we had an oceanfront room, but it was outdated, not real clean, and the light in the bathroom was broken. It was the flourescent light over the sink, I called the for replacement bulbs, it was not fixed until later the next day. The elevator (only one) is painfully slow and even was out of order, we were on the 7th floor, that was fun climbing up the stairs with little ones, an older woman was trying to climb the steps to her 7th floor room and was having a tough time of it. Then the morning we were to be checking out the fire alarm went off, someone is announcing to use steps and exit the building. Then found out it was a false alarm as we reached the bottom floor, I was quite annoyed. The housekeeping staff never even ran the vaccum while we stayed. Rooms need updated badly. I expected nicer rooms from Best Western.

Positives: The pool was okay, tiki bar and music were nice, lazy river was small but nice for younger kids. Did have a computer to allow guests to print out tickets from online purchases for shows. Breakfast was okay, not great but okay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larkynsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Fairly decent place for the money was not newly remodeled as one website stated. Room had older furniture (vinyl couch) and room was dated. On a one week stay they never changed the sheets they never made the bed in one week had to ask for toilet paper,soap ect they acted kind of put out when we asked for needed items they do not put out any more than they have too.If you leave a bar of soap that is what you will find when you return if you have a quarter roll of toilet paper expect to see no extra roll left for you.On site parking is across the street very very few parking spots on hotel side mostly handicapped. View was very good oceanfront room. Breakfast bar attendant works her butt off to keep things going in every morning they had the same items out no variety day to day.Door was open to room when we checked in called desk if they wanted to check room it was no big deal to desk. Couple days later could not get door to shut to room nor lock maintainance worked on for appx 5-6 hours lost use of room and any privacy we would have wanted. The guys did work hard to fix but door was in such bad condition it took time.I feel that most likely that door was broken the day we checked in and someone just walked away from it instead of trying to get it repaired. Hotel staff was mostly nice when spoken too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondedge3forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1525 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing