We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

First the bad. I had two major gripes with this hotel. There is virtually no parking at the hotel. There are several outlying lots, but one of them is about two blocks away. When the hotel is full parking is a nightmare. The second gripe comes if you are given a room in the South tower. The South Tower is ten stories tall with only one elevator which guest and staff must use together. This makes for some very long waits to go to or from your room.

Those gripes aside, The Best Western Ocean Sands is definitely worth the cost which is very reasonable. It is an older hotel in an older section of North Myrtle Beach. We spent a week in a room on the sixth floor of the South Tower. We has a great view of the ocean and a small balcony which was just right for the two of us. They provide a daily continental breakfast which, while not fancy, provides you a good start to the day.

Being in an older, less "hip" area of North Myrtle Beach is an advantage for this hotel. There is much less auto traffic so the area is quieter and easier to move around in.

Don't expect anything swank or fancy from The Ocean Sands. You get an older hotel that is clean and friendly. Stop at the Tiki Bar by the hotel pool and talk to Kirsten the Bartender. She will take care of you and make sure you have a good time.

Room Tip: No restaurant in this hotel, but there are 1700 in the Myrtle Beach area. Dining shouldn't be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieRessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel description said there was a lazy river, it was very tiny. The indoor pool was the size of a hot tub. The continentail breakfast is just that, they did not go above and beyond, it was just the basucs. Our Room smelled like smoke for two nights and the hotel is supposed to be smoke free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Best thing about this place is the proximity to the beach. You can walk right out to the beach..no steps at all. Parking is at a premium however, and it is difficult to find a spot. The breakfast offered the usual cereal, waffles, pastries, fruit, yogurt, but there weren't enough tables and coffee kept running out. The rooms have a nice little kitchen with a four burner stove, microwave, and fridge. Our two-room, two queen arrangement didn't have a couch, but had a small table with three chairs. There were 2 chairs on the balcony. Sort of a strange arrangement, crowded, with little space. Interior of room was clean and decent but if you're looking for upscale, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

older hotel but still nice , the staff was very helpful and friendly. the only problem is parking and the sparse continental breakfast which isn't worth getting up for.but i would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Louie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great experience Have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions and each time has been great. Close to the beach and many amenities. Hotel has a nice breakfast each morning and the room was nice and clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is kind of crowded but being right on the beach overrides the parking issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we arrived in the area to find that the condo we had reserved was filthy we despaired that we would be unable to find anywhere else to stay as it was Labor Day weekend. I called and they said that there was one room coming available but not til later that day. They kindly offered for us to go ahead and use the pool and amenities while we waited on the room. I was a little nervous of what to expect since I had read really good reviews on a condo that turned out to be dirty. What a relief to discover that the hotel room was truly clean! The sliding door slid open like a hot knife through butter. Although it is true that the hotel is not renovated or "up-to-date", it is exceptionally clean, well-maintained, very comfortable, and the staff were exceedingly pleasant and helpful. We didn't really use the breakfast bar but it appeared to also be very clean with the average offerings. Neither did we actually use any of the pools or other amenities so it wouldn't be fair to speak on those.

It was the first place we've stayed near Myrtle Beach but it seems to be a relatively quiet area - while still convenient to anything you might want to do. We felt very safe and secure there - even going to the parking lot or out on the beach at night. (Take a flashlight out to explore the beach after dark - you can find crabs and other nightlife!) Yes, parking was a little tight but we always found a space available. The beach was never crowded - even during the day. The front desk said that the Tiki bar usually has vinegar on hand if you get a jellyfish sting.

While in the area, we would highly recommend the Inlet Point Plantation for horseback rides on the beach (they are pricey but worth it!), J&L Kayak Adventures for kayaking and Blue Wave Adventures for dolphin tours. And the fresh orange slushies at Floyd's in Barefoot Landing are delicious!!

We will definitely stay at the Best Western any time we come back! The 4-story building we stayed in had really good direct ocean views. Keep your eyes out - we saw dolphins jumping out of the water from our balcony!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingM4God
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just an OK hotel. Hotel rooms could use updating. Nice staff, very helpful. Terrific views of ocean from balcony. Parking was tight. Breakfast so-so Has laundry facility which was nice. Convenient to most restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BJL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,322 reviews
1.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,342 reviews
4 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#15 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
90 reviews
2.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1525 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $73 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing