We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is not a cool, glitzy or fancy place but it IS an affordable, clean place appropriate for families. Our room had 2 queen beds, full Murphy bed and a pull out sleeper sofa. Room was clean and linens fresh. Staff was very friendly and kind. Loved the Luzianne coffee that was served at the complimentary breakfast. (Wish I could find it in stores). The elevator broke down as we were ready to check out but it was repaired in just a little bit. I did note that the inside hot tub had not been inspected since 2011. Not the hotel's fault - just a bit off putting. Not much in walking distance in the way of restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sljtba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    435
    159
    75
    56
See reviews for
497
500
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice hotel with decent ammenities...beach front, nice pools, clean basic rooms. Needs more parking spaces but all in all, a good deal for the money. Have stayed here many times and surely will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I always stay at Best Western. Business, Leisure, and this was a Leisure trip. Great location and the staff was impressive. Second trip to Myrtle Beach this year. The Tiki Bar was a relaxing escape after playing in the ocean all day and the room was very comfortable and clean. Slept well and the view from the balcony was awesome.

Room Tip: Make sure you get on the fourth or higher for a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montoya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spend a week at the Ocean Sands every year, 2 adults, toddler and teenager. It is not the shiniest place on the Strand, but it is clean, has easy access to the beach and is very affordable. Management and staff are always very nice; I have stayed at glitzier places, but we keep coming back here - great location, comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: There are three buildings; main, tower & annex - tower has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We live here, so we know lots of places to stay in town, but when the wife and I want to get away without really having the time to leave town, we get an oceanfront suite at Best Western Ocean Sands in NMB. It's clean, the staff is above and beyond helpful and friendly, the view is a-maz-ing, and the price is within our sometimes tight budget. What more could you ask for? When I have friends coming into town that want an oceanfront place, I send them straight to BWOS!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleBeachDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel was just ok. Don't expect anything special and you won't be disappointed. The beach area is great! The rooms were clean. Breakfast was good but it is too small of an area for how many people are there. Housekeeping was very kind. The beds were very comfortable. Only had one working washer and dryer. Only had one elevator. Parking was not ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Meredyth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I picked this hotel because it was right on the beach. The beds were comfy, and the cleanliness was primo! The maid didn't even mind when we tracked sand in! My only beef with the hotel was that when the sun beats down on the sand that you must walk back on, it gets hot enough the melt your feet! I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#5 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#6 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1525 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing