We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Family Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lawndale
1 review
“Wonderful Family Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and in no time we were unpacking. We loved the waterpark and the pools. If we needed anything, the staff was very quick to be sure we had whatever we had requested. The pizza, wings and salad were fabulous! We will be back next year!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PKN605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    434
    159
    75
    56
See reviews for
497
499
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful,relaxing stay at the Best Western Ocean Sands. We arrived early in the morning before check in time and were accommadated right away. We were given an upgraded room with breathtaking ocean views. The staff were friendly and went out of there way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. Special thanks to Cee Cee, who kept our room spotless and always honored our requests for extra towels and supplies. We enjoyed the free continental breakfast every morning. The pool area was clean and we had an opportunity to meet a lot of nice people. The tiki bar at the pool was a big hit and our bartender Kirsten was a delight to chat with. She also made an awesome Margarita!
The hotel is located in North Myrtle beach so it is a good distance from the airport. We did not have a car so we rented a golf cart for a few days, which turned out to be a great way to sightsee and explore the area. Thanks to all at the Ocean Sands for a great vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mare000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm a bit behind leaving this review as it's now Oct. and we went end of June-beginning July but I wanted to leave one! This was our first family vacation, so we wanted to make it great! And by staying in this hotel, it was! We stayed in the tower, on the 8th floor. Absolutely stunning view. The beds were way better than I thought they'd be, we always had enough towels and if we needed more, we got them. It was never an issue. Our room had the small kitchen, even including dishes. Everything was clean. Bathroom was clean, beds were clean, carpet was clean, etc. Air conditioning worked great even though we had our balcony door opened most the time to listen to the ocean. We had a small wait time for the elevators, but no more than 5 minutes at a time and sometimes there wasn't even a wait time. Still, you're on vacation, what's the rush anyways. The pools were nice, our kids enjoyed the lazy river especially. The beach wasn't overly crowded and there were showers and little stations to rinse the sand off. The staff really went above and beyond, we had no issues with them at all! Always made sure we were taken care of (I believe Dan was the guy we really liked) and the ladies in housekeeping were super sweet! Parking...honestly, was not as bad as I thought it'd be. That was one thing that really had me nervous about booking here but again, it really was not bad. We had to park across the street and the only time I got mad abt it was when we unloaded. Other than that, it's vacation. There's no rush anyways. A little walking won't hurt anyone! The breakfast was an added bonus but you've got to get there early or you'll get trampled!
There are only two somewhat negative things I have to say....and I don't know if this is read by the staff or not but they should take this into consideration! Number one-While the breakfast is nice, again, you.will.get.trampled. Seriously. If there was anyway to spread it out more that'd be great. Number two-we were there the last few days of June through out the first week of July....I know it's going to be busy. However there were several times over the days we were there that there were people in the pool who were not staying in any of the 3 hotels. They just came up from where ever and got in the pool. If they could maybe enforce like a wrist band type thing or make it to where you can use your key card to get in there?
Also, if you're going to be down there for the 4th of July, the fireworks are awesome to watch. However if you have kids, watch from the balcony....trust me. You don't want them on the beach with them all going off.
All in all, we had a great time and would definitely consider going back again! Fingers crossed for 2013!

Room Tip: the tower was the best, the shorter building next to that looked like it'd have a good view too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The ocean view was the best, especially sitting on the balcony watching the view. Our room was clean and the service was good. We love the Tiki Bar. Shout out to Kirsten who makes the best bloody marys I've ever tasted! Also, thanks so much Kirsten for helping to make a bad situation (missing the boat!) into a good one. You are best!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Check in was swift and once we had sorted where to park the car we made our way up to the 6th floor of the tower block...opened the door and were so pleasantly surprised....very spacious room with micro,fridge etc also a sofa and best of all some lovely ocean views...all in all very good value for money...breakfast was more than adequate albeit in rather cramped conditions...however that did mean that we met some delightful fellow travellers at our table.
North Myrtle Beach in September was relativlely quiet and we were entertained by events on the beach including two weddings and a firework display.
Super hospitality in Ocean Sands, Myrtle Beach and South Carolina made our vacation one to remember

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The entire staff is motivated to ensure that guests are comfortable in this hotel. The hotel is located directly on the beach, there are three buildings. We were especially impressed with the urgency that Dan and Jami acted on our concern that our room had been smoked in, which was contrary to the policy of non smoking. We were immediately offered an upgrade to a suite. We were definitely pleased. The room was very clean and the maintenance staff were constantly doing things around the hotel. The Tiki Bar was a cool place to enjoy a cold drink. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We got a really fair price for an oceanfront room with a fabulous view. The rooms were very clean and totally pass the smell test (just smells fresh when you walk in.) I spilled coffee and the staff was amazingly quick to help me with extra towels and offers to come clean up! Pretty sure I've found the place to stay whenever I visit North Myrtle Beach, SC!

Room Tip: I've stayed in both the regular building and the annex...I prefer the regular building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacKenzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equinn1973, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so very much for the kind words, we strive to treat everyone like family and give u the experience of home away from home....look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 54 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1525 S. Ocean Blvd., North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing