We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Mar Vista Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mar Vista Grande
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed at the Mar Vista Grande for 4 nights in May 2012. I got a good last minute deal so I can say it was worth the money. Don't know why they charge a resort fee. The pool area is very small. The condos are nice and the four elevators are a big plus. The parking garage was very spacious and clean. We checked in at around 3:00 but the room wasn't ready. We returned at 4:15 and the room had been cleaned but the vacuum apparently didn't work. There were crumbs all over the carpet. The bedspread in the master bedroom had something all over it. We called the front desk and they sent housekeeping. They took the bedspread and said that it would be cleaned and returned the next day. It never returned which was fine. They had to get a vacuum from another condo to re-vacuum the carpets. We asked for a new bag for the vacuum or a new vacuum because we usually clean during our stay. We never received one. Housekeeping said that they were rushed because they only had 2 workers and 7 condos to clean. I don't mind to wait if I get a quality cleaning job. Hopefully this was just a one time occurance and does not usually happen.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Becky060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 433 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked a 3-room combo at the top floor and got the best ocean view! The rooms are clean and quiet. The facilities in kitchen are easy-use. The only problem is we couldn't find cellphone (ATT) signal in the room.
Still highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Zhuo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We rented a 3 bedroomed penthouse unit. Reading the reviews we noted that is was a none smoking building so felt it was safe to take our child with a tracheotomy. First night on the balcony we were met with the delightful smell of marijuana. Same occured on the second night, we reported it to the hotel who suggested we call the police, as the hotel has no representative on site or any security. On departure, we were told that residents are not to abide by the no smoking policies that the hotel blatantly advertises. "shakes my head"

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heywoodite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

For the price I think you are getting robbed. Maybe people have big money to burn but the check in/out did not go well for me. I will go over some pos/neg:

+ the rooms are big and can accommodate a lot of people.

+ Four elevators and the resort has their own parking garage,this is important during the heavy season.

+ Not too many rooms in the resort which is good since some hotels house far too many people that hog the pools and the beach.

+ three key cards and a hard key that will run you 80 bucks if you loose, but the hard key was a good idea. Other hotels of this type that do not run a 24 hr counter will charge you money to come unlock your room after hours, or you'll just be screwed till the next morning.

+ pools were clean.

+ not walking distance to anywhere which I considered a plus, the southside myrtle beach is far to congested with people obviously not using the multiple crosswalks ocean blvd has to offer.

- they either made up new fees at check in/out overnight or I just did not pay attention. Upon arrival they demand full payment for your stay plus another hundred dollar charge on your credit card not including the deposit you made, they will release it when you check out.

- No guarantee 3 p.m. check in is what the manager has written on the bottom of your receipt for some reason, I would have demanded the room be free that night or a discount since this was not disclosed upon booking.

-place charges a 22.50 per day linen fee per package of linens which SHOULD include – all sheets, towels, shower mats and kitchen towels. All laundered professionally – at the right temperature for proper sanitization. They will only do towels when you leave them on the floor, the day before we left they didn't even wash our towels but I did not know this property charged the linen fee until check out.

-Condo also charges other frivolous fees you do not find out about until check out when they hand you the receipt for your stay.

- upon check in/out they have a little folder holder that publicizes everyone's upcoming stay at the resort, including what your deposit was, name, last numbers on cc and so forth. I did not think this should have been so viewable at the counter.

All and all is was a good stay but compared to other large rental properties this place has more fees than an airline.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank reaper69316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We are currently staying at Mar Vista Grande room 501...and it is great! In our particular unit, the televisions are very small and the bedrooms do not have a lot of light certain times of the day, and about half of our family had trouble sleeping on various beds in the unit, but that is truly all we can find that is not a complete positive. Because we needed a 4 bedroom, we could not have an Oceanfront....but our balcony is huge, very nice table out on balcony with an ocean view. No problems checking in or out...just make sure that you contact the front desk at times when they are there (especially if you are used to staying at hotels/resorts)..Great pool area!

Room Tip: Room 501- 4 Bedrooms...very small TVs, four small flat screens and a very old TV in the master....be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin7485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was hesitant to book this reservation on Expedia as I had reservations about the "too good to be true" price point. Was very impressed upon check in. Hotel bedrooms and bathrooms are 4 star. Balcony is spacious and offers beautiful views. The kitchen and living area are well appointed but are considerably smaller than portrayed online. A tremendous value for the money. 6 adults were very happy and will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Youngpuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We rented through a Management compnay so I can't speak for the actual building management, but everything in the building while we were there was very clean and staff was friendly. The views from our oceanfront room were great. The location is not bad for North Myrtle as Main street is only a few blocks away. You will have to do some driving, but that is true for all of Mrytle since everything is so spread out. The units are set up nicely and the master bath's are real nice. The prices vary, but early or offseason is priced well. I would stay there again or recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Corner rooms would certainly be better otherwise only the living room and master has a view.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank FABKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,273 reviews
3.6 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Vista Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Vista Grande

Address: 603 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3322
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $178 - $844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar Vista Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a one-of-a-kind AAA Four Diamond accommodation in North Myrtle Beach, the luxurious Mar Vista Grande is everything you could want for your next beach vacation. This is the perfect beach resort for relaxing and soaking up the sun in a quiet beach atmosphere. Our comfortably spacious 3 and 4 bedroom condos are decorated with all the comforts of home perfect the for full family experience. With a host of thoughtful amenities, this makes Mar Vista Grande the ideal choice among beach vacation rentals. Such amenities include free wireless internet, free covered parking garage, indoor and outdoor pool, oceanfront tiki bar, fully equipped fitness center and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mar Vista Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Vista Grande Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing