We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happily surprised”
Review of The Prince Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful corner view unit. Clean . Spacious. enjoyed neighborhood. Access to pier and cute pools. Pools look small but accommodated amount of people using them. always parking in parking deck.Check in was easy. 1.00 refundable fee to get pool bracelet...that was weird?

Room Tip: inlet view can also see ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vballm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie1447, Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We are so happy that you had a great time on your vacation here at the Prince Resort. We do hope that you can make it back to North Myrtle Beach very soon. Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel / Condo is a two-building entity, with one being on the beach and the second with the garage being right across a small street (west). The beach location is not congested at all, which is fantastic, but it is two miles north of all the activities. Not a bad distance but you have to choose your priorities. You can fish off the pier (not our thing), or just lay on the beach (our thing). You can rent an umbrella and two chairs all day for $20. There is a restaurant in the hotel and on the pier. The pier hotel has had so many bad reviews we stayed away from it. The maid service was spotty at best, as we had to call them two of the four days. They replace towels one day then make the beds the second day - strange. You can drive the two miles south (still in North Myrtle Beach) and rent scooters (must be 18), take in some restaurants (avoid Ducks...rhymes with Yuk), and hear live music. All in all an enjoyable time and very nice beach area.

Room Tip: Save a bit of money and select the hotel above the garage. It's only a quick walk across a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JE814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie1447, Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your stay in North Myrtle Beach. We do agree that North Myrtle Beach is much less congested than Myrtle Beach and is more family friendly. You are correct about the price on the second tower that is over the parking garage. Plus the panaromic views of the ocean are awesome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We rented through realty agency. Our condo was privately owned. Positives-quiet rooms, great beach front view, a/c worked well,plenty of hot water and water pressure.
Negative-carpet seemed worn and needs replaced. Elevators are dirty and take a long time. Parking is across the street.
All in all decent resort but would choose a different location if we return. We didnt enjoy North Myrtle Beach as a place to stay. Too far away from most attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I traveled with 2 daughters for the week of July 4 and could not have had a more perfect vacation. The condo was beautifully decorated and spotless upon our arrival. The owner, Bobbi,was in communication with me from the time we booked her unit to be sure everything was perfect and ready when we arrived from our 17 hr commute. It was definitely worth it!!! We could not have been more pleased. She went so far as to be sure we had a corkscrew! The toiletries in the showers and laundry products available show the owner definitely wants her guests to feel at home. The Prince Resort was great. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The pools, lazy river and deck were maintained daily and very nice. There was ample parking available in the parking garage. We were able to shop nearby for groceries for our stay at a WalMart about 2 miles away. This location was far north enough to be away from the congestion of the Grand Strand but near enough to enjoy the restaurants and attractions in the evenings when we wanted to venture out. We enjoyed Barefoot Landing to shop and have dinner. Our familly favorite place to go for pizza is the Ultimate California Pizza for dinner in Barfoot Landing(went twice) and we also found the Flying Fish to be good.

Room Tip: Our room was privately owned and had its own private housecleaning service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crazy4wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our first trip to the Prince Resort (6th time to Myrtle Beach). We had a hard time finding a 3 bedroom 3 bath unit that had double beds instead of twins so this was perfect for our family. The property was easy to locate and check-in was pretty easy, as we waited until 6 or 7 p.m. to avoid the 4 p.m. rush. I was not excited about the 3rd floor location (unit 305) but it ended up being a blessing when the stairs were a better option than the long elevator waits. We still had a decent view of the ocean and could also people watch with our view of the pier and pool. The noise from the pool was drowned out by the waterfall feature in the kiddie pool. Plus, we could communicate with each other from the balcony to the pool with relative ease.

We have always stayed near Barefoot at the Embassy Suites or Hilton so this was a much quieter and less crowded experience and was much easier to keep track of our kids on the beach. Although we were unable to rent chairs and an umbrella, (the lifeguards were pretty rude and unhelpful, as was the number we called for the rentals) we really wouldn't have used them much anyway. It was a nice short walk to the beach and although the outdoor shower wasn't working well, the hose did the job to clean off sand before we returned to our room.

Our unit was somewhat outdated and the older TVs were a disappointment. But overall, the bedrooms and bathrooms were large enough and we used the kitchen a lot (except there were no pot holders, wine openers or ice cream scoops). The big bonus we enjoyed more than I would have guessed was the in-house free DVD rental in the lobby. We watched movies every night and this was a nice feature. Housekeeping stopped by every day to offer services but all we really needed was towel service and toilet paper and they were happy to comply.

Overall, it was close enough to restaurants, golf, grocery stores and such, but secluded enough to not be crazy considering we were there during peak season. The only issue we had was check-out. We checked out on a Sunday and elevators were almost impossible to catch. I ended up walking up the garage stairs and hotel stairs and was soaked in sweat by the time we left. But the front desk was understanding that we checked out about 30 minutes late as they are aware of the elevator issue. It wasn't too big of a deal to park across the street in the parking garage, since I always retrieved the car and drove back across the street to pick up the rest of the family and there was always an empty spot to park in for 5 minutes for loading and unloading. Overall, we would consider staying here again if the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: A lower floor doesn't have the best view, but it comes in handy when you can't wait for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Golfing_Girl076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are frequent visitors at the Prince. We have averaged two to three visits a year for the last four to five years. Our oldest son loves to fish off the Cherry Grove Pier. We have always stayed away from the busy vacation season (June – August) and booked our stay pre Memorial Day and post Labor Day. Needing to get away, we booked our stay for the week of July 4th, 2014. Major Mistake! We were met at the front desk the evening of our arrival by a very smart assed receptionist. He was short and stern with his comments and not willing to look for cancelled rooms upon request. With tropical storm Arthur brewing, I asked if there were any last minute cancellations, in an effort to get a better room. This request seemed beneath him and already had his response out of his mouth before I could even get the request out. “No, there have been no cancellations”, as if this was insulting. His body language suggests that he did not want to be there and that we were a distraction to whatever he was doing prior to our arrival. Sensing that I was not pleased with his stance, he tried to loosen up somewhat and made a weak attempt at small humor. This only infuriated me more. At the time, we were the only ones checking into a room, so it was not a busy time. After checking in we made our way to the room, only to find out that the door keys had not been programmed to our room. I’m not sure what the wife said at the front desk, but I’m sure it wasn’t pleasant. During the week, the elevators took forever, the beach was packed rear end to rear end, and there was no cart management as people took carts and stored them in their rooms the night before checkout. The only plus to the stay were the fireworks at the Cherry Grove Pier. They put on an awesome show. I will think twice before booking at the Prince again. I’d suggest that you shop around good before you do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie1447, General Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank your for letting us know about your recent trip to Prince Resort. Your comments have been appropriately addressed so that your experience will not be repeated. I do hope that you will consider using us again in the future for your vacation needs.
Suzanne Fair-Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The good...The views from this hotel are excellent, especially the higher floors and the end units have added windows for your viewing pleasure. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit, it seemed to have been remodeled in the last couple of years. It is located in quiet/family orentiated Cherry Grove. The beach is nice and clean.

The not so good... The parking garage is one of the tightest I have ever had to park in. The wait for the elevator's in both tower 1 and 2 is horrible. My personal pet peeve was the cleaning staff never came remotely close to the same time each day. One day it would be noon and the next day it was 4:30 pm very aggravating when trying to schedule childrens naps or anything else.

We tried the breakfast in the 3500 grill, it was just ok. The pier needs some major renovations. I found it odd that they charge hotel guests to walk out on the pier, most of the hotels that I've stayed at before access to the pier is included in the room cost. The pools and lazy river are rather disappointing compared to the nice hotel exterior and views.

Its not a bad place but it could be so much better; my family has decided next year that we will look for another resort in the Cherry Grove or surrounding area.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie1447, General Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

We really appreciate your candor in your review that you posted on TripAdvisor. We do strive to make everyone's vacation a memorable one and I am very sorry that you did not feel that Prince Resort was a place that you wanted to return. We would welcome the opportunity to impress you in the future if you would let us know when you are returning to the area.
Suzanne Fair-Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,320 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,610 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
154 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
6.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Resort

Address: 3500 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $99 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Prince Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, modern accommodations await you at beautiful Prince Resort, situated at the entrance to The Cherry Grove Pier. Find built-in fun along with easy access to all the excitement of the Grand Strand at your finger tips! You are our top priority here at Prince Resort. Whether you visit the beach for a romantic getaway for two or a large family reunion, let us make your ocean experience the best one, ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Prince Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Resort Condos Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Prince Hotel Condos
Prince Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing